We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get treated like part of the family...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Vincent's Guest House
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Get treated like part of the family...”
Reviewed November 2, 2004

This is the third time in a year that I've stayed at St. Vincent's. I've always felt welcome, and now more like a part of the family.

My reservations were taken care of without a hitch, and my room was ready upon my arrival as requested.

I came from Minnesota where it was 40 degrees and arrived in NO to be greeted by record setting heat for this time of the year. My room hadn't been used the day before my arrival so I turned on the air as soon as I opened the door. It worked like a charm. I quickly pulled out my swimsuit and headed to the pool. It was clean and well maintained, and just what I needed to cool off.

The most wondeful thing about the St. Vincent's is the ambiance. The building, typical of others built in the same time period are wonderful to see. I know it's a constant battle to keep paint looking fresh, and the overall appearance spotless. The owner and housekeeping staff do their best to make your stay a pleasant one.

The FQ is a bit of a walk from St. Vincent's, but the street car is a few block walk and costs $1.25 per person each way. If you're not up for the street car or the walk the front desk staff are always more than happy to call a cab. A cab ride to the quarter costs about $6 each way, and I would suggest for anyone travelling at night in New Orleans (especially if you're like me and travel alone).

Kudos to Peter, Miss Eloise, Miss Jane, and all the staff for making my stay both pleasant and memorable.

I'll see y'all in the spring for French Quarter Fest.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    114
    78
    65
    222
See reviews for
52
109
83
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2004

I'd booked my reservation through Loney Planet's website and had an email confirmation sheet, credit card deposit payment, etc. with me, but when I called to say my flight was delayed and I would be an hour later than expected, I was told they had NO record at all of my reservation. This may happen only on busy weekends but call and make sure your reservation is set several times before you go. Of course they had no rooms available that night, my tough luck. Chances are, if you're booking St. Vincent's, you're on a budget. If it's a Friday night, good luck finding a room elsewhere for under $100. Sadly, this has happened to me before with budget hotels in New Orleans---what can you do, sue them in small claims court for $30? I'm sure the hotel is fine but beware of reservation glitches, particularly if you are traveling from a distance and intend to sleep that night!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sphynxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Santa Fe,NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2004

This place looks great on the website, but when you see your room, a dark reality will set in. The room was dirrrrrrrty. The carpet was matted with hair, dust and creepy crawlies. I discovered why when I borrowed the vaccum from the maid; the belt on her vaccum was broken, and has been broken for some time. After informing her of this she said "It work fine fa me". The bedspread had mystery stains on them. I remedied this however by discovering the unlocked hotel laundry room on the floor, where I washed all the bed linnens and covers. The cruddy AC unit in the room should have came with a legionarre's disease pamphlet. The pool is full of leaves, dirt, bugs and the urine of drunken patrons (NOT KIDDING). After requesting fresh towels on the second day of our stay, they were tied to the door handle in a plastic bag, however, another guest must have needed the towels more than us. When I went to retrieve the towels all that remained on the door handle was a tattered plastic bag. I could go on for several paragraphs, but why? Bottom line; stay elsewhere unless you want to get some rare fungal skin infection from this filthy place.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tincture77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2004

We really loved the place, because of its charming & oldfashioned atmosphere, with interesting history. Its location between downtown and uptown - very convienient! Very friendly staff. We got the best for the price !

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2004

I don't know what the people writing these hysterical reviews are used to, but frankly, I was really surprised to read some of their complaints.

My family (My parents, aunt & uncle, two brothers and kids and my daugher's dad) stayed in the St. Vincent for the weekend last year, booking a total of five rooms. I personally went to everyone's room and made sure that my family was being treated well. The rooms were all nice and looked like the pictures on the website. The bathrooms were updated and clean. I do think the towels could have been better but I've never gotten a hotel towel in my life that I've been excited about, even at the Four Seasons.

They gave my brother a room that was actually two rooms so that they had some privacy from their three kids. The a/c was good. Now, the a/c did go on the fritz in my aunt & uncle's room and when they couldn't repair it in an hour they moved them to another nice room. The pool was sparkling and we enjoyed that as well as sitting out on the big galleries (porches) and talking and meeting other guests when we weren't out doing stuff.

I would say that all hallways were not spotless but not gross. Old building, yes there were some spots on the paint. But nowhere was this place as gross and filthy as described previously. And termites and palmettos are a fact of life here, from the mansions to the ghettos, so seeing one or two is just about unavoidable.

The breakfast was good. Yes, it's the same offering every day. That is a ridiculous thing to complain about when you look at all the overpriced hotel food out there. When we were there they used china and silverware, all clean, and individually packaged butter and jelly, etc.

Neighborhood: If you think this is a bad neighborhood, best not to come to New Orleans AT ALL. People who do not live in integrated communities seem to take issue with the fact that New Orleans is not sanitized and whitened for your protection. Not everyone lives in a cookie-cutter bedroom community of tract homes flanked by strip malls and chain stores. This is a real neighborhood and it is about two blocks (that's called "walking distance" for all you suburban SUV junkies) from some very cute boutiques, etc. that should please the shopper types. I took my parents on a walk around the neighborhood and they are from a small town and were not put off. Some beautiful homes around there. And the coffee shop across the street is great.

As for walking distance to the FQ: I would say that this is a bit of a trek but not a false claim, and in any case the hotel is right on a bus line and three blocks from the streetcar for $1.25 each way, or you can get a cab.

Ignore the whining of a bunch of spoiled, insulated yuppie jerks or people who live for drama and get a reasonably priced room here, close enough to the French Quarter but in a quiet neighborhood. Or, stay at a generic or FQ hotel and pay three times the money for a tiny room in the noisy quarter where parking is overpriced hell. Or, fork over the serious bucks for a chichi jewel of a Garden District B&B like you see on Travel Channel and be done with it. This is a basic hotel with economical rates and fascinating historical charm.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 9, 2004

St Vincents is a genuinely wonderful place teeming with the unique charm and mystique of the Crescent City. P.S. please ignore the banter of the Arkie hotthead who never even stayed there in the first place. ...as if amidst traveling one never has had a mistaken charge show up on one's credit card secondary to computer error, good grief.
get a life.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2004

I'm definately surprised by the negative reviews of this hostel. I was there last summer and was surprised that for the price of a hostel, my sister and I not only had a room to ourselves, but a bathroom as well. It wasn't the nicest place I've ever seen, but for the money I thought they gave alot. It's not the absolute cleanest place either, but I didn't see anything disgusting. The history of the building is great and it's in a nice, quiet location ideal for both the Quater and the Garden District. I definately plan on staying here again, but if you're looking for something cute, cozy and romantic, look for a B&B somewhere else.

Helpful?
4 Thank Christina_Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#135 of 162 in New Orleans
560 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#133 of 162 in New Orleans
42 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#116 of 162 in New Orleans
798 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Property: St. Vincent's Guest House
Address: 1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Vincent's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing