We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Super Dome game” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Super Dome game”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked rooms at the Hyatt Regency because we got a discounted travel rate to watch our local football team play in the Super Dome. The location is perfect for walking to the game and around town. We ate at the Vitascope Hall and had drinks at the bar. The service was great. We especially enjoyed the service from Eugene and enjoyed a very insightful conversation with him. We did have a single cup coffee maker in the room and coffee supplies, although after reading the reviews before the trip I had packed my own coffee maker and supplies. When we first arrived we were missing the shower curtain in our room. I called guest services and had one delivered and installed within 10 minutes. My only complaint was the $10 daily charge for in room wireless internet, which I think should be included in the price of such a luxury hotel. The elevators were easy to operate (in spite of what I had read). Since we parked in the Girod Street parking garage we entered the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had to carry our luggage down the escalator to the lobby to check in, then back up the escalator two floors to the elevator on the 3rd floor. The hotel looks new and very modern. Our room was very clean and quiet. We would stay again to attend a game at the super dome.

Room Tip: Park around the corner in Girod Street parking garage, which has elevator to 2nd floor of hotel. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobilesteelerectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    1,085
    569
    273
    127
See reviews for
436
591
74
1,765
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention for almost a week. The room and location was fantastic and check in and out was extremely simple. Only issue was that there is no business center for the hotel. There is a fed ex that charges. Also the hotel is extremely maze like!!!! So it can be very difficult to navigate but after a few tries you seem to find your way ok. Other than that things were great. Great for partying or family time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crussell02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I went to New Orleans for a wedding and we found a deal on a travel site for $95 dollars a night a month prior to our trip.I want to clear that up because I have no idea how much a regular night in this room costs. When we got to the hotel we pulled to the front and parked, and later our vehicles were valet parked and the bellhops took our luggage out of the car and brought it into the hotel for us. Upon walking into the lobby we noticed how great it smelled. I told my nephew as we walked in "This place smells rich!" lol. The lobby was spacious and beautiful. I pulled out my tablet and started taking pictures, and also was able to access their Wi-Fi in the lobby. Once we got assigned our room, the bell hop took us on a journey up to our room on the 24th floor. We went up an escalator up to the 2nd floor, then up another escalator to the 3rd floor. We passed some restaurants, a bar, a club, and there was also a "convenience store" inside. We accessed the elevator by swiping our key and was directed to wait at a certain elevator, and it opened. Once on the elevator we noticed that it was glass,so we could see everyone on the way up. It went very fast,so it did not take long to get to our room. We walked in the room and there were 2 full sized beds, a nightstand with a radio,a long table, a desk with a flat screen "Smart TV" on it, and a wonder view of the city.Room Service is also available at this hotel, and there is a mini fridge available in the room. Now there were some things that I noticed that may make some people not give the hotel an "excellent" rating. First Wi-Fi is NOT available in the room for free. You can access it in the lobby and at Starbucks on the 3rd floor at no cost,but in the room, for standard use it is $9.95.The room size itself was a little small, compared to some cheaper hotels that I have been to.The room was really cold,then it would get hot again,I think it is because of where the vent was positioned on the wall.If you have a problem walking long distances,this may not be the hotel for you, because it is massive!!And the "convenience store" had some outrageous prices for bottled water $4.00, and a little bag of chips was like 2-3 dollars. The good thing is there is a "Rouses" supermarket right down the street,so if you stop over there and stock up on beverages and snacks before you get to the hotel, you will be fine. I did not eat in any of the restaurants in the hotel,so I am not sure what the prices or quality of the food is.I know that one of the eateries is not open at all on the weekend.The hotel offers access to their workout room and a full sized pool,which since I told yall in my previous review that I was a "fattie", neither one of these were of intrest to me! Overall I had a wonderful experience and cannot wait to go back. If the regular price of the hotel rooms is not in your budget, I would suggest you go on Orbitz, Bookit,or Expedia to get a rate that may be more affordable.I think you will have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent 6 days at this very lush hotel for a conference. Place was huge and elegant. Easy access to French Quarter and other amenities. Food in individual breakout sessions was good but buffet food was so so. Cons: rooms were freezing, lines in all restaurants were very very long, price for items such as water $4 candy bar $3 was way to much

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed. This hotel is very big. It reopened in 2011 and it is modern with very nice and spacious rooms. It's a bit nicer than your standard chain hotel.

The layout is a bit confusing. It's hard to find your way in and out. When I stayed, the Starbucks was overwhelmed with very, very long lines. The shop around the corner was a good alternative when I just didn't want to wait. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Housekeeping was very good, with plenty of towels. Water pressure was poor. It would have been nice to have a towel rack in the bathroom.

This hotel is right next to the Superdome, so keep in mind it will be full of people partying after the game. On the plus side, they were much more polite than Giants fans. I'm from NJ, so I speak from experience.

If I was visiting as a tourist, I would pick a hotel closer to the French Quarter. For business travel, this is a good pick, with good wifi and very comfortable rooms. It's also very clean and well-maintained.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PVH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is our second viist to the Hyatt Regency New Orleans near the SuperDome.
It is a big busy hotel but from the time you arrive in your car, limo or bus from the airport, there are plenty of personnel to greet you, get your bags out of the car and keep you moving to check-in.
Despite the many many people to check in, again enough personnel to get you checked in and moving through the big big beautiful lobby and up to your rooms.
I like the elevator system where you swipe your key and it sends you to an elevator bank to your room floor area. In that way, there are not people roaming all over the place just people in you room area.
Speaking of the room, they are first class. Big televisions and most of your operations can be accessed from the television system.
This time we were on the 15th floor with a great grand view of a wide area. The only slight problem was we were across from the SuperDome and they were having an event in the morning and we heard them.
But, I did not want to give up my view!!!
The train to the French Quarter is out from and for $3 you can get an all day pass. You could not get loss.
Everybody is very friendly always giving you directions if you feel lost.
When in New Orleans, I would like to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Think about if you want to be on the side of the SuperDome. They might be having an event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lccalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had problems with the housekeeping staff (room wasn't made up when we checked in0 our room. Housekeeper said she'd ne there right away but no show. Front desk staff were great; helped us change rooms.

The elevators were designed by MC Escher; it took a few days to sort them out!

Pillows were very large and hard. Ended up not using them.

Location not so great for me. I walk with crutches so the French Quarter required a cab. That said, most places we went were reasonable cab fares.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipmunkTaos_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing