We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a change!”

Canal Street Bistro
Ranked #379 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: International
Description: Canal Street Bistro is a standout among Mid City restaurants. Our breakfast, lunch and dinner menus reflect the diversity of our city with both local and global influences. Our menus include vegan, vegetarian and gluten free items as well. Our food is prepared from scratch with natural ingredients. We have a fresh fruit and vegetable juice and smoothie bar available during breakfast, brunch and lunch. In addition, we offer a hand selected wine list and premium bar for any meal including signature cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Canal Street Bistro is a standout among Mid City restaurants. Our breakfast, lunch and dinner menus reflect the diversity of our city with both local and global influences. Our menus include vegan, vegetarian and gluten free items as well. Our food is prepared from scratch with natural ingredients. We have a fresh fruit and vegetable juice and smoothie bar available during breakfast, brunch and lunch. In addition, we offer a hand selected wine list and premium bar for any meal including signature cocktails.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time for a change!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A relative of ours suggested going to this restaurant for a change of venue. They are located not far down Canal Street from Interstate 10 in New Orleans. Parking was not a problem - we parked right on the side of the restaurant. The drinks were good with plenty of time to enjoy ourselves. The food consisted of steak, fish and shrimp dishes that were to die for - from cream sauces to Sarachi - all were very delicious. The service was outstanding and an overall great food experience with the chef continuously checking to make sure we were pleased. Definitely will return there again and highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great juiced beverages!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Cute new restaurant in Mid-City. Loved the juice menu and healthy menu options (gluten free, tofu)! I will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Found this bistro almost by accident. Saw it from the canal street trolley. We'll worth the trolley ride back. Eclectic menu but both of our entries were excellently prepared. My husband ordered the German pancake and I had the BELT croissant. The waffle and fried chicken at the next table looked great. Reasonable prices for NO. Waitstaff were attentive. Chief is German/Mexican and the cultures are reflected in the menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wood1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We 'found' this place when another of our favorite breakfast places nearby had a ridiculous wait for a table. We're glad we did. This place has an exceptional breakfast menu and serves it until 2:30PM on the weekends. The also have an extensive juicer menu with liquid concoctions that contain everything from beets and carrots to spinach and kale. Additionally, they have a great coffee menu which included a very well made cuban coffee (for those unfamiliar with Cuban Coffee, it is a simple espresso based shot of coffee and yet, there is quite an art to making it correctly). Now that we have 'discovered' this place it now sits near the top of the list among our favorite breakfast spots.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy Saturday morning lead us here”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We tried to go to a few different breakfast places and they were all packed. Then we found this place, they were busy but it was a short wait for a table. We had amazing strawberry orange mimosas. I has the huevos rancheros and my husband had the spanish breakfast. Both were great!

Helpful?
Thank NAlmuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Street Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Canal Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing