We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pie-TERRIBLE service, terrible pizza”
Review of Pie Pizza & Pastas

Pie Pizza & Pastas
Ranked #600 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Pie-TERRIBLE service, terrible pizza”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here, as suggested by the hotel, as a "family" restaurant within walking distance.

When we entered, no one acknowledged us. Finally we went up to the bar to ask if we could seat ourselves. The waitress ran back and forth past us and did not even stop at all. I had to flag her down to ask for a menu. Then flag her down again to order our drinks.

When our drinks came, it was basically a cup full of ice with a "shot" of soda! Geesh.

We finally ordered (after stopping her again). We ordered a small pepperoni pizza and a chicken bacon ranch wrap. The wrap was good and huge but the pizza's topping all slid off...even after it had cooled down and it wasn't very good.

The weird part about the entire experience is that everyone else sitting at the tables had their pizza served on a pizza platter standing up high on the table. Ours came in a to-go box. Everyone else had their food on actual plates....ours came in a to-go box. What part about coming in and sitting down at the table looks like we wanted it to-go?

They never once came to ask how the food was or if we needed anything. They never once came to refill our glasses. They didn't even bring us napkins. I ask her twice in passing and she never even bothered to acknowledge me either time. We ended up having to steal some napkins from a stack on another table after that family left.

This was by far the WORSE service that I have ever had at a restaurant. I really hope the waitress that was there that night doesn't work there anymore. She was the worse and doesn't deserve to be working at a place where customer service should be a priority.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitsugirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    15
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Decent spot near downtown...”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is pretty nice...

Ate here with a group of co-workers for lunch on a slow Tuesday. The service was quick, and food was tasty. The waitress was not all that talkative, but she did sport a pretty rad tattoo on her arm... and wasn't half bad-looking either.

But again - I don't dine to look at the help. Like I said - the food was great and the service prompt. The music playing in this place was a little loud - so conversation with your table mates is harder than normal. Another knock on an otherwise good place is that they ran out of chicken at the time we visited, with the waitress telling us it would be a 30-minute wait to cook it up. There are like 5 dishes with chicken in it, so that limited our choices somewhat...

Overall - this spot is a good one to come if you like good food, decent service... and get a kick out of somewhat moody, but attractive brunettes with creative body art serving your food orders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must go again”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Pizza, pasta, salad, and service were amazing!!! Definitely on the repeat visit list. The pizza is the best I have had outside of NYC, and was better than many in the Big Apple.

Helpful?
Thank FLDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pasta and service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spaghetti and meatballs were good, sauce very nice. Ceasar salad dressing nice with good cheese. $20 for dinner good price for downtown. Service very good! I wasnt sure by looking at the resturant but was tired and hungry, I am glad I gave it a try. They also deliver pizza in the area and the pies looked really good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dantillweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

While we were in NO, we ate at Pie twice. The pizza is that good. Once was late night and then again for lunch. Pizza is great. Service could use some improvement and the atmosphere needed some attention (floor spill wasn't cleaned up the entire time and lamps broken).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoMDCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie Pizza & Pastas also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Pie Pizza & Pastas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing