We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
Ranked #24 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was mine and my husbands first trip to New Orleans and I can say will be returning! Jesse was very kind and helpful as was all of the staff !!! We knew nothing about things to do in NOLA so we asked Jesse and the staff , there were all very helpful in suggesting places to eat , places to visit , and things to do in the area and in the French Quarter . The neighborhood is very nice as are the neighbors . The house is amazing , I love the older homes and this was nothing but amazing !! The room was always clean , nice lite breakfast , and quite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subbabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
90
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Parisian Coutyard Inn is a rempvated Greek revival inn which is absolutely gorgeous. Jesse, a part-owner and manager, is the perfect host. We stayed in the front, balcony room which faces Prytania and has floor to ceiling windows allowing access to the balcony. The location of the Parisian Courtyard Inn is perfect for accessing the streetcars, and within walking distance of many fine eateries.

Room Tip: Splurge on the balcony room -- it really gives you the feeling of "stepping back in time".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

To start, the location is fab- as a former New Orleanian returning for a reunion this hotel gives you the benefit of the beautiful Lower Garden District area on Prytania, JUST off St. Charles, and close to both downtown and the Audubon area. Also, if you are like us, we arrived late, hungry, and in need of a drink- walk 1 block out of the hotel and you have yourself a 24 hr bar/kitchen at the Avenue Pub. But more importantly, the accommodations are perfect. The rooms are updated so you have the old world charm with modern amenities such as iron, hair dryer, walk in shower, great air conditioning, and a well kept, beautiful property overall. Finally, there is Jesse, the proprietor. What can I say- a true native who makes you feel as if you are an old friend stopping in for a weekend visit. He's helpful, friendly, and just a delight to work with. I cannot say enough about this property except that I encourage you to experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Jesse upgraded us to the very top (literally) room in the house. You have to climb stairs but we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here while in town to pack up our daughter after her first year at Tulane and hope we will be able to stay here on all of our subsequent visits to New Orleans. Jesse is a gracious and generous host. We had a lovely room next to the courtyard. It was raining when we arrived, and Jesse offered us umbrellas to use while we were there- he even loaned us his bicycle pump when we realized our daughter’s bike was in need. Breakfast was just right- coffee, juice, yogurt, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit- everything you could want to start the day, and Jesse generously offered to have our daughter join us for breakfast even though she was not staying at the inn. The inn is beautiful and is nicely located- parking was right out front- we spent the first afternoon/evening in the French Quarter – street car stop just a couple of blocks away- and the second evening (after packing all day) at a local restaurant that Jesse recommended. We have stayed at many other B&B’s but I have to say this is one of our favorites and we hope to be frequent visitors!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staugmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed last year for a week and couldn't wait to come back and bring friends with us. The home is beautifully restored and every room has its own personality. Jessie is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is perfect with fresh fruit, yogurt, and delicious baked goods. We are staying for six days this time and are only moving on to another B&B down the block because a wedding party has booked the entire house. We have encouraged friends to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Jessie has a great place here. Beautiful building and awesome location. If you'd rather not stay in the quarter or want to be close to great shops this is your place! Highly reccomended. Nice place, nice people, nice price what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at The Parisian Courtyard Inn for a night on Jan 13, 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in Room #6 on the second floor, it felt roomy and comfortable with two very large windows which faced the back courtyard, it had floor length drapes for privacy. The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable.
A typical home for that era, the room had 14 foot ceilings. A modern update was an individual thermostat in the room. The water pressure in the bathroom was quite powerful,however a funny quirk we noticed was that the cold water in the sink in the bathroom when first turned on would run hot before running cold...We never did figure that one out.
The breakfast buffet had a wide assortment of teas, coffee, danish, sweets, fruit, cereal hot and cold, yogurt,toast and jams and jellies, and was served in the grand dining room downstairs.

The location is excellent -a short trolley ride from the French Quarter, and there is a Walgreen's Drug Store just a block and a half away, which sells postcards, suntan lotion, etc.

If you happen to be Norwegian, or Norwegian-American or are interested in Scandinavian things-we ran across by chance, The Norwegian Seamen’s Church, which is just a block away at 1772 Prytania Street, New Orleans. The church is very interesting and we had the opportunity to meet the young Pastor and his wife and family .who are from Norway, (Snakker du Norsk? Ja). and have waffles and coffee with them. The church also has a small gift shop where you can buy candies, gifts, t-shirts, calenders and other things from Norway.

Jessie who ran the B&B is knowledgeable of the history of the house and area and can also give you tips on things to do and visit. The house was lucky enough to avoid the flooding that hit a large part on New Orleans with Hurricane Katrina...as it sits on high ground....Approx 6 blocks away many homes had 4.5 to 5 ft worth of flood damage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedarLakeMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
656 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#14 of 138 in New Orleans
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parisian Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parisian Courtyard Inn

Property: The Parisian Courtyard Inn
Address: 1726 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-5218 (Formerly Longpre Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parisian Courtyard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an elegant house dating from 1846, this romantic B&B in the Garden District is a 3-minute walk from the St Charles at Euterpe streetcar stop and 7 km from Audubon Zoo. Featuring hardwood floors and antique furniture, the 10 stately rooms offer free Wi-Fi, cable TV, minifridges and coffeemakers, plus en suite bathrooms. Some have balconies. A hot breakfast buffet is served in 1 of the 2 opulent lounges, sometimes with live musical accompaniment. Complimentary amenities include parking and access to a nearby gym. There are also 3 elegant courtyards with seating. Minimum-stay rules may apply. Great romantic venue for weddings!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Parisian Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing