We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and the hotel was very busy. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I sat at the bar on the 3rd floor and watched baseball one night and the bartenders were nice also. The only problem we had was our room was not cleaned for the last night of our stay. Consequently we didn't have any clean towels or shampoo for the next morning. We called down to have that brought up and they only brought the towels and had to make a return trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EricaOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    1,085
    569
    273
    127
See reviews for
436
591
74
1,765
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay here. The hotel was full of college students as it was the weekend of the LSU/FL game. It took a while to check in but once to our room it was a very nice corner room overlooking the Super Dome. The bad thing with this room is that you can here everything outside such as cars and trains. Otherwise it was nice. We were just not as close to everything as we usually are when we travel to New Orleans.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysideoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to say enough about the campus itself. Enormous. Several restaurants, very large fitness center, beautiful lobbies, spaces. Sadly, though we booked weeks in advance, when we arrived they were overbooked and we had to stay at a nearby Hilton they partnered with. The staff was very apologetic and the manager himself came out and apologized. He promised to pay for the night we were bumped and to put us in a large suite our final two nights. True to his word, when we returned the next day we were given the largest room I've ever stayed in. Staff was very helpful, at all levels, and eager to make up the mistake. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived late at night after a long drive across Texas and into Louisiana. They were kind and let us find our room on our own. This was definitely a first class 4 star hotel. I loved it. The TV's in the room were a little difficult to figure out however, it was nice not to see so much wasted paper around the room. Great hotel, great location. I would have to say the only thing that was a little strange was how BIG the hotel was. There were 4 restaurants and two bars. I felt like it was an airport at times. Other then that, a great nights sleep. Beds were very comfortable as well.

Room Tip: I believe that the higher floors have the best view. When choosing a room make sure you choose to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minkewaleveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay while you travel to New Orleans, especially when you are gonna watch a Saints game. The Super Dome is just next door. This hotel is a huge complex, it takes some walk from the lobby to the elevators. The restaurant and bar is good. However, this hotel is kind of far from French quarter. It's not walking distance, you gotta to have a car or hail a cab. The valet parking is expensive, just like all the other hotels in downtown New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
235 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel looks amazing as it is a huge tower and internally it is in a U-shape empty in the middle with corridors and rooms on every floor with an amazing view down to the front desk and with the fourth side of the tower made of steel and glass, look at my pictures!

Food is outstanding in all restaurants on third level and personnel is very kind and ready to assist and help.

The hotel is about 10-15min walk from the French quarters and with nice weather you can enjoy the way till Bourbon street.

There is an excellent shuttle bus that serves all hotels from the airport and the Hyatt is the very first stop, so the shortest route and almost as fast as by taxi but 30-40% cheaper!

The Hyatt is indeed perfectly located!

Initially I was in room 762 in the northwing tower, a separate and older building connected to the rest of the complex via a bridge on level 3. The room was spacious with very confortable double queen beds, coffee brewer, good quality audio alarm with ipad dock connector, tv, working table, etc.

Nevertheless, I have been very very unlucky with my stay.

The A/C is one of those old systems under the window, very very noisy when on.

Every morning at 7am sharp there were construction works just outside my window on the side facing the Mercedes Dome. Not sure if on the roof of a building from the same hotel complex or a different one, anyway I was staying at the hotel for a conference in that venue and, given my sessions were starting at 9am, I wanted to sleep a bit longer and recover from the jetlag. Impossible, 7am sharp and all sort of noise was starting out of my window, hammers, electrical saws, aweful. Got a nice picture of them, posted here...

Then one morning while sitting at the desk and browsing my emails, I noticed something crawling on the desk itself and running under my laptop... SHOCK!!! a cockroach..... smashed and killed it, then took another picture for this review....

Went straight down to the lobby and asked for a new room. The receptionist apologised and offered a room in a much higher level in the new main tower and also a small coupon to spend in the local shops. Done deal, I headed to the new room: 2408.

The new room was as spacious and as decorated as the previous in the older tower, same style, same table, same tv, same iphone docking alarm clock, all the same but the A/C system not anymore an old one under the window but a new one in the ceiling by the entrance door. Great.

The new room sounded so quiet that I was eager to sleep... but then bad luck jumped in again... by the time I went to bed I realised there was a continuous intermittent noise, like an elevator engine starting and then stopping after about 10s with a "wwoooomph" noise. Aaaarrggghhhh.... but there were no elevators near by, how was that possible??? I realised in the morning that just next to my room there was not another regular room but a big double door leading to a personnel-only place. The noise was coming from there, surely there is some kind of goods-lift.

Room Tip: avoid the northwing tower (or at least its lower floors and rooms facing the Dome) due to the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall very comfortable and gym up on 32 floor over looks the Mercedes Super dome. Nice restaurants within the hotel and walking distances to mother's restuarant and rouses super market. I like it! Xxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucythewolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing