We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood in Uptown NOLA”
Review of Superior Seafood

Superior Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Superior Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Garden District
Saint Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good seafood in Uptown NOLA”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Restaurant is at Napoleon and St. Charles. It is not formal (jeans are fine), but had good atmosphere. Inside and patio seating available. Be careful: there is a Superior Grill (Mexican) about 6-8 blocks east on St. Charles that we went to first, thinking it was the seafood restaurant; they told us that people do that all the time. Decent menu, and $3 house wine at happy hour (til 6:30). My fresh fish was delicious, and I was able to substitute sides with no complaint. Crab cake appetizer was also good. Good food, good service and reasonably priced--what's not to like?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank arniearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    262
    69
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Carrot cake”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went to Superior Seafood on the recommendation of our Bed & Breakfast host. We were happy we took his advice. Shrimp and Grits were very flavorful. However, it was the carrot cake that stole the show. It arrives warm with a cream cheese drizzle on top. Absolutely amazing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Delicious!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would recommend this place to anyone, seafood lover or not ! Very delicious & reasonable prices! My husband had crawfish & they were phenomenal!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Binkeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had read about this restaurant in the Garden District and decided to try it. The food was excellent, the service attentive, the setting was lovely, and it was a great value. They had the best crawfish boil- the crawfish were large, perfectly cooked, and perfectly spiced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
624 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, atmosphere and great fresh food.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a table in the covered porch area and it was magical. The menu is great if you have someone who doesn't eat seafood, as there are lots of purely fish options. We were staying at the nearby Hampton Inn and it was really our best option from the hot bread that arrived shortly after we sat down, through the expertly made Manhattan to the beautifully presented fish dishes through to the beautiful after dinner coffee. It is a bit quieter in the porch area and if you are making reservations, I suggest you make this a request if you aren't a large group. Right on the St. Charles line, making it easy to visit the Garden District. The line is currently having some work done, but the bus was prompt. The best meal we had in NOLA.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Superior Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Superior Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing