We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Never Again"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites
Ranked #153 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I booked a whirlpool suite for a romantic getaway online at hotel.com the day before I was expected to come. When I arrived the next day, they told me they had overbooked and were unable to give me the whirlpool suite. I wasn't even notified before my arrival! Instead, they offered me a double bed room for the same price I paid for the whirlpool suite. I had to call hotel.com before 4 o'clock to cancel my reservation and had to book a new hotel room, which was seriously inconvenient! Apparently, a walk-in had arrived 30 seconds within the time I had booked the suite online and they were given the suite instead. It appeared they were low on staff as well. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. My plans were ruined due to them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have stayed at the campground here on 2 previous occassions. We've never had a problem, though the facilities are average at best. I made reservations for New Years Eve back in November. The site was booked for 3 nights through a reservation site. I requested 30 amp service and a pull through site. When i received the confirmation I saw they had me set for 50 amp service, which I am unable to use, and charged me an extra $15.00 for this service.

I emailed them right away to correct this and requested they credit my card back for the $15.00 charge but never heard from them. I decided I would address this when I arrived in New Orleans. When I got there I spoke to the man at the registration desk and he told me they "are working on getting this corrected". The site didn't matter since the entire campground was practically empty. I still hadn't heard anything about the over charge by the time I left so I decided to drop it. However, when I checked my account I found there was an additional charge for $105.00. This angered me a bit and I decided since I had to call them again about that charge that I also wanted the other $15.00 as well.

When I spoke to them they told me they had already cancelled the charge for $105.00 but that no one there could refund the $15.00 and I would have to call the reservation company for the refund. I called them and they seemed confused as to why I was referred to them but they called for me to try to straighten it out. I received a call back from them and was told that Mardi Gras Campground/Red Carpet Inn refused to refund the money.

Now I'm pissed so I called back to the campground and told them I wanted to no what their justification was for keeping my money? This was their answer verbatim....."There IS NO JUSTIFICATION. We just don't do refunds!". The person I spoke with told me he would "talk to the boss" about it and call me back but so far I've had no return phone calls.

It's not about the $15.00 anymore but the principle. They admit they owe me the money but just refuse to give it back.

BEWARE doing business with these ripoffs!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I had read the previous reviews for this hotel, so when we arrived I was not surprised by the security fence. We were a bit apprehensive because it is not very picturesque at night, but honestly everything was fine with us checking in. I felt fairly safe outside at night, and we arrived at approximately 12:00am. Once inside the security fence, I felt very safe. I did not see any "sketchy" characters, but maybe we came back to the hotel too early each night to see them. The staff were nice, but not overly friendly or hospitable which I found to be true of a lot of people we met in New Orleans. The room was fine; the pillows were small for a king size bed, the sofa in our room had wear and tear, but we only paid around $50 for the room, so no problem. The WIFI worked great. The free breakfast was fine but certainly not fancy. There was a nice, new flat screen tv in our room. There was a fridge and microwave as well which was a plus. If you're driving to downtown New Orleans, the French Quarter, or down towards Tulane, it is not a very far drive at all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southerngirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

it's my own fault for trying to take the cheap way and not pay the few extra dollars for the better, cleaner, a lot safer hotel. Each night my wife and i return back to this hotel, there were women with very little clothes hanging infront to the security gate with room keys in hand. one of them was even nice enough to open the gate for me as i pulled up to the gate. The sounds of doors beening opened and closed all night long from the traffic was a bit much as well! I found hair products and ladies underwear in two drawers. Be sure to think this one over before you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Funlovinghusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I wanted to go to NOLA for the Saturday before the Superbowl to PARTY. Being military I have slept in some, should we say, not so pleasant places so my view may be skewed a bit, not that of an average person’s, but I will try my best.
Traveling as a solo male or a group of adults this isn't a bad place to use as a base camp. It is about 7 minutes east of the FQ by car off the highway. So you have to take a $20.00 taxi ride or pay to park. Depending on what’s going on and how far away from the FQ you want to park that can be anywhere from 0-$25.00.
The room was ok but I was only there for 5 hours to sleep. It was clean and the heater worked. It's not a place I would go if I was taking my family. There are no "restaurants" on that exit so you need to eat before you call it a day. They do have a “continental breakfast” but the gas station in front of the hotel has a little eatery that have very good breakfast biscuits at a reasonable price. But it’s not a restaurant.
The worst thing about this hotel “if” you are going to NOLA to party is the logistics it takes to get to the FQ if you don’t have a DD.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank handyman28560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

I've just stayed at the red carpet inn in New orleans for Mardi Gras 2007.
Well as you can imagine, New Orleans has been really affected by Katrina..So I wasn't waiting for a super hotel.
Moreover I booked late and prices in hotel were high because of Mardi Gras.So with 3 other folks we booked two nights at the red carpet.

First the neighbourhood is really hugly.From my hotel room you could see a big rusty plant.On the other side, you could see the motorway bridge going downtown.
Then the red carpet is a motel on a camping ground.So the parking was full of Winnebago camping cars,lol

Anyway, the motel itself was nearly new!
The room was big enough for 4 people and clean!
And it is about 5/10 minutes to the French quarter


So I recommend for young students with a car who need a place to sleep and don't want to pay much.
(we paid 99$ for 4 a night wich is correct for mardi gras period)
I don't recommend it for families or for a romantic gateway.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Sandra42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Dellamuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#140 of 166 in New Orleans
67 reviews
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#135 of 166 in New Orleans
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#117 of 166 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#104 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Royal Inn Of New Orleans
#144 of 166 in New Orleans
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites

Address: 6050 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $66 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel New Orleans
Red Carpet Inn And Suites
Red Carpet Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing