We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someplace special”
Review of Hubbard Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hubbard Mansion
Ranked #33 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Someplace special”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed for 5 days at this fabulous B&B during a conference far away from the madhouses a.k.a. the big hotels. This B&B is something special, a true mansion with an impressive facade, hall and rooms full of old-fashioned furniture, and with a relaxing atmosphere. The host and staff are very friendly and accommodating. My chats over breakfast with the owner, Don Hubbard, in the splendid dining room, sitting at a long table, were a pleasure, learning about the history of New Orleans. Highly recommended for those looking for tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaver4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
64
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
H-Town. Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hubbard Mansion in New Orleans for the 4th of July weekend. It was a last minute trip and I lucked up on them by accident in an online search so I didn't know what to expect. Also, we had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before so it was totally new. We were so very pleasantly surprised!!! From the warm welcome by the owner, Don Hubbard with a personal tour of the facility and the warmness of Sheila, it was a "Fantabulous experience"! The house is amazing! Although it's new, only 12 years old, it really takes on the feeling of the old New Orleans charm that you see in pictures. We stayed in the Carriage House, Mahalia, in the back of the house and that was great as well (even though someone checked in later so we didn' have the whole place to ourselves, lol). Having been to New Orleans a million times, It was nice being away from the crowds in the French Quarter but a close enough drive to the hustle and bustle when we wanted. There was free parking in the back of the house which is a plus if you've ever had to pay outrageous hotel parking in New Orleans.
The only thing we would do differently is stay in the main house so we could experience the breakfast since that's not served in the back houses. But overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would recommend anyone willing to truly experience New Orleans, give the Hubbard Mansion a try. You won't be disappointed!
Thanks Don and Sheila for everything!!!
`Dennis & Clemetric Frazier

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyDiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My wife and had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Hubbard House this past weekend. The location of this B & B is perfect. It is in the Garden District and only is about 2.5 miles from The French Quarter. The location of the B&B is ideal for a romatic weekend because you are close to the activity in The French Quarter but benefit from being in the quiet neighborhood ambiance of The Garden District. There are plenty of good restuarants within walking distance of the Hubbard House.

The mansion is gorgeous. Everything in the house was very clean and inviting. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated. We stayed in the Breon room. That room was very quiet and the large bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a reasonable size. Mr. Hubbard personally oversaw the design of the mansion and he obviously was concerned about the little details. The high ceilings, large windows, and modern bathrooms are some of the details that really stand out.

The most endearing thing about the experience was meeting Mr. Hubbard and Sheila. The entire staff was warm, classy, and caring. In fact, I had to be hospitalized during my visit due to a medical condition and Mr. Hubbard personally called to check on me several times.

I plan to make this beautiful B & B my home during my regular visits to New Orleans. I am already looking forward to my visit there this fall. The Hubbard House has indeed become my home in The Big Easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkgallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife and I were “referred” to Hubbard Mansion when our first choice for a night’s stay in Uptown New Orleans was booked. I’m very familiar with New Orleans but had never heard of Hubbard Mansion. For lack of an expedient alternative, however, we braved it, and it turned out to be a wonderful place! The house was built to be a bed and breakfast, so each room is accommodating and has a private bath. At the same time, the house is carefully decorated and maintained in a way that feels “homey” and authentic, like a bed and breakfast should. Add to that the high ceilings, wooden floors, crystal chandeliers and Greek revival façade and you get the full experience of staying in a mansion on one of the most opulent streets on the planet. Don and Sheila Hubbard are in residence and were very helpful and welcoming. The house affords off-street parking, which is a real premium on St. Charles Avenue, and it is very centrally located. You can step out the front door and catch the St. Charles streetcar right outside the front gate. Despite that, the house was quiet and we slept well with no noise from the Avenue or the other guests. The night we stayed, a Saturday night at the beginning of Mardi Gras, every room was taken, but we only saw the other guests as breakfast.
Our room was tastefully decorated with antiques and the linens on the bed were fabulous. My wife said they were hand embroidered. Even I noticed, and I usually wouldn’t. More impressive, everything was spotlessly clean. The walls all looked like they were freshly painted. The floors gleamed. It was amazing.

Sheila Hubbard sets a beautiful table, and breakfast the next morning was excellent. They serve with fine china and again, great linens. I never paid any attention to linens before, but these stood out.

Best of all, the price was very reasonable. I was shocked, frankly, by what we got for the money. It was an excellent value, excellent location, great rest, great food, with wonderful hospitality and management. We left the kids at home and went to New Orleans for a break, and Hubbard Mansion was the right place for it. We will stay there again, and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I believe there are five rooms and we stayed in the "Queen Dale." It was quite, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had called another B&B initially but, as they were full, they referred me here. The house is absolutely gorgeous with wonderful decor, amazingly high ceilings, and was immaculate. The home appears and is furnished like an old garden district house but is actually only a few years old. Don and Sheila Hubbard were great hosts. We enjoyed speaking with them while eating a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornhusker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've been to New Orleans many times and I have never had a more enjoyable visit. From the moment I stepped out of my car I felt like I was home and Mr Hubbard and Sheila did everything they could to support that mindset. Big bedrooms and nice baths and that little lagniappe of the whirlpool tub. Big front porch where I could sit with a gin&tonic and pretend I was at home. The streetcar line running in front of the house is very convenient and anyone who had ever been to New Orleans will tell you parking in the tourist areas is impossible SO take the streetcar. I dont want to forget talking about the great breakfast prepared each morning.. I was spoiled by Sheila the first day and every day it got better. I shall return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaNAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Hubbard Mansion the day we became engaged. Mr Hubbard and the staff made us feel so welcome and also celebrated our exciting news with us! The rooms were immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The southern breakfast was delicious each morning. We plan to stay at the Hubbard Mansion each time we visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 139 in New Orleans
663 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 139 in New Orleans
932 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 139 in New Orleans
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubbard Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubbard Mansion

Property: Hubbard Mansion
Address: 3535 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hubbard Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hubbard’s invite you to experience the splendor that is Hubbard Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Feel the gentle southern breeze from our front porch as you view the majestic oaks that line St. Charles Avenue. Escape to the mansion that emulates the culture and heritage that's uniquely New Orleans.Guest Rooms Hubbard Mansion offers five exquisitely furnished suites in the Main House, and two executive apartments perfect for long-term stays. The beautiful rooms recall the grandeur of 19th century New Orleans. The French-inspired designs and antiques create a regal yet relaxing atmosphere. From the romantic ambiance of the Breion to the comfort of the Queen Dell, each room has its own personality to ensure the right fit for your stay. Book your stay today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hubbard Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubbard Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing