We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had Such a Good Time and Great Food”

Mardi Gras School of Cooking
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had Such a Good Time and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just cooked with Chef Bond. My mom and I had such a fun time and will recommend this to everyone. The food was so good, we got to do everything ourselves, and just laughed and talked for hours with the Chef. We loved how the class was in his home and we learned to much about Cajun/creole food. We can't wait for the next class!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our class with Chef Bond. He picked us up at the ferry and took us to his nearby charming home, which has a well-equiped, comfortable kitchen. During most of the class, we sat at the island (except when we were at the stove) and either all participated or took turns with the various steps to making three dishes: gumbo, crawfish etouffe, and bread pudding. We learned not only about these dishes but also various tips about food and food preparation that we could use for all cuisines. Chef Bond was a patient and informative instructor, and interesting to talk to as well. I have a sensitive sense of smell, and smelled nothing but great food! And our meal was delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Learn to cook Creole/Cajun food and have a ball doing it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back from a WONDERFUL week with my family in "the Big Easy" topped off with an AMAZING HANDS ON cooking class led by Chef Richard Bond. He and his assistant Patrick, treated us like kings and queens , in his intimate real world setting . we were thrilled and educated with culinary skills like correct knife skills, demystifying roux making (who knew it was so complex ...different colors and smells and uses) we cooked and ate gumbo, etouffee, bread pudding all while being liberally treated to local history,color and adult beverages .
We will definitely be returning to visit Chef and Patrick to further our culinary adventures....If you ever have the opportunity to take this class do it.... A DEFINITE "MUST DO!"

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantasic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just finished our hands on cooking lesson with Chef Bond and had a wonderful experience. Yes this hands on class is in his private home in one of the old historic homes of New Orleans. Chef Bond was great, taking his time to teach us novices how cook authentic New Orleans food. Chef Bond has over 25 years cooking experience and his food was delisious. Or should I say our food was delisious, since he instructed and we cooked, just the way we wanted it. Unlike the other review, we didn't smell smoke or dog...and would highly recommend this if you want a hands on lesson not just a cooking demonstration. If we're ever back in New Orleans we will definately take another class.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mardi Gras School of Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Mardi Gras School of Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing