We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great if you are 20 and anything is cooler compared to your apartment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #121 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great if you are 20 and anything is cooler compared to your apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I spent one evening at the Loft 523 (we were supposed to stay for three). I knew the minute I walked in it wasn't for me. It is very minimalist - not warm or inviting at all. Our room was sparse with all concrete floors. The art was weird and even the bedding was on the minimal side. No duvet - just a sheet and a thin blanket. The curtains were see-through and the blinds on the 15 ft. tall windows did not block out the light at all. The only redeeming thing about the room was the bathroom - huge and very cool.

The decor was not the only thing I disliked. The room lacked lights, plugs, and the furnishings were dusty. To top it all off the room was quite noisy (second floor street facing) every truck that went by and their seemed to be a lot woke us up.

Lastly the halls smelled a bit musty/moldy - never a good sign.

To avoid losing our deposit on the room we asked to move to their parent property - The International House. Our stay there was much more comfortable!

Room Tip: avoid anything facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    69
    23
    22
    11
See reviews for
7
131
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Quiet area in NOLA just a couple blocks from the French Quarter. Very modern and cool atmosphere. Perfect for a nice getaway. This was our first trip there and we really liked the place. Surely we'll try to come back to Loft 523.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

If trendy minimalist is what you dig, then this place is for you! No name outside, just the subtle number "523" etched on to the door to the subtle smell in the lobby, the artistic chair and the large painting -- this place screams hip!! The rooms are large, large as are the bathrooms with double showers (we stayed in 4b). There is a new british team lounge (not associated with the hotel) on the ground floor which can be your last pit stop:) Its an easy walking distance from the FQ which can be a good thing if noise isn't your thing after a point. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loft 523 is certainly a place to stay if your interested in a convenient location but something out of the French Quarter turmoil (it's in the CBD between Canal and Poydras). First, if you're driving there, input the address into your phone navigator because, as others indicated, there is not sign and the address, 523, is difficult to locate. No big deal. Next, parking is non-existent while you're checking in unless you're lucky enough to find a place on the side of Gravier. If you do as we did, and park in front of the hotel, there is a fire hydrant which will result in a 40$ ticket from the independently contracted parking police (not a part of NOPD) who appear almost out of nowhere to give unsuspecting people parking tickets. Case in point -- I parked, walked in, and while I was checking in, a got a ticket. The wonderful person at the desk went outside to talk some sense into the "cop" but the "cop" would not listen. I got a ticket, but the hotel took care of it. Many thanks.
It's the little things that keep this hotel from being great, yet. One of the towel fixtures in our room was falling off the wall, which is easy enough to remedy, but it should have been done. Again, no big deal. When we checked in, there were no toiletries in the room. One call and less than five minutes later, we had all we needed. Again, not a big deal. The pocket door leading to the bathroom was not plumb so the door would not stay closed. A quick fix and certainly not a deal breaker, but these are the little things that hold the hotel back.
The staff is fantastic and extremely helpful, responsive, and informative. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable. The location can't be beat. The hotel was working on some sort of bar/lounge in the lobby when we were there. That addition will result in even higher ratings next time we stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lawilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which offers privacy near the French Quarter in NOLA. The rooms are modern and spacious, with concrete floors and large comfortable beds, There are very few services, no restaurant or bar, but the privacy more than makes up for that. And there are loads of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luluwc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had such a wonderful time at this hotel.. The staff was great, the hotel was clean and the room I stood in was sound proof (suite with patio).. The hotel was right across the street from a bar that stays open 23hrs a day...there is only one concern the hotel wasa little hard to find and parking to check in was extremely hard.. But non the less, I had a wonderful stay everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devildoc8404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Loft 523 last year. Our room was huge, luxurious and beautifully appointed. The location on Gravier was perfect for us - close enough to walk to the French Quarter but far enough to escape the noise. The hotel is tiny, with a plain exterior, and sort of tucked away on a quiet street. The lobby has a peaceful atmosphere that feels like a refuge from the city, and that feeling extends to the rooms as well. The weather was so hot during our stay, we kept going back to the room to cool down and it was so relaxing that we always ended up lounging longer than we had planned. The front desk staff were fabulous when we had questions about the city (our first time in NOLA). We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing