We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cheese plate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St James Cheese Company

St James Cheese Company
Ranked #91 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Description: Mission To provide our guests with a meticulously selected and unexpectedly diverse assortment of perfectly ripe cheeses, charcuterie, and gourmet grocery items. Our menu has been carefully built with contemporary and European style sandwiches, salads and cheese-centric items to please all types of food lovers.
new orleans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheese plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This plate is great! Their sandwiches are good as well as their cheese plates. They don't sell wine, but there is a store next door if you want your cheese plate with wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    46
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If Cheese is your thing GO HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife is a cheese lover so this destination did not disappoint in the slightest. Get here early as there is always a wait but it is worth it! The cheese selection was phenomenal and the owner even gave us free samples to try while we waited in line. A comprehensive selection of sandwiches, hot and cold were on offer. You have to try the mac and cheese it was amazing!!! My wife still talks about this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TaffsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I eat here about every other weekend. They are very accommodating if you want to make substitutions on sandwiches. I love the smokey blue and cubano, but they are all excellent. Get here early on the weekends for lunch because they're aren't many tables and they fill up fast! This place should be ranked much higher on the list!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HB_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Service was pretty quick given that our sandwiches were made to order. I had the gruyere sandwich which was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Suealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for a late lunch after roaming the park and St. Charles Ave area. What a treat. The owner was on hand and made some terrific recommendations for lunch. We had a Cran-Brie Sammie that was toasted and delicious and the Cantal salad. The salad was described by my guest as "the most amazing salad she had ever eaten"... The place was lively and chill at the same time. Great eating areas inside, outside on a deck, and in a patio area with heaters. Servers were pleasant and the food was outstanding. Inspiring to see someone leave the corporate world and develop their passion into something meaningful & cool. Kudos to James and the crew. Oh and the fancy chocolate bar with browned sugar caramel, sea salt, and über dark chocolate was a perfect ending.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank morganinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St James Cheese Company also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to St James Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing