We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect - exceeded every expectation. Relaxing, elegant, delightful.”
Review of Hubbard Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hubbard Mansion
Ranked #30 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We had never been to New Orleans and were going to be in town for a convention that fell during the French Quarter Fest. Since every hotel in the French Quarter was full I started a random search online for all b&b's in NOLA. After two hours of searching, I found a room at the Hubbard Inn and we were SO glad we did! The place is exquisite- elegant and completely professional while luxuriously comfortable and providing every amenity we needed down to very comfortable beds, gorgeous antique furniture, his/hers robes, wifi access, an amazing hot breakfast (crawfish pie, yum!) served on china plates, etc. The hosts were charming and helpful, and our stay at the Hubbard Mansion really "made" our trip to New Orleans! We ended up cabbing it to our meetings downtown since we were on a tight schedule, which was about eight dollars per ride, but if you aren't in a rush you can take the street car which is only about a dollar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campaignelect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

We can't say enough about our stay and the hospitality we received from the minute we pulled into the parking lot. The owner greeted us and introduced us to his 90 yr old father and the friendship began. From the moment we walked inside we felt at home in Hubbard Mansion. This classy and elegant mansion was relaxing and refreshing. The food was excellent. Shelia knows how to cook! I've never had grits that I liked and Shelias grits were the best ever. And the crawfish pie was scrumptuous. All the little touches made this place worth the effort. Even the bath towels were fluffy and soft and smelled like they just came from the dryer. You can only get that at home and we called this place home for 3 days. We will recommend to all who travel to New Orleans. I would not consider staying anywhere else. The location is great as well because we took the street car everywhere. We absolutely loved this place, the people who ran it and our stay! A great place!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

great location, beautiful house, very good breakfast and very nice time with Don, Sheila and everyone we met. the house is so well kept; only needs a little more comfortable furnishings for the common inside living area. we would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikaMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Mrs Hubbard's vision for an elegant and welcoming home for visitors to New Orleans is a dream come true. If you want somewhere special in the garden district, with the streetcar stopping outside the door, this is the place for you. It is a taste of old fashioned elegance with a warm and gracious welcome. We were lucky to have breakfast with Mr Hubbard himself the night we stayed and he gave us an insider's experience of life before during and after Katrina's devastation. This is a house where you want to spend more time and just sit on the porch and watch life roll by, maybe smoke a cigar, mull over the day in town and retire to the glamour and comfort of a regal bed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The Hubbard Mansion was recommended by a friend who had already booked their stay for New Year's Eve. Our trip was a combination of sightseeing combined with my alterior motive of proposing to my partner. When booking my room, I revealed my proposal intention to Sheila, who took my reservation and offered to make our stay special.
We arrived via automobile (with the help of gps) to the Garden district turning in to the driveway of what we could have believed to be a hundred year old mansion. Sheila met us at the door and guided us to the dining room where other guests (including our friend Steve) were having their morning coffee.
The splendor and charm of the mansion washed over us as we sat for coffee before even unloading the car. My lady was overwhelmed at the furniture pieces almost immediately entering into lengthy conversation with Sheila about each piece. Sheila could describe each piece by period, design, as well as their own personal story about how they aquired each item and from whom. The aire was that of home and family, and we instantly felt that we were home and in the presence of something special.
More gasps follows as were were shown the room Sheila has reserved for us, knowing the special event that was to occur that evening. We once again marveled at the decor and taste of the room (Victoria).
We soon departed the mansion for the French Quarter and upon returning early that evening, had coffee on the front porch (after facing a clear and direct instruction from Don to not touch the glorious 50 year old stove belonging to his late wife and matriarch of the mansion although he was gracious to show us the workings of this amazing piece which had been used to prepare countless meals for the Hubbard family).
One of the guests had mentioned her search thru the kitchen for chocolate the previous evening, and like the gracious host he is, Don descretely departed only to return in an hour of so with fine chocolates for all.
We refreshed ourselves and departed for the evenings festivities on Jackson Square. In our absence, Sheila had taken the time to remove fresh red rose petals from the flowers and after preparing our king size bed, scattered the petals over the linens, the sight which greeted us when we returned to our room after my successful proposal to my lady.
Our itinerary required an early departure which further required more of the coffee south Louisiana is known for, which I prepared in the kitchen. Don appeared, most likely drawn by the aroma, and was pleased with my coffee making attempt. With the car loaded, we bid fairwell to Sheila, our wonderful hostess, and Don, the man who personifies the welcoming nature of New Orleans. Hugs were exchanged (not something we'd consider when staying at a hotel) and my lady, only half joking, whispered to Don "Goodbye Pappa" to which he responded "Call me when you get home".
The Hubbard Mansion has blazed a glorious bright light in our hearts. Thank you Sheila and Don.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpforet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our tour of the African American Heritage Trail after having read about it in the NYT travel section. The place did not disappoint. Located on St. Charles about a 25 walk from the French Quarter, this gorgeous B&B made for a great stay in New Orleans. The rooms are elegant and clean. The common areas are magnificent and the dinner room is the perfect place to start your day. On top of it, the owner, Don Hubbard, is extremely charming and will entertain you with his stories and treat you to fruits from his citrus "grove" in the backyard. As usual, our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. However, we are happy knowing that our decision as to where to stay when we return has already been made. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldbizmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Four of us converged on New Orleans for the French Quarter Festival. We wanted to stay in the Garden District, so we'd be close to the Quarter and near Audubon Park, but not in the middle of all the hubbub.
After a long day (and evening) of partying, we realized how much we were all looking forward to returning to our beautiful, clean, quiet and comfy rooms at the Hubbard, right on St. Charles Avenue.
The breakfast was good and the hosts (the Hubbard Family) couldn't have been more charming. We're hoping to do all again next year, maybe for Mardi Gras or Jazz Fest.
We all highly recommend it.
N. Peterson and Friends, Virginia

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank npeterson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
354 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubbard Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubbard Mansion

Address: 3535 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $217 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hubbard Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hubbard’s invite you to experience the splendor that is Hubbard Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Feel the gentle southern breeze from our front porch as you view the majestic oaks that line St. Charles Avenue. Escape to the mansion that emulates the culture and heritage that's uniquely New Orleans.Guest Rooms Hubbard Mansion offers five exquisitely furnished suites in the Main House, and two executive apartments perfect for long-term stays. The beautiful rooms recall the grandeur of 19th century New Orleans. The French-inspired designs and antiques create a regal yet relaxing atmosphere. From the romantic ambiance of the Breion to the comfort of the Queen Dell, each room has its own personality to ensure the right fit for your stay. Book your stay today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hubbard Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubbard Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing