We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #120 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rip Off!!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

The location is good. The hotel itself is nice, has a cool vibe. The staff is a bit snooty and awkward. They're not very good at making you feel welcome here, or at the International House. But my BIGGEST complaint is the $60.00 hidden charges, that you are NOT made aware of until after you check in and they swipe your card! And don't plan on getting that money back until after you check out.(try like a week later) I also was charged $200.00 dollars on a bogus smoking accusation. And nobody would/could help me aside from the general manager who wasn't even available until the day we checked out. She wouldn't even confront us in person she had her front desk staff give me a reciept stating that the charge had been refunded. And then an hour later as I'm sitting in the lobby of her hotel, she calls my cell phone to let me know. The place is a joke and a rip off!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kellyrenee0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    78
    25
    22
    11
See reviews for
10
141
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've had some real disappointments in NOLA hotels -- but was very happy with Loft 523. It's a small little modern boutique hotel. They do have room service and a bar one block over at a sister property, so it's almost like you're staying in a little apartment building. Front desk staff were all very friendly and provided concierge type services. The space was excellent. Minimal, comfortable, high ceilings, big windows, comfy bed - sofa, huge bathroom with double-headed shower. I would def stay here again. Location was also great - CBD, a couple blocks from the quarter, close access to streetcars into garden district. This place is modern -- not for those looking for antebellum New Orleans

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet, yet close to the French Quarter, hotel this is the place for you! The rooms are very clean and modern and the staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel doesn't have any fancy amenities, no pool, no downstairs bar, but no fuss! Room Service is available from the neighboring International House. The French Quarter/Bourbon is an easy walking distance and the only noise you will hear at night are few and far between people walking on the street below. They also lock the doors at night with room key only front door access so it's very private. My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights for the Crescent City Classic. My only complaint would be the bathroom and bedroom has very low lighting. It was a little difficult to put on makeup but otherwise this hotel was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emihole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at Loft 523 for 5 nights during the Final Four. Overall, we had a great experience with the staff- most were very attentive and went out of the way to help us during our time there. The rooms were very sleek, modern, and sexy. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shormk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Loft 523 two weeks ago. We loved it. Not only is it cool but it is in a great location. Just a block from Canal and the French Quarter but QUIET so you can get some rest after all the fun.

The hotel is really a loft space. I've lived in lofts before and wish mine were as nice. It is VERY CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED. The loft was HUGE as well at 600 square feet. The bathroom was spotless, large and the double shower was perfect. You won't find in any other room in NOLA that large without paying suite prices. Speaking of price...it's a bargain for what you get.

The staff was very helpful and accomodating as we had weird arrival and departure hours. They made several restaurant recommendations including Jon Besh's Luke which is two blocks away as well as Felix's for the best oysters in town (three blocks away).

We have found our new favorite place to stay in New Orleans and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We really enjoyed the hotel. It is a very quiet and quaint hotel with easy access to all the hot areas in New Orleans and the river. It is also really close to the trolley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you're looking for a low key, modern, boutique hotel in a great location, this is the spot. Just read the other reviews. The good ones are true.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwringger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#92 of 164 in New Orleans
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#79 of 164 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing