We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again, almost excellent.”
Review of Tamarind by Dominique - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tamarind by Dominique
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Description: Very new just opened prior to New Years. Food is very good, space is beautiful and the wait staff were great. It is in the Hotel Modern on Lee Circle on St. Charles.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Again, almost excellent.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Perhaps not my 1st review, but a second perspective. Valet parking very smooth. Decided on 2 appetizers (egg rolls, tuna and avocado) and arugula an peach salad, then a shared appetizer. Waiter (young male oriental) was slow and unhelpful, in contrast with the rest of the restaurant staff. Had the "Sunset on Lee Circle" cocktail, elegantly constructed fruit juice, but way underpowered to call a cocktail (2.5), and overpriced for fruit juice. The egg rolls were fabulous, as was the tuna (5s), and the salad was good (4). The entree, "Fire Roasted Shrimp" was also very good (4). I could call down a 5 for this experience, except that the waiter, who was slow on the drinks, forgot to bring us bread until we asked for it and then slowly, forgot our request for the wine when we finished the cocktail, was also slow with the bill. He was visibly absent most of the time, I suspect he was in the back playing with his smartphone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rigel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, ok food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were impressed with all the staff from the valet to the waiter. The room is lovely with a fabulous view of Lee Circle. aside from the squawking parrot in the lobby that opens onto the dining room we found the ambiance great.

The food left a lot to be desired. The Chicken Po soup had minimal broth and a huge glop of rice noodles. The Vietnamese onion soup was flavorful but odd with lime and what seemed like a bit of coconut in the taste. The Vietnamese sandwiches were mostly bread with some tasty filling. We just removed most of the bread and ate the little filling. Wine by the glass was pricey and limited.

The dinner menu looked interesting and the bar was well stocked so we might give this new restaurant another try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room service was great”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

ordered breakfast...a bit pricy but was very good. would do it again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We ate breakfast here and I had the best shrimp & grits I've ever eaten! My husband had an open faced omelet filled with shrimp and bacon which was also good. Service was also great!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting Possibilities”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We are big fans of Vietnamese cuisine, which is available in abundance in the greater New Orleans area, so we were intrigued by the possibilities of a fusion of the colonial French influence with it. Everyone at the table enjoyed their appetizers and mains. I opted for a salad; the cilantro lime dressing was very flavorful and unique, while the others enjoyed onion soup with an eastern-spiced spin. The duck entree was attractive and highly praised. I got the drum, a generous portion with a tasty pan crust and served on a delicious risotto base. Service was very good until the restaurant filled up, so we waited a bit for the check, but otherwise no complaints. The background music was a bit bizarre - cathedral pipe organ followed by 'Gidget Goes Hawaiian' type '60's rock??? Still, we'll go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind by Dominique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing