We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #92 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed March 14, 2008

My friends and I loved this hotel. The hotel room we stayed in had enough room for 3 people. It was not far from the French Quarter but it was close to other attractions. I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

When we decided to head to New Orleans for the Mardi Gras Marathon, we needed to find a place to stay with a king sized bed and another bed, plus close to the race. The Homewood Suites was just perfect, even better than the Race Headquarters hotel where the Expo was held.

This hotel is centrally located, an easy walk to the French Quarter, even easier walk to the Superdome (marathon start and finish), and easy walk to the Aquarium and Riverwalk.

The room was very nice, nicer than the other Homewood Suites we have stayed in. Excellent breakfast (we weren't there for the Manager Evening Meals - Mon through Thur only) with hot choices (the bacon was EXCELLENT), fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereal. Alas, no beignets, but it wasn't that far to walk to Cafe Du Monde. The morning of the race, they provided breakfast for all the runners to take with them to the race or to take to their room to eat after the race - bottle of water, juice, fruit, breakfast bars. A very nice thing for them to do. The room was very quiet at night.

Check out time was 11AM, but many of the runners, including our group was able to extend that to 1PM without extra cost. Most of their guests arrive for Monday, so they need a bit of extra time to get all the rooms ready. But they were very considerate of the runners.

The race goes right past the hotel, so we were able to walk to the start to see our runners take off, then go back to the hotel to see them come back from the French Quarter before the Garden District and then back to the finish line for the half and before they started the second half of the course for the full marathon.

Staff was friendly. They offered self parking in a lot next door ($18.02 a night, which wasn't really too bad for NOLA). I was a little worried about the car, but we didn't have any problems.

We'd go back there again. Especially since it was just a short walk from the hotel to Mothers (we ate two dinner meals there - great Crawfish Etouffee and fried shrimp).

The pool was indoor and not too bad, just a bit warm. And lots of chlorine.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We play tourist in our home town all the time ,we love New Orleans and we love Homewood suites.We stayed one night for the Van Halen concert.We haved stayed in just about every hotel in New Orleans and I must say we love this Homewood hotel the best.This hotel even beats the hotel which is ranked one of the top in the U.S.A.,without naming names.The main reason is amenities.The rooms have a bedroom,living room,equipped kitchen.Our room also had a balcony.The hotel also has an indoor pool with a hot tub,and a workout room and I must mention the free hot breakfast with eggs, grits ,bacon ,etc .Now which hotel can beat all of this? It is very close to the Superdome and the Arena and within walking distance or a cheap cab ride to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Came down to New Orleans for a weekend bachelor party with a bunch of other guys. Have never stayed in a Homewood Suites before, but have stayed in a Residence Inn, so had some idea of what the experience would be like. This is a Residence Inn copycat and actually pretty similar to an Embassy Suites, except that the lobby is smaller and has no atrium, however the in-room kitchen is larger.

All in all, it was a great stay. The suites were a great size, perfect for sleeping four people and the bathrooms were large as well. Hotel's location on Poydras is useful to getting to the casino as well as the Quarter and the free morning breakfast, while still heavy on empty carbs, did have some fruit and other choices. Also, the hotel's in-door pool and hot tub were a nice touch. Service was wonderful, very friendly staff who also kept the place in spotless condition. The housekeepers did a good job too.

A few items however.... On the weekends, its ridiculous to close breakfast at 10am. Let people sleep in and keep the breakfast open for at least another hour, what the big deal? Also, the decor of the rooms, while new, is nauseating. The couch is purplish brown, the wallpaper in the bathroom is like puke green and grey, reminiscient of a hospital waiting room or nursing home. Just awful. Also, someone pulled the fire alarm at 5am on Sunday morning and we all had to evacuate the hotel, which as unpleasant at this sounds, actually wasnt as bad as Id thought it would be. You're basically sleep-walking anyway and after about 10 mins your back in bed and back to sleep in 30 seconds. I think we got one of the rooms comped that night for the inconvience, actually.

Would I come back? Probably not, want something a little sexier or at least something with a more local touch, but the hotel served its purpose for our weekend flawlessly and will continue its real mission of providing rewards points to plenty of satisfied in-and-out biz travelers.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank gahlisary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

The hotel is in a great location, a few blocks from the French Quarter and a few blocks away from Harra's. There was a minor problem one night and the management took remedied the situation without even a slight hassle. I would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andrewl570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is the best hotel in NO if you want a nice, family-friendly hotel within walking distance of all of the city's major attractions. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the breakfast is delicious as some of the restaraunts' in the area. Very nice staff and top-notch service. The indoor pool and hot tub was probably the best part.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fouke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

One of the nicer and better run Homewood Suites, it is a very good location for those doing either the Super Bowl or the Convention centre but somewhat of a walk to the Quarters. Big rooms with separate kitchen/sitting room with pullout bed. Free internet that works well and a better-than-average free breakfast. Management is personal and attentive. Pool is large enough for some lap work and the fitness room is adequate. Recommended for long-stay professional working CBD or for a family looking for a strong bargain while on vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LA_Biz_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 166 in New Orleans
911 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $161 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing