We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fresh delicous food”

J's Seafood Dock At the French Market
Ranked #391 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: French Quarter
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh delicous food”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We absolutely love this place and have been coming back for the last four years. Chucking Oysters is an art and they seem to have loads of fun entertaining the crowd. My husband and I spent hours on November 30th, just eating and enjoying the atmosphere. Not only are their Oysters delicious, but so is their Shrimp Po Boy which i rate number one in New Orleans. This is a wonderful family run business that I look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    13
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Raw oysters in the French Market.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wanted to have a simple place in the French Market to have some Oysters. I spotted J's and decided to take a seat and enjoy some oysters.

You can sit around the bar area and watch the master shuck oysters. He not only has skilled hands but has a fun patter to joke with the passers by. He can also tell you all about the work he is doing and how to identify the good product. He also is proud of his own source of oysters. When someone passed by wanted to sell off some oysters at the end of the day, he rejected them and not good enough.

Well after the wait, the product was indeed cold and briny with the sweet taste of the flavorful mollusk. Though there was a nice spicy cocktail sauce laced with fresh horseradish, the oysters were best with just a touch of lemon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Every time we go i get raw oyster and drink it with a cold beer When I was out there in april I tried the boil crawfish pretty good price just right

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJAYNFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge Fresh Oysters Served with a Smile”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place has Friendly and fast service plus huge fresh oysters that were delicious. Highly recommend this family operated establishment. The grilled oysters looked amazing. The young 8 th grade young man server was a real sweetheart.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeWithSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the Service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our waitress, Jesse, was absolutely fantastic. She was friendly and even gave us great advice on where to hang out after our meal. We sat outside on the second floor balcony which I would definetly advise. The food was also great and we even got to try frog legs, which was a first for us. It was our favorite restuarant in New Orleans and we plan on going again on our return trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avannatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J's Seafood Dock At the French Market also viewed

 

Been to J's Seafood Dock At the French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing