We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal Street Inn is Excellent”
Review of Canal Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canal Street Inn
Ranked #22 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast that I've been going to (when it was known as the Block-Keller House) for almost 10 years.

The management and staff are accessible and friendly. The staff is also very discreet and unintrusive - you don't know they're there unless you would like something. If you are coming to New Orleans and want a place to stay with history, close to the French Quarter but not in it (the Inn is right across the street from the historic street car line) and ice cold a/c throughout the house, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Depending upon how many folks are in the Inn, the second floor may be quieter than the first. The f...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_Wash_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Canal Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 185 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

My first trip to New Orleans (for a family graduation) and I only was there 2 nights, but I could not have been more pleased with my accommodations. Canal Street Inn is centrally located and adjacent to the street car lines. I had a great room (#6), very quiet and spacious with a private bath. The owner, Monica, could not have been more helpful and gracious -- giving me hints on how to get around town as well as accommodating my need for an early breakfast one morning. I plan to return to New Orleans for a more languid visit, and this is definitely a beautiful old home that is worthwhile re-visiting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary22046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here recently while we were in town for a family wedding and were delighted that we found this inn. We chose this inn over others because it was close enough to the family, but outside the bustling and often congested French Quarter.The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable, although a bit too dark during the day. Monica is a lovely hostess and was helpful without being overly solicitous. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which kept us sated until lunchtime. The street car is conveniently located across from the inn and runs regularly during the day. A trip to the French Quarter takes about 20 minutes.

My only complaint was that the bathroom mirror was a rather small. To complicate things, it was hung too high over the sink. I carry a small travel mirror, but with the only good light in the bathroom, I had to sit on the lid of the toilet, which was lightweight plastic and made it awkward. This problem could easily corrected adding a two sided mirror next to the sink.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passionflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Canal Street Inn. This was my first time to stay at a bed and breakfast and I was a little worried that I would not have the privacy that a hotel or rental property would provide. I was wrong. The owner Monica did a fantastic job by being friendly, helpful and accomodating without being overly pushy. The house is absolutely beautiful and it's right on the red street car line. The room we stayed in (#3) was very private and we never heard any other guests. Also the breakfast was always tasty and I would suggest a visit to the Canal Street Bistro, which has amazing food as well. Overall, I'd recommend this B&B for anyone that is looking for a great place to stay when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 3 which is more secluded as it is upstairs and away from the dining and living r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaCilantro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

On my first trip to New Orleans I stayed in a large suite (Room #6) at the Canal Street Inn. Not only is the home beautiful with wood floors, high ceilings, stained glass, chandeliers, and a lovely outdoor courtyard, but it is supremely comfortable and conveniently located on the Street Car line. I have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments, and my stay at the Canal Street Inn was perhaps the best over-all. I enjoyed a hearty breakfast, the luxury of a historic home, the comfort of a large room (huge bathroom, private parlor, bed room, and walk-in closet), and the convenience of being just a 10-minute street car ride from the Quarter.
Stay here when you come to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gballor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Location- Fantastic, Access to downtown- Wonderful (street car stop in front of Inn), Management- warm, friendly - Exactly what we would expect from a New Orleans Host. We will absolutely stay at the Canal Street Inn when we return to New Orleans, as will our family and friends. PS……..Homemade Breakfast is incredible! Kari&Alex

Room Tip: Check web site to view rooms. Views on web are actual room views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Canal Street Inn for 5 nights in early December. We were having difficulty finding a room after we booked airline tickets for this weekend and discovered there was a home Saints game and LSU were playing that weekend. A friend had stayed at the Inn and recommended it, as luck would have it there was a room available.

Monica is an amazing hostess and the accomadations were excellent. Each morning we were treated to a nice little home made breakfast that was a little different each day. She has a Kuerig coffee machine so you can make yourself a gourmet coffee, tea or hot chocolate. There is always a bottle of wine in the parlor for guests to enjoy.

This place couldn't be more convenient since the trolley is right outside the front door. It takes only a few minutes to get to the French Quarter and any other stop along the trolley route. There is also an amazing Italian restaurant within walking distance if you don't want to go downtown.

We loved it and would definitely stay there again. We travel a lot and this experience helped us decide B&Bs might be our place of choice for lodging in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
759 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 141 in New Orleans
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Street Inn

Address: 3620 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6111 (Formerly Block-Keller House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $163 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Street Inn (circa 1912), a beautifully restored Neo-Classical style villa, is nestled under centuries-old live oaks on world-famous Canal Street, just a short streetcar ride from the French Quarter. We are right on the streetcar line – with direct access to St Charles Avenue, the Superdome, the Garden District, the Mississippi Riverfront and City Park. We offer free parking too. Whether you are taking a short vacation for Jazz Fest, French Quarter Fest, Voodoo Fest or going on an extended stay business trip let our bed and breakfast be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Canal Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Street Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing