We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #61 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haynesville, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The hotel with everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for a city feel inside of a hotel this is the place to be. Everything from live performances, dancing, festive music, great food, smooth drinks, ornate in every aspect, elevators with a panoramic view, combos and bands playing a variety of tunes... This is it!

Room Tip: Our room provided a view of the city that faced the Mercedez-Benz Super Dome. I watched dogs and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    884
    452
    213
    93
See reviews for
334
477
63
1,304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great job with the remodeling. Very nice and modern atmosphere. Stayed there 25 years ago and it was memorable then. Now more modernized and very open with a stylish feel. Only problem was with checking in. Very crowded entrance. But other than that its a very nice place and I highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnlsoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rather be in WDW
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The service was great. Staff was very friendly. We stayed in the regency club room & enjoyed the offerings in the club. Coffee machine is great.

Room was a little small, but we were just there one night.

Would definitely stay again. AAA helped on the rate - which was still a little high.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wow! For a large convention type of hotel that was jam packed all weekend, the service was amazing! The fabulous in-house reservationist, the front desk clerk, & concierge made my stay perfect! Everyone was helpful, hotel was clean, elevators ran smoothly, and you cannot beat the location if you are attending an event at the Superdome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982KarlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

In for a conference .. great hotel new elevator system which seems to be really efficient .. bar on the 3rd floor really SLOW service, room was clean and comfortable convention rooms very nice

internet package very expensive

Room Tip: try to get one facing the benz center preferably in the corner where there is a second door .. block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drterry2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel looks great but is highly disorganized, especially the front desk and billing departments.
I booked a three-night stay for a conference in September and prepaid on hotels.com. When I arrived, the front desk said they did not have a record of my reservation and my hotels.com paid receipt was not an adequate confirmation. Two hours later, it turned out they did have my reservation but had messed up the confirmation number. Yes, they kept me waiting two hours in the lobby to check in.
Then the nice front desk person said he would upgrade me to a suite for my trouble. When I went to check out, they handed me a bill for a) the basic room I had already paid for and b) additional charges for the suite. It took about 30 minutes with a surly clerk to get that corrected. They also charged me for breakfast even though that was prepaid as well. The clerk was so rude that I just paid up. I paid all my incidentals in full on check out.
Subsequently, the hotel billed my credit card for three nights, a total of more than $420. This was in September and I am still trying to get the charges credited back to my credit card. I have contacted the hotel but no one responds. I contacted the credit card company to dispute the charge and they say the hotel claims the $420 is for incidentals (huh?). I have a receipt from the hotel saying it's for the rooms.
So the credit card company is trying to be helpful but taking the hotel at face value. The hotel is an unresponsive disaster.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicheleMcLellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
242 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I wish I could say this hotel was amazing but the staff really made it impossible for me to say "I would go back". Check in is a nightmare with long lines and slow front desk agents. They encourage you to utilize all their high tech devices like self check in and room selection but this only slowed and complicated the process. We had a group of 200 people in for a meeting and it was nearly impossible to get anything productive accomplished with any of the staff at the hotel. Our "contacts" like the front desk manager, convention service manager, etc... were not only impossible to get a hold of, when we did finally speak with them, they wouldn't do anything we had asked. Food was constantly running out at buffets, rooms weren't set correctly according to diagrams, etc. The property is brand new and quite beautiful. It is very clean and high-tech in rooms and public areas. It is conveniently located next to the super dome and a 10 minute walk to Bourbon St. There are three great restaurants on property as well. It's just really unfortunate that the staff doesn't match the quality of the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Central Business District
No photo provided
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#74 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing