We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic getaway right in the CBD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loft 523 New Orleans
Ranked #124 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Fantastic getaway right in the CBD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This property is owned by the International House and is right around the corner on Gravier. It looks like a condo/loft building from the outside and is very quiet and low-key. You get access to the International House gym. Very modern and clean and felt like it was our own loft apartment. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    71
    23
    22
    11
See reviews for
7
133
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you like sleek, small boutique hotels, ones that go against the grain of the large mega-hotels that you find in many cities, there's a lot to like about Loft 523.

The first is it's location. Only two blocks from the French Quarter, the location couldn't have been more perfect for us. We were close to the action, but not in the thick of it, which is exactly what we wanted. We were also within walking distance of some great restaurants, including Herbsaint on St. Charles, which I highly recommend, and we were able to walk from the Garden District back to the hotel one afternoon. Again, the location was a big plus for us.

The second is the size and look of the rooms. We had the deluxe room, which had huge windows and a high ceiling, concrete floors and a really nice, lofty feeling that we loved. Our bed was super comfy and the music system was very cool (bring an IPOD, if you have one). And our shower, with dual shower heads, was massive.

The third aspect, which is always a big plus, was cleanliness. Our room was spotless and housekeeping did a great job everyday.

The downside - and for me this is a big one - was noise.

Like many other reviewers noted, there is a club on the ground floor of the hotel, right off the lobby that's open several days a week, including weekends. Our room was on the fourth floor, but we could still hear the music and feel the thump of the bass into the wee hours of the morning. We could also hear noise from those who had stepped outside to smoke.

Luckily, I had read reviews that mentioned the noise issue before heading to NOLA, so I brought ear plugs with me; and I'm glad I did. I used them two out of the three nights we were there. But, honestly, who wants to put in ear plugs when you're paying $130+ a night for a room? It was manageable, but certainly not ideal. And given just how small the hotel is (18 rooms) the music and noise has no place to go but up to the rooms, which is too bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Mid week stay in in the 'noisy room' which was not too bad as the bar was only opened for one of the nights for what seemed a private party - noise that night could be heard but not too bad if you go out yourself plus note Arlin the Courbet still honoured our $50 bar tab which was good as hotel bar not available. Staff unfortunately did sometimes seem a tad disinterested in clients except for last day for lady - sorry did not get you name who helped with taxi and bags on our departure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphira07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The reviews are correct in that the club downstairs is bumping late at night, but I requested a room on the top floor and neither my friend or I noticed the noise at all when we were in our room. Granted - we both live in the city and are used to sleeping through city noise. I liked the location and the ambience. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Service received was above what was expected,,staff was knowledgable about area,restaurants & very helpful with request..
hotel was very romantic & sheek, bring bubble bath awsome tub....

....... areunvus@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitneynolagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hip, modern design with huge rooms and luxurious bath.
Downtown location makes it an easy walk to the French Quarter, yet it's away from the crowds.
Very easy, relaxed, modern and cool.
Only drawback there are no services:
No restaurant, no room service, just basic great style.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is really a cool place, with great rooms and bathrooms large and awesome. Stayed here a few times, but will have to strongly reconsider next time. The "music system" was broken and dirty in all of the rooms we stayed in (we moved at least twice). The little things have not had attention paid to them - the sort of things that are easy to do, like remotes that work and things being clean. The real issue here is noise. This place is tucked away on a side street that seems like the perfect place to get away. But the nightclub below is preposterously loud, and goes on for the better part of the night. You cannot sleep, even after being out yourself and being tired. There were no rooms we moved to that didn't vibrate with a constant base that couldn't be covered up, even with earplugs. We were moved to the top far end of the hotel and still heard and felt it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#68 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Property: Loft 523 New Orleans
Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing