We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loft 523 New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$238
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$384
$328
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$249
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$367
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$385
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$272
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$363
$287
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$249
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$332
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
132
79
26
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
79
26
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinternational housesister hotelcopper doorboutique hotelfrench quartermodern roomswarehouse districtwater pressurelarge roomhotel roomthird floorsmall hotelsmall refrigeratorquiet streetbathroom floorfront desk staffbourbon street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 270 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary at Loft 523 in New Orleans, and I must say it was the most unique and amazing place we've ever stayed. The modern, minimalist decor echo what you might expect in an Architectural Digest layout. The staff were great, and we felt like the only guests there. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husand and I stayed at Loft 523 this past weekend. We made reservations based on the positive reviews, however it would have been a good idea to listen to the negative for a clear picture. We were in the big easy for Tulane University move-in day and we wanted to stay in a cool hotel close to the FQ. Honestly, we were thoroughly disappointed. Here's what we experienced:

Overpowering musty smell in elevator, room, hallway
very dirty concrete floor in room
uncomfortable bed and bedding, chair and small couch in room
no refill of shampoo/conditioner/soap
closed bar (not just temporarily)
window, but only to see surrounding buildings
long wait to get anything - car from valet, ice and extra bedding delivered to room
no street number or name of hotel - has a copper door

nice front lobby staff (one at desk at most times)
very small property - 17 rooms and little to no amenities, large sized room

Apparently, we should have tried their other property - The International House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and were not disappointed! I wouldn't call this a "luxury" hotel but it is definitely spacious and has a great vibe! With high ceilings, plenty of open space, a comfy bed and a huge bathroom, it met our every need. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, it is a little tricky to find and parking can be a bear, but it's worth the extra effort and the valet service is fine. We didn't notice any of the noise some of the older reviews mentioned, but the bar in the lobby was being remodeled when we were there (even so, it's New Orleans! Who cares about a little noise??). We walked to the French Quarter (Bourbon Street) and back without any difficulty. The one thing we'd recommend to hotel management is: install adjustable shower heads. Loved the shower; hated the shower heads. All-in-all, we are looking forward to staying with you again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarpeDiemViEtVirtute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Loft 523 is in the perfect spot (close to Canal street, Harrah's and pretty much everything happening in THE BIG EASY!!! The discreet location was ideal. The penthouse was completely off the chain. The view was breath taking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwilliams02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Loft 523 is ultra modern, a hidden Gem in NOLA! We loved it and would come back here for sure!!!

It's a bit hard to find but once you find it the lobby is modern with slate through out the lobby, reclaimed wood, modern art. The rooms are awesome!!! Polished concrete, very large and open , with platform bed, a desk, nice size love seat, beautiful bathroom with a large walk in shower.

The only negative is no room service , no bars or restaurants in the hotel . It however is surrounded by a ton of great restaurants and bars. Walking distance to Bourbon street , aquarium , casino, royal street with great art galleries and farmers market.

I have to admit that bourbon street is a bit trashy and I loved every other destination except for bourbon street. We ate @ Pat Obrians which is a classic and a must! I
Highly recommend the Hurricane ;). Don't go to bourbon street with young kids! Strippers walking on the street trying to get you to come in for a private show.... Yikes!!!!

Love New Orleans, people are great, fun energetic city , the art is amazing, music is fantastic! So glad I came and so happy we stayed @ Loft 523!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews