We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous! Just not necessary'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enormous! Just not necessary'”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt Regency is an enormous hotel, set about 2 blick from the Superdome, on outskirts of downtown. You take two different sets of escalators and walk 100 yards to get from the front desk to the room elevators, which i thought was ridiculous and unnecessary. That having been said, the rooms are clean, the front desk service was professional, although not in the guft shop (staffed with locals) and the restaurants are competent. The facilities are fine, but again, you feel like you are staying in a shopping mall that could be anywhere on the planet. If you are planning on spending time in the Quarter, you should I choose something else. And, if you are looking for New Orleans charm, this isn't your spot! Being a local, I would know!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Terri D,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I truly apologize that your stay was not what you expected, but we do hope that you would give us another opportunity to show you a better time in the future.

Best Wishes,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    1,148
    612
    294
    134
See reviews for
474
622
77
1,926
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

20 minutes to get the car through valet parking, the only other option is $27 for parking that is not in and out. The front desk tried to put us in a room with one bed when we booked one with two and ask for 'proof' before they would give us what we paid for. Luckily we printed out our reservation.

You take two escalators and walk across an entire floor to get the the elevators. There are 8 of them but you have to scan your room key and it will tell you which elevator to take. This left everyone waiting for one elevator while the other 7 were barely used. You cannot enter a floor once you get in so there is no way around waiting 20 minutes for the elevator.

The room was clean but small. No microwave.

We were in the 6th floor and could still hear music all night.

Even the Starbucks inside is a cluster. We asked for spoon and they didn't give it so we had to endure the elevator situation again to go back. We got oatmeal and they didn't include the nuts and fruit that are suppose to go with it. Elevators again. No apology.

I live in Baton Rouge so I come to NOLA often. This is a hotel that could be anywhere and does not represent New Orleans at all.

Save your money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcoll23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I usually love Hyatt Hotels. Hyatt should take the name off this one. Our room was small, no storage space, no ability ( said staff) to change room... Despite expecting to be here 6 nights! Mold in the shower, lights needing to be replaced, keys did not work. And all this in addition to a location far from French Quarter. The hotel is huge (HUGE) - next to SuperDome Stadium. I think that folks thought that anyone who stayed here may be here to go to a football game and maybe do not care about cleanliness, service, or even sheets that fit the bed. We tried to talk to manager ( twice now) , but that did not help. So-- stay somewhere else. Sorry Hyatt... This is your worst hotel, and the folks that run this place either do not care or do not get it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trythis-maybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Trythis-maybe,

Thank you for your review. We are always striving to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and nothing helps to achieve that goal more than your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations, but with your feedback I'm sure we will continue to improve and exceed your expectations the next time you allow us to welcome you into the hotel. Please feel free to email me directly at whitley.donsereaux@hyatt.com with any additional comments or if there is anything you'd like to discuss further.

Thank you,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is an enormous hotel, set in the outer part of downtown near the Super Dome. You take two different sets of escalators and walk 100 yards to get from the front desk to the room elevators. That having been said, the rooms are clean, the service is professional, although not warm and the restaurants are competent. The facilities are fine, but again, you feel like you are staying in a shopping mall that could be anywhere on the planet. If you are planning on spending time in the Quarter, or downtown, I would pick something else. And, if you are looking for New Orleans charm, this isn't your spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear jeff3545,

We sincerely thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your recent stay with us didn't meet your expectations. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly at whitley.donsereaux@hyatt.com.

Best Wishes,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived before noon. Room was made available at 8pm.
Breakfast ($20 for a not-amazing buffet) is served in a large space with plenty of seats. Somehow, they managed to stack up 20 minutes worth of customers.
Food at sports bar on 3rd floor is good, although it is quite loud.
Elevator arrangement is kind of neat.
About a 15 min walk down lafayette street to the convention center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerfromrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear travelerfromrockville,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I deeply apologize that your experience at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to email me directly at whitley.donsereaux@hyatt.com if there is anything you'd like to discuss further. We do hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, very nice hotel as are most Hyatt hotels. Room was nicely done, liked having a Starbucks on-site. The Block 8 restaurant was best meal I had (lunch buffet) while in NOLA. The layout is a bit inconvenient (you can't get to room floors from the lobby - have to go up to 2nd or 3rd floor) but once you get used to it it is not a problem.

Checkout was efficient - they had a staff person with an iPad outside the conference area on our last day who could check you out and show/email your bill. Nice touch. Only disappointment was the lack of a complimentary business center for printing - had to use the FedEx office (which was also onsite)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCR-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear SRandolph,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your lunch at 8 Block. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Best Wishes,
Lauren C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hyatt is a beautiful hotel and the location is great if you plan to spend time in the Superdoom area. Check in was good, ROOM WAS VERY SMALL FOR THE PRICE. We had a queen and had maybe two feet on each side of the bed to the walI. Sink in the bathroom is small and the faucet sits so far back that you can't help but get water all over the back splash. It's poorly designed, but I think it's because the bathroom is small to begin with.
I'm sure there are larger rooms, but we didn't go to New Orleans to sit in the room, so I didn't ask for a bigger room. I just feel for the price, I shouldn't have been given a small room to begin with.
There were no bottles of water the room, or glasses when we arrived, I had to ask for it. We had to use bottled water to brush our teeth becasue New Orleans was having a water problem and that prompted me to look for water in the first place.
Check out was a disaster as none of the six check in/check out computers were working. Waited at least 15 min. to get a printed receipt.
I would stay here again only if I needed to be the area, otherwise I would look for a downtown hotel.
Also the Loyola trolly is a waste of time. Poorly run, never on time. We thought we would use the trolly instead of paying $20. taxi fare to get downtown. That never happened! We waitied one time over 45 min. for the trolly before finally taking a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNI047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear PNI047,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Please feel free to email me directly at whitley.donsereaux@hyatt.com if you have any additional comments or to further discuss your stay.

Best Wishes,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
2,792 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,428 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing