We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hubbard Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hubbard Mansion
Ranked #34 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Felt so welcome at this beautiful home. We were looking for a place that was convenient to the city, yet peaceful and quiet. Found it here. Sheila and Don were great hosts, the room was lovely, spa tub perfect, bed so so comfortable. History lessons unforgettable, stay with these folks if you get the chance.

Room Tip: We choose a room at the back of the house, avoiding the traffic on St. Charles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    5
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
56
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our son is a student at Tulane and we have visited New Orleans about 7 times in the past three years. We have stayed everywhere from the Ritz Carlton, JW Marriott, Avenue Plaza, Hilton etc etc. The Hubbard Mansion is now our favorite place. It combines everything one could want: beautiful property and spacious room, very comfortable bed, fabulous breakfast, friendly owner, great porch and central location plus creature comforts of a TV and wifi. Don and Sheila set us up with an adjoining room for our 17 year old son who also loved it. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelofchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed for 5 days at this fabulous B&B during a conference far away from the madhouses a.k.a. the big hotels. This B&B is something special, a true mansion with an impressive facade, hall and rooms full of old-fashioned furniture, and with a relaxing atmosphere. The host and staff are very friendly and accommodating. My chats over breakfast with the owner, Don Hubbard, in the splendid dining room, sitting at a long table, were a pleasure, learning about the history of New Orleans. Highly recommended for those looking for tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaver4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Town. Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hubbard Mansion in New Orleans for the 4th of July weekend. It was a last minute trip and I lucked up on them by accident in an online search so I didn't know what to expect. Also, we had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before so it was totally new. We were so very pleasantly surprised!!! From the warm welcome by the owner, Don Hubbard with a personal tour of the facility and the warmness of Sheila, it was a "Fantabulous experience"! The house is amazing! Although it's new, only 12 years old, it really takes on the feeling of the old New Orleans charm that you see in pictures. We stayed in the Carriage House, Mahalia, in the back of the house and that was great as well (even though someone checked in later so we didn' have the whole place to ourselves, lol). Having been to New Orleans a million times, It was nice being away from the crowds in the French Quarter but a close enough drive to the hustle and bustle when we wanted. There was free parking in the back of the house which is a plus if you've ever had to pay outrageous hotel parking in New Orleans.
The only thing we would do differently is stay in the main house so we could experience the breakfast since that's not served in the back houses. But overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would recommend anyone willing to truly experience New Orleans, give the Hubbard Mansion a try. You won't be disappointed!
Thanks Don and Sheila for everything!!!
`Dennis & Clemetric Frazier

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyDiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Hubbard House this past weekend. The location of this B & B is perfect. It is in the Garden District and only is about 2.5 miles from The French Quarter. The location of the B&B is ideal for a romatic weekend because you are close to the activity in The French Quarter but benefit from being in the quiet neighborhood ambiance of The Garden District. There are plenty of good restuarants within walking distance of the Hubbard House.

The mansion is gorgeous. Everything in the house was very clean and inviting. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated. We stayed in the Breon room. That room was very quiet and the large bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a reasonable size. Mr. Hubbard personally oversaw the design of the mansion and he obviously was concerned about the little details. The high ceilings, large windows, and modern bathrooms are some of the details that really stand out.

The most endearing thing about the experience was meeting Mr. Hubbard and Sheila. The entire staff was warm, classy, and caring. In fact, I had to be hospitalized during my visit due to a medical condition and Mr. Hubbard personally called to check on me several times.

I plan to make this beautiful B & B my home during my regular visits to New Orleans. I am already looking forward to my visit there this fall. The Hubbard House has indeed become my home in The Big Easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkgallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I were “referred” to Hubbard Mansion when our first choice for a night’s stay in Uptown New Orleans was booked. I’m very familiar with New Orleans but had never heard of Hubbard Mansion. For lack of an expedient alternative, however, we braved it, and it turned out to be a wonderful place! The house was built to be a bed and breakfast, so each room is accommodating and has a private bath. At the same time, the house is carefully decorated and maintained in a way that feels “homey” and authentic, like a bed and breakfast should. Add to that the high ceilings, wooden floors, crystal chandeliers and Greek revival façade and you get the full experience of staying in a mansion on one of the most opulent streets on the planet. Don and Sheila Hubbard are in residence and were very helpful and welcoming. The house affords off-street parking, which is a real premium on St. Charles Avenue, and it is very centrally located. You can step out the front door and catch the St. Charles streetcar right outside the front gate. Despite that, the house was quiet and we slept well with no noise from the Avenue or the other guests. The night we stayed, a Saturday night at the beginning of Mardi Gras, every room was taken, but we only saw the other guests as breakfast.
Our room was tastefully decorated with antiques and the linens on the bed were fabulous. My wife said they were hand embroidered. Even I noticed, and I usually wouldn’t. More impressive, everything was spotlessly clean. The walls all looked like they were freshly painted. The floors gleamed. It was amazing.

Sheila Hubbard sets a beautiful table, and breakfast the next morning was excellent. They serve with fine china and again, great linens. I never paid any attention to linens before, but these stood out.

Best of all, the price was very reasonable. I was shocked, frankly, by what we got for the money. It was an excellent value, excellent location, great rest, great food, with wonderful hospitality and management. We left the kids at home and went to New Orleans for a break, and Hubbard Mansion was the right place for it. We will stay there again, and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I believe there are five rooms and we stayed in the "Queen Dale." It was quite, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had called another B&B initially but, as they were full, they referred me here. The house is absolutely gorgeous with wonderful decor, amazingly high ceilings, and was immaculate. The home appears and is furnished like an old garden district house but is actually only a few years old. Don and Sheila Hubbard were great hosts. We enjoyed speaking with them while eating a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornhusker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#18 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#21 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Canal Street Inn
#17 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubbard Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubbard Mansion

Property: Hubbard Mansion
Address: 3535 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hubbard Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hubbard’s invite you to experience the splendor that is Hubbard Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Feel the gentle southern breeze from our front porch as you view the majestic oaks that line St. Charles Avenue. Escape to the mansion that emulates the culture and heritage that's uniquely New Orleans.Guest Rooms Hubbard Mansion offers five exquisitely furnished suites in the Main House, and two executive apartments perfect for long-term stays. The beautiful rooms recall the grandeur of 19th century New Orleans. The French-inspired designs and antiques create a regal yet relaxing atmosphere. From the romantic ambiance of the Breion to the comfort of the Queen Dell, each room has its own personality to ensure the right fit for your stay. Book your stay today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hubbard Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubbard Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing