We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #95 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Close enough to the French Quarter to walk, but far enough to enjoy quite during Mardi Gras. Outstanding value. Clean, friendly staff, above normal complimentary breakfast. Plus Managers greeting snack, more like a lite meal, weekday evenings. 2 room suite with full kitchen was great for a weeks stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrippersx2Chicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

-- slow internet
-- only one elevator was working, and it was slow
-- average, at best, breakfast
-- rooms cheap (although big) -cabinets, wallpaper, fixtures, etc, all bottom of the line
-- old - carpeting and wallpaper worn
-- location: to me, not a plus, unlike other reviews I thought it was a long walk to get anywhere.
-- no newspapers
-- rooms dark (because of balconies, but still . . .)
-- sensor turns off AC if it fails to detect movement, but can be disabled

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We love Homewood Suites. We went to NO with a 9 and 13 year old. The hotel is perfect for families. We enjoyed breakfast and the dinner and drinks in the evening. The people who served the food could not have been nicer. We also loved the location. We walked everywhere we went except the zoo. The hotel is situated so you can get almost anywhere you want to go. My 9 year old loved the pool. We stayed on the 2nd floor in room #213 right above the pool. Although we did not hear any noise, our room smelled like chlorine. I think next time we will ask for a different floor. I would highly recommend this hotel! Nice to get those Hilton Honors points, too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank higandhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The room was very spacious. There was great hot breakfast and a nightly dinner. The staff was very friendly. Great place for parade watching. Only had to walk 2 blocks!,

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skolikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Breakfast AND dinner- if you can tear yourself away from all of NOLAs area restaurants- Emeril's nearby and cozy Mother's for pivots and gumbo. Real food that changes daily, stuffed flounder one night, bbq hamburgers the next served with fountain soft drinks, wine and beer you serve yourself. Rooms come complete with pots and pans, dish ware and dish washer. Coin operated laundry room next to the fitness room and overlooking the pool to check on your teens and tweens. Rooms have soft beds, pull out sofa, chaise lounge and French door bedroom but you pay $20 for parking. Super walmart is less than five mins away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DynastyLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here six years ago and were happy to book another stay as we attended a conference at the convention center. If you are an able walker, this location places you between the convention center and the French Quarter. Our room was clean and quiet. The breakfast selection was good. Our pre-paid bill was accurate. We were very pleased with our return stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraveloften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I can honestly say I've experienced better customer service at a DMV than at this establishment.

There was a misunderstanding regarding payment. On our second day there, we arrived back to the room to find ourselves locked out of our suite. When we came back down to the lobby, DENISE at the front desk pointed at our party and said scathingly "YOU! Come here" and beckoned us to the desk with her index finger like we were schoolchildren. She then proceeded to rudely tell us that she was reprimanded by her manager for allowing us to stay in the room when it was unpaid for, then blamed US for "getting her into trouble." OBVIOUSLY we were going to pay for our room, we had 7 ppl's personal belongings in there all day! Yet they felt the need to lock us out, then speak to us like we were complete trash.

From the mgr, we received NOT ONE apology for Denise's rude behavior. When told that we'd decided to check out IN THE MIDDLE OF OUR STAY for another hotel, the manager STILL did not apologize ONCE, nor did she try to maintain our business.

We knew we had had it when we went to the desk one more time on our final few hours there. Denise saw us standing on line to the desk, rolled her eyes, and said loudly to the other employee "Can you see what THESE PEOPLE want?"

We ended up going to the HILTON ST CHARLES down the street, which turned out to be the same price, and whose employees I can't speak any more highly of. They were so courteous and professional and went out of their way to make sure we had a seamless remainder of our stay.

To have an awesome time in this amazing city, the only tip I have is to steer clear from Homewood Suites and anyone associated with it.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melz0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#90 of 165 in New Orleans
898 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orlea...
#102 of 165 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $149 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing