We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #95 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
CArtersville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really nice place to Stay!!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is a really nice place to stay. My only negative is the late time we had to check in, but it couldnt be helped!!! We had requested an early check in so that we could enjoy a little more of the city by day, but just didnt happen, All in all, the hotel is older, but very clean and a wonderful staff!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in 800, 8th floor, very quiet, very nice room, 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite with a den with sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi Suzanne B,

We are delighted that you found our hotel to be a "Really nice place to Stay!!!". Our staff will be ecstatic to hear your wonderful comments. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    404
    205
    135
    86
See reviews for
539
239
36
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer,Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife & I stayed here this past April.The Hotel itself was very nice,but getting here was a nighmare.Their was construction going on all around the hotel, so our GPS was really working overtime ,if you know what I mean !!!!.The Hotel is within walking distance to Bourbon St and other attractions,which was a big plus.Handicap parking is very limited(3) spaces,right in front of the hotel.otherwise,you have to go in the parking area at the end of the street.All things considered,I would rate this hotel 31/2 Stars

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dziadzu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi dziadzu1,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your business, and were glad to here that you thought our hotel was very nice. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our central location. In addition,this is a very exciting time in our city because we have been chosen to host the 2013 Super Bowl, which is why you noticed some ongoing beautification projects in our area. Once again, thank you for your business, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, MS
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We (2 adults and teenage son) always stay here when we are going to see the Saints play. Location is just 2 blocks away and all traffic walking is right at front door. Always feel safe. Great breakfast. Rooms wirk great 2 tvs so we can all warch oyr channels. Parking is not ideal if you are leaving early- parking lot attendant had to move about 4 cars the next morning to get to ours. After big event just be prepared for that.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScribFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hii ScribFam,

Thank you for always staying with us whenever you come to town to see the Saints play. New customers are important to us, but repeat clientele is definitely the back bone of any business. Once again thank your for staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just stayed there this last weekend. Paid $300/night for two bedroom suite. We are seasoned travelers, and would say this isn't worth the price. They wouldn't clean the room unless we called, and it was very noisy. Tried to mention the problem to front desk, but they just blew it off. Not worth the price. It's also not as close to French quarter as advertised

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi Georgiaman,

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologizing for the issues you had with our housekeeping service and I can assure you that we have spoken with the team to make sure that doesn’t happen again. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests and offer services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback. The next time you are in New Orleans please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Came to New Orleans for vacation with my husband and two teenage children. Our room had two queen beds and a sofa bed, a microwave, two flat-screen TVs, and a full-size refrigerator. The shower had adequate water pressure and nice towels.

The free breakfast had cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and some hot items, which varied each day.

Parking was about a block away and was about $19 a day. Pool and hot tub were adequate, although the pool was a little cold, and the hot tub was actually too hot to really use.

We were able to walk to everything in the French Quarter and to the WWII museum, although the hotel was a little further away than I had thought. Still, it was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksmom2Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi ksmom2Kansas,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you thought we were a very nice hotel for a family vacation. Our amenities, and central location, definitely are contributing factors to our hotel's success. Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed for business for 3 nights. First night I could not latch the door to my room. In the morning I notified the front desk about the door not bolting, and that the lights in the bathroom had tripped a breaker. I returned late that night and found the lights working but the door not fixed. I tried again and found I had to put my shoulder into the door to lock the bolt.
Next day, lights went out again in the bathroom. I told the front desk again. When I returned it wasn't fixed and front desk advised me to check the GFI in the sink area. I reset and that fixed the problem. Odd that the bathroom lights and fan are tied to the vanity GFI, but the vanity lights were still on. Overloaded with the hotel provided hair dryer?
Room was OK, AC was loud, there was a hole in the wall behind the door. Loved the explanation about the energy savings thermostat. That explained why it always 5 degrees hotter in the room than what it should have been.

Also I attempted to use the hot tub and pool, but the hot tub was the same temp as the pool. No hot in the Hot tub. I advised the front desk and they called engineering, they said they were aware of it. If they were then why no signs? Besides the fact, entry to the hot tub is unsafe with no steps and a 2 ft brick step.
Overall found the hotel in OK condition but some things need to be maintained better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi Vangorcp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. The problems you mentioned regarding the security latch and the hot tub have been addressed. Though they are in the process of repair, we apologize for these issues not being fixed sooner and lack of notice. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give the Homewood Suites New Orleans-Downtown a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Came to NOLA for my 50th birthday with my best friend. Apart from a small problem at check in the hotel was really good. The suite accomodation on the 5th floor was very spacious and comfortable - also well equipped. Small criticisms, the air con was very noisy and not the most efficient, and the living room areas could do with a ceiling light but apart from that was fine. The breakfasts were good too but with so many restaurants we did not sample the "welcome home" evening food. The pool/jacuzzi was nice whilst my friend also found the small gym to be well equipped. Hotel also has a good location being easy walking distance to French Quarter but far away enough from the noise and madness!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hi dinoSwindon,

Happy belated birthday! We are ecstatic that you chose to celebrate your 50th birthday at our hotel, and in our city. Hopefully, you enjoyed yourself so much, that you will make this an annual trip. Once again, thank you for your business! Hope to see you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orlea...
#107 of 163 in New Orleans
74 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing