We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #66 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights recently and it was a very pleasant stay. The breakfast buffet was adequate but it would have been nice to have some items that are typical to a New Orleans breakfast. The staff was very friendly and was always willing to assist especially Tequila a hostess at the Vitascope Hall. With respect to the provision of toiletries there is much room for improvement here as frequent calls to housekeeping had to be made. Wi Fi should be available free in the room thank God there was a Starbucks in the hotel. The French Quarter is a little distance away about 15 mins walk. Overall I had a good stay. Would recommend for business trips. When going on vacation I would recommend a boutique type hotel where service is a little more intimate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,938)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,930 - 2,936 of 3,939 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hyatt for 5 nights to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. After a long flight from UK we got a taxi from airport very quick & easy (cost 40 dollars including tip) to the Hyatt. Already knew it was a large hotel from previous reviews but was still surprised at size. Check in was very easy & quick for us (we arrived at 6pm) we were offered upgrade at discount price but declined this. Although I had previously emailed hotel with various enquires & told them about the 50th birthday I was disappointed my husbands birthday was not mentioned at check in not even a happy birthday?? Our room was on the 23rd floor, yes you have to go up 2 escalators to get to lifts but this was not an issue. Using touchpad for lifts was also not a problem for us, we had 8 lifts to choose from so it was good to know which lift to was going to come 1st. Room was good size bathroom little small but ok. Bourbon St is about a 15 minute walk away & we walked this every day & night. We were in New Orleans same time as the Jazz Festival so very busy. We did not us gym or pool but had view of pool & it was being used by a few people/families. Bar area was nice to stop for cocktail & chat. Never used restaurants. We did use room service for my husbands birthday breakfast. Ordered via the TV which was easy to use. Food was good & hot. Only disappointment was that we did not have a table in our room to eat from so ended up sitting on bed to eat breakfast. Not much outside hotel, we did find supermarket nearby (stock our fridge with a few beers & bottle of champagne) & couple of bars across the street which we used during our stay. Beer in Irish bar (think it was called Happys) brunch in Little Gem on Sunday (trio jazz band play while you eat) & dinner in the sports bar Walk On on our last night & all were good. Check out again was easy & quick. Got taxi from outside hotel back to airport very easily. All in all a good stay but would stay closer to French Quarter if we were to return,.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago while my husband was in the hospital at Tulane. Great staff, room was great. The night before my husband surgery we had wanted to eat at the vitascope hall but it was packed, and he wasn't feeling well. So we tried to order and then pick it up but we were unable to get anyone to answer the phone. I called in room dining and they not only took our order but walked it over to the restaurant and then had them call our room when it was ready. They didn't have to do this. But it really helped us out. Definitely a good place to stay under not so great circumstances. Hopefully the next time will be a pleasure trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I was staying here for a conference. I stayed for 5 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. I slept great throughout the five nights I stayed here. The gym is good, opened 24hrs, helped me get over the jet lag. The breakfast buffet is nice and the service is great. I like the fact that they have a Starbucks inside the hotel.
The bad points is that it is a 15mins walk to the French quarter and around the hotel there are not too much dining options so I have to walk out to the French quarter for dinner. Also, they don't provide all the normal amenities/toiletries when I first checked in and have to ask house keeping for all the things I needed (i.e. slippers, toothbrush etc.). But they were very helpful in providing everything when I asked.
One last thing is that in-room WiFi is not free and would be better if it was free considering this is a business hotel and most of the first would like to work in the room.
Overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank lamchops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was in the hotel from March 22 to march 26, 2014
My company choose the hotel for "2014 Convention" Everything was amazing.
The food excellent! The rooms very comfy! All the party very well organized.
It is a place to recommend!!

Room Tip: The highest room are the better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haidee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is quite impressive by it's size and the design. The lobby is beautifully furnished. It is modern, jazzy, nice restaurant, lounge, bar in the building. Perfumed entrance and high technology. You have to take 2 escalator and elevator to get to your room, make sure to have rolling luggage! They have a Starbuck in the building....but be patient, it's crazy busy in the morning..especially on the weekend as this hotel host lots and lots of conferences.

Unfortunately, it takes a good 15 minutes just to check -in and have some service in the evening at the front desk. Their concierge are efficient during the day but not in service after 8 pm, even during the French Quarter music festival.

There was only 2 glasses to drink from in a 2 queens size bedroom, the usual non drinkable free coffee and only plastic coffee travel mug. You have to go and turn on every light one by one. Some rooms have no balcony and they won't let you know, so if it's important...mention it while doing your reservation. They have paid parking and taxi at the door all the time.
The bar/lounge in the atrium is great looking, always busy and quite noisy since it's an echo open place.

The most disappointing fact is the housekeeping and the cleanness of the rooms. It's shining the taps, wiping the tub empty trash ( they don't use bags in the cans....but don't wipe the trash canes either. The glass top of all furniture were not wipes, some sticky and some stuff stuck on it.The shampoo and stuff are below average quality. The sheets..well, I slept on top the first night and pay to get them change the next night and ended up with ripped sheets, stained pillow top. Their pillows are hard as a rock...just so you know.
The salt water pool is beautiful, plenty of chairs and good free towels provided. Service only at the lovely bar. For breakfast, they have a buffet on the weekend at the 8 blocks restaurant...nice, generous, brunch, cheeses, pastry...lots of it, little jam jar on the table...but $30 each.
So overall nice hotel to make you feel fancy...but basic clean, good location

Room Tip: Request a balcony rooms if you really want one.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantalee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

breakfast was superb, good location, nice room though it also had 'scenting' The scent system salesman must have paid off a buyer to install that system, We had 100 in our group, many suffered.
e had to run through the lobby but at that 1/4 mile to the room elevators, we could not do it in one breath.
Mystery elevators - great for exercise! we kept going above and below our floors, finally ran out to use the stairs. On the last day we discovered the employee and service elevator with real buttons and no trip through the perfumery.
Please get a grip on these issues and don't wow us with gizmos and experiments with our noses.

Room Tip: check the smell All rooms should be fine for location quiet ice ma chine was a plus we usually av...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,457 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#84 of 165 in New Orleans
2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 165 in New Orleans
3,481 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $145 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing