We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FQ Tour January 31st”
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
Ranked #1 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present the only name-your-own-price New Orleans tours. Learn much more than just Bourbon Street on our French Quarter Tour, about the well-heeled and their mansions on our Garden District Tour. Learn about New Orleans peculiar burial grounds on our St. Louis Cemetery #1 Tour. Foodies will love our food tours and everyone will get spooked on our New Orleans ghost tours. We now also offer bike tours and soon photography and bus tours. You decide what a tour was worth after the tour is finished. Pay-what-you-like tours are great tours for every budget.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“FQ Tour January 31st”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved this tour. Saw quite a bit in the 2 hours. Never would have been able to do it on our own. Joanne was fabulous. Very knowledgeable and had great insight and recommendations. While there was a lot of history being delivered she did so in a way that was very easy to follow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PsB1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,988
    342
    45
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We took 3 different tours with Free tours by foot. The Cemetary and Graden District, The French Quarter, and the Ghost Tour. All 3 were great. All of the guides were exceptional. I will be going to Washington D.C. in April and am thrilled that Free Tours by Foot has tours there as well. We will be booking again !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8secondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best tour I've ever taken”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend and I took the Garden District tour with Sarah. There were about 10 people in our group. Although I went with a friend, there was a woman who was alone, a few couples, and a family. This tour really is good for everyone except those who cannot walk on sometimes uneven ground for two hours. Sarah was great. She was friendly and knowledgeable. She had the correct balance of personal stories, history and current gossip. You could tell she truly loved New Orleans and all of the experiences she has had in the city. This tour seemed original and real, not like a tour that she gives the same speech to 10 times a week. These tour guides work solely for your tips. If they give you a good tour, you give them a good tip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LifeofLauren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“French Quarter Tour”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great way to learn a lot of the history and background that makes sense to the eclectic mix of architecture styles found in the quarter. Also filled with facts about many of the buildings in the Quarter, history of the city and it's people, explanation of the festival, many other tidbits and tourist tips. Well worth the $20 tip for a 1hr 45 min tour. Joanne even told us where we could find bathrooms--trust me, public toilets are not easy to locate in this city!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Joanne was great!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Joanne was very nice and laid back. She was so helpful and informative. Wish we saw more. But, good for people who don't want to walk a long tour.

Helpful?
Thank aleedol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing