We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bnb in New Orleans!”
Review of Hubbard Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hubbard Mansion
Ranked #31 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma
13
Reviewed March 29, 2005

My husband and I stayed at three different places while honeymooning in New Orleans. And I have to say that this was the best place without a doubt. Everything was just perfect! The breakfast was delicious, the room (Dookie) was cute and comfortable, the clawfoot tub was sooo relaxing, everyone was so friendly and helpful, and it was in a great location on St. Charles Ave. We didn't get the chance to meet Don but Rose was more than we could ask for. The only thing we regret is staying for just one night. But we will definitely stay there next time we visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2005

Top of the line in every way! All the rooms are gorgeous and have antique furniture, great beds, crisp linens, fresh flowers etc. Try to book the Henry II or Victoria rooms for more space, but every room is special. You will breakfast in style in a lovely dining room with great coffee, cereal and fruit, and a cooked specialty every day. Rose and Don provide legendary service, delicious food, tourist advice -- they know everything! Centrally located in the Garden District with easy access to all, including streetcar and taxis. This is that rare place that truly combines quiet elegance with genuine friendliness. These experienced travelers had the time of their lives, and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYEureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paducah, KY
212
Reviewed January 23, 2005

This home is stunning, spotless, and perfectly located in the Garden District! Don & Rose are wonderful hosts. We were only there for one night, and not spending a bunch of money w/ them, but they treated us like we were family. Rose made wonderful breakfast and even shared recipes w/ my wife. She is the kind of person you just want to hug; she's what a grandmother should be. We have found the best place to stay in New Orleans and will stay with them as long as they will have us (and we are regular visitors to the city).

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
15
Reviewed January 6, 2005

There are not many better ways of spending Christmas than enjoying the "tableau" that is New Orleans with the superb hospitality and warmth that Rose and Don Hubbard provide!! Don's stories and Rose's fussing over you and her homestyle breakfasts are wonderful. The accomodations were superb, exceeded only the good cheer that is the hallmark of the owners!!

We are experienced B&B consumers and this one was EXCELLENT!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2004

My mother from St. Louis, my sister from Atlanta, and I stayed at the Hubbard Mansion for 4 nights and we just got home on Monday. The house and its antiques were lovely. The home is obviously well kept and very clean. Mrs. Hubbard served really nice breakfasts on the three mornings we chose to eat there. Mr. and Mrs. Hubbard were both very warm caring individuals who obviously wanted to be sure that our stay with them met or exceeded our expectations. We could pick up the street car just across the street, but more often than not chose to take a taxi to the French Quarter area due to the uncertainty of when the next street car would appear (at the time we were visiting there seemed to be more trouble with the St. Charles street cars having problems which caused lengthy delays). I would recommend this B&B if you are looking for a really nice clean relaxing place to stay and you are not as concerned about the price. We wanted a memorable time in New Orleans and the Hubbard's certainly helped us achieve that goal!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeddyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2004

Stayed there 9-17 for a week-end anniversary getaway. Hosts Don and Rose were great. Breakfast was as good as any restaurant would serve. The trolley car stop was right out front and took us down St. Charles and line ended right at Canal and Bourbon St. Rooms were very nice and private. Will stay there again on our next trip to the "Big Easy".

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank captaincomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, Alabama
14
Reviewed July 19, 2004

We recently stayed at the Hubbard Mansion for our 6th wedding anniversary. This was a wonderful bed and breakfast. We stay at a bed and breakfast each year for our anniversary and we were very impressed. Rose and Don were so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting and talking to them each morning. We stayed in the Breion suite. It is beautiful. The bed is so comfortable, the room spacious, and the whirpool tub terrific. Rose surprised us with roses, balloons, and champagne for our anniversary. This has never happened at the other bed and breakfast locations unless we paid extra. What can I say... we had a great trip and loved our B&B.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 142 in New Orleans
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#22 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 142 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubbard Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubbard Mansion

Address: 3535 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $210 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hubbard Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hubbard’s invite you to experience the splendor that is Hubbard Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Feel the gentle southern breeze from our front porch as you view the majestic oaks that line St. Charles Avenue. Escape to the mansion that emulates the culture and heritage that's uniquely New Orleans.Guest Rooms Hubbard Mansion offers five exquisitely furnished suites in the Main House, and two executive apartments perfect for long-term stays. The beautiful rooms recall the grandeur of 19th century New Orleans. The French-inspired designs and antiques create a regal yet relaxing atmosphere. From the romantic ambiance of the Breion to the comfort of the Queen Dell, each room has its own personality to ensure the right fit for your stay. Book your stay today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hubbard Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubbard Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing