We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring some bubble bath and candles!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #121 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bring some bubble bath and candles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My girl friend was staying here for her birthday weekend, so I booked a room for myself. I stayed with her the first night since she had a room for 2 nights (her husband stayed the 2nd night) and had my own room for the 2nd night. I was hoping to get moved into my room early since I had a hangover; the front desk clerk, Rachel, promised to call when my room was available but never did.

The hotel is in a great location, as we walked to a variety of bars. There was an on-site bar with a good selection, great ambiance and fair pricing. The over-sized floor plan and modern decor of the rooms can't be beat. More toiletries could have been offered, but the Aveda quality products were appreciated.

We were able to get late night delivery from a local restaurant and the hotel offered Whole Foods snacks I could pickup at the desk or have sent to the room for an extra fee. Unfortunately, I found the snacks weren't available for pickup at the desk so I had them sent over from their sister hotel a block over with the room delivery fee. My only real compliant with this hotel was the mildew smell of the elevator and hallways (especially in the 4th floor hall).

Overall, I would love to stay here again (and bring my own bubble bath to really enjoy the big and beautiful tub)!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    69
    22
    22
    11
See reviews for
7
130
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

..... and friendly, comfortable and quiet! Great stay during jazz fest, perfect location, close to everything but allowing you to retreat for some shut-eye whenever you feel like it. Helpful and discreet staff, hip furniture, amazing bathroom... what's not to love?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at Loft 523 did not disappoint. Friendly staff and great accomodations round out this small boutique hotel just outside the French Quarter. The rooms are large with very high ceilings, huge windows and a contemporary "loft" style decor. Nice contrast to the usual NOLA hotel experience. I highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited in March 2014, a time of year when New Orleans is pleasantly cool for wandering and exploration. The hotel is in an excellent location for the central city and French Quarter. We had a junior suite: a large, minimally furnished room, but pleasant and comfortable. The staff were friendly, and helpful in giving city advice. The hotel has no restaurant, but a large and potentially very hip bar area. However with no indication on the outside that a comfortable bar is there, it was invariably empty. This may be by design, as staffing, like the room furnishings, is minimal. But a fine, cool, place to stay to explore this extraordinary city. We would go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for a pre- birthday/ and a wedding! I loved this location! Rooms are very spacious and bathrooms are huge. This is the hotel for you if you love modern spaces. Everything about the hotel screams modern. Platform bed is very comfortable, spoon tub was wonderful along with the shower. Room did not feel like a hotel room because of the space. Hotel was very quiet. Great location. Attractions and restaurants are all walking distance. Like others have posted, there is no sign outside so it maybe a little hard to find but once you are close you will know you are there. I would recommend Loft 523 to anyone who is looking for a different stay while in New Orleans. My only complaint which is small are since the doors are so heavy, you will be able to hear when other guest leave their rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room with the spoon tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sinarta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our room was wonderful. We loved the design of the room, it was so open and spacious. The bathroom was big with plenty of counter space. It was nice and quiet as well, though we visited in a slower time of year. The location was unbelievable. Walking distance to all the sights, and great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Our one-night stay here was very pleasant, with all as it should be -- clean room, quick service at the desk, and relative quiet.

As another reviewer noted, it did take a little doing to spy the street number, but it was easy once we saw the clear 520 address across the street. The name and number are cleverly spread out across the front of the building. Street parking is difficult here, but the hotel guest parking just up the street served well for unloading and leaving the car until the valet arrived.

The lobby, bar, and lounge were nicely decorated in the same taste as the rooms. The guy who checked us in was quick, efficient, and personable. The big elevator is great for those who may be laden with lots of bags!

The penthouse room was spacious, with ample area for the semi-separate sitting, working, and bed sections of the loft. The lighting from varied sources was moody but also adequate for real work if needed. Our room was situated away from the street, so we had zero street noise; however, the view was nothing to speak of. The bathroom was also large, with a grand tub and the double-headed shower noted on the website. The lack of door on the shower led to a wet floor, but a well-placed floor mat kept things mostly in check. There was plenty of space in the closet for a long stay. The bed was comfortable; I would have appreciated a warmer comforter, but one could raise the room temperature instead, I suppose. And the place had all the amenities I would expect, plus a pair of slippers to boot.

We would happily stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing