We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still Learning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
558 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Still Learning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This Hyatt just reopened and they are still in the learning process. They have the potential to be a world class hotel, but they don't have a clue as to how to handle a huge crowd. I just learned that last night was the first sell out in this hotel, and when the crowd from the New Orleans Bowl returned to the hotel the staff was lost.

When we valet parked they told us we had to self park several blocks away. They did take care of us when they found out we had prearranged our parking.

The rooms are very minimalist. There is a very nice TV and an iPhone home player. The elevators are fun when they work.

Will I return? Yes, when they have a special. Otherwise there are other Places as nice for much less money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear bandman,

Thank you for your review and we agree we have that potential and with constructive feedback like yours we will continue to fine tune our processes. We hope to welcome you again,

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    906
    462
    214
    97
See reviews for
350
489
64
1,369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beautiful hotel with some of the hardest working staff I've seen in a long time. True the hotel is still working out some kinks, but nothing that impacted our stay. Love the high tech in-room TV system!

We appreciated the 10 min walk over to the French Quarter to work off all the great NOLA food!!! By the way, never felt unsafe walking anywhere. Keep your head up and walk with awareness and you'll be fine. A rule of thumb in ANY city.

We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyAJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear HockeyAJ24,

Great review and great piece of advice for anyone in any city. I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our team! We hope to welcome you soon!

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, courteous and professional. The technology they use in the operation of the elevators, door locks, and television were a new experience for me. Very sophisticated, yet easy to use. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. It is a large hotel, so be prepared to walk a bit to get to your room. They offered assistance with our luggage. Our room was comfortable and we loved the bed!
We ate in the Vitascope Hall and the 8 Block Kitchen & Bar. Good experiences in both. Good food and great servers.
We took a cab to the French Quarter area for approx $10 each way.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Independence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Ms_Independence,

WOW. Thank you for such a great review. I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much. Please let us know the next time you visit us so that we can fill you in on any exciting events we may be hosting.

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our recent stay at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans was overall a pleasant experience. Check in was relatively painless though I agree with other reviewers that some kind of line system would be beneficial because it is luck of the draw if you get behind somebody with a problem that might take 20 minutes to solve. I got through very quickly but somebody right down from me was clearly upset he had been waiting quite some time. Be aware that there is no elevator access to your room from the lobby area. If you are carrying your own luggage you have to go to the 3rd floor and transit a large atrium area to get to the elevators that take you to your room. The elevators are quick and technologically advanced. Request an upper floor room if possible.
We requested a Regency Club room because we had a busy schedule and knew from past experience with Hyatt's clubs that we could skip a meal or two and just drop by the club lounge and grab a nice snack. We were very disappointed with this property's lounge. For a city with such a "foodie" reputation you would think that management would take some pride in offering excellent food in their lounge. We've stayed at Hyatt properties in Phoenix, Orlando, Atlanta, and elsewhere and have always had excellent food. This property was very disappointing!
Our room was nice sized and was very comfortable. The TV is a large computer monitor and the remote a mouse. The technology was pretty cool! The bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom, though small, was nicely appointed. We had some minor issues with lack of hot water pressure but not enough to complain about. The view from the 26th floor was very nice.
Staff overall was very friendly and knowledgeable. Our only staff problem came when we checked out and tried to get our car called up. The young lady who answered the call said "We are real busy, you are just going to have to come down and wait". Other than her, the staff was professional and very nice!
This hotel is a great choice for an event at the Dome or doing business in New Orleans. It is a moderate walk to the French Quarter, the museum district or the convention center. Overall, I think this is a nice hotel and will only get better when the "break-in" period is over. Right now, though I would not upgrade to a Club room. It just isn't worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auburn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear auburn8,

Thank you for your wonderfully insightful review. I'm delighted to read that you explored every facet of the hotel. Technology was definitely a major part of our revitalization and I'm so happy you thought it was cool! I will share your comments with our staff and hopefully the next time you visit our Regency Club snacks will have you coming back for more.

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ORLEANS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beautiful room, we stayed in an Executive Suite and loved the views of the city! We are locals and decided to try it out for our Anniversary. Food choices are slim, although we hear that John Besh is opening a restaurant in 2012. We love going to Velocity Hall to watch football games, but the food needs improving. The Sunday morning buffet could use a few more food options, but was overall good. The Valet was terrible and desperately needs improving! On check out yesterday there was a line of at least 50 people waiting to get their cars. It was 45 degrees and windy in line. Freezing!! If this is going to be an ongoing problem there needs to be big, portable heaters outside to keep customers warm! The Valets were very nice and helpful, but they definitely looked overwhelmed! We will go back, but I hope the food and valet parking improves.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGraff27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear JSGRAFFEO,

Thank you for choosing us for your anniversary "staycation". Vitascope Hall is definitely becoming a hot spot on game days and I'm so thrilled you were able to experience it! Thank you for your honest feedback as it will help us continue to improve our operations. I hope you'll review us again and update us on your thoughts the next time you stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here twice and have starved both times. If u come for a big event, there is no place nearby in the CBD to eat breakfast or late night. Room service stops at 11pm and there is only 1 Buffett to feed 700 rooms of people. The convenience store does not sell milk! They have expensive gifts and booze but no substantial breakfast, no fresh food and no milk. Starbucks has expensive coffee but no breakfast with meat and nothing filling. I NEVER WANT TO STAY HERE AGAIN. My family is hungry and irate.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumbeaux_yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear gumbeaux_yaya,

I am so sorry for your experience. Thank you for writing this review and alerting us to this situation. Please email directly at wilma.cruz@hyatt.com.

Thank you,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I had one of the the best sleeps ever on level 26, the bed was so comfortable. As others have mentioned the property is still finding its rythym. The good:

- love the technology, web check-in/check-out, fully interactive TV with mouse on the remote and keyboard (although I do wonder how my father would get on with this tech, he'd still be looking for the guest services folder). NFC keys for elevator and room access, self-service kiosls in the lobby to queue bust
- the hotel is beautiful, an amazing atrium, loads of eating options
- Regency club room is great, amazing views and good complimentary refreshment options
- club rooms a good size, bathroom a bit small but was totally adequate


Not so good;
- boiler decided to not play ball in the morning - there was no hot water in the guest rooms for at least 90 minutes
- in the main didning area for breakfast I was not serverd once in 20 minutes. I helped myself to the buffet and made a point of paying when I left at the seating station. The manager said they had 30 servers on duty, where they were I had no idea, and it was not that busy eiither

I'd gladly stay again as I think these faults will be rectified.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear ZiggyNZ,

The view from the Regency Club is one of my absolute favorites! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Constructive feedback like yours definitely helps us find our rhythm. I'm sorry about your experience at the restaurant and will share your comments with our team. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the technology! We're very proud of the advanced technology we have on property and are always happy to hear people enjoy it.

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113-3100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Big Easy in style at the award-winning Hyatt Regency New Orleans. This AAA Four Diamond hotel features strikingly sophisticated guest rooms offering breathtaking city views, along with best-in-class amenities including free wi-fi, seven award-winning dining options, an outdoor saltwater pool, 24-hour fitness center, in-room massage services, and unprecedented service. Located in the heart of downtown, Hyatt Regency New Orleans is adjacent to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Smoothie King Center and Champions Square. The hotel sits directly on the Loyola Streetcar line offering quick and easy access to the city's top attractions including the historic French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, the Mississippi Riverfront, World War II Museum and the Aquarium of the Americas - all located within one mile of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing