We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty sweet ride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Bicycle Rental Company

The American Bicycle Rental Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Look no further, you've found what you are looking for. American Bicycle Rental is a local, family owned business - we are not a national chain. Bike Rental is our business - we strive to give our customers the best possible bicycling experience that money can buy. We provide helmets, locks, baskets, lights for night riding and the best cycling map in the city for FREE! We offer the highest quality, most reliable bike rentals in New Orleans - check out our reviews across the web and see for yourself. There are cheaper rentals in town but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. We have the only secure indoor facility in the city for 24-hour self-returns. ALL of our bikes are made in the U.S.A. - not just a few. Do yourself a huge favor and rent one of our top-notch bikes, you'll be glad that you spent the extra couple of bucks for a quality ride and superior equipment!
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty sweet ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great way to explore the places you may have thought were just to far to hoof it. Love the smooth ride.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrentMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    29
    6
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Is spite of my accident with bicycle ryan did not take any extra money. He was a great man who listens pink floyd ! I would definitely offer this rental company to anyone who loves cycling. Also new bikes and equipments.

Helpful?
1 Thank Berkay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect way to explore the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This shop had good comfortable bicycles. The entire rental experience was easy and convenient. I would highly recommend renting a bike to anyone visiting New Orleans. It's the best way to explore the city.

Helpful?
2 Thank MartinM5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bike rental shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were a group of 9, and we really enjoyed biking around New Orleans, which is a very bikeable city (very flat). Teddy was very helpful in providing us with recommendations on where to go, eat, explore, etc. All of the bikes are American-made cruisers, with great spring-loaded bike seats to cushion you as you ride some not-so-well-paved roads. Great experience!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Before our trip to NOLA, my friend and I made reservations with another bike rental place that bailed on us at the last minute. We tried calling them multiple times the day the bikes were to be dropped off, only to receive their voicemail. After an hour of trying to get a hold of them, we gave up. Needless to say, Joy Bike Rentals can suck it. We asked our hotel for suggestions and they pointed us in the direction of American Bicycle Rental, and I'm glad they did.

The customer service was beyond what we expected. My friend is a little nugget (she's 4'11) and none of the bikes made her feel comfortable. After listening to her complain for five minutes about me making her ride bikes and how terrible a person I was, Teddy, one of the workers whipped out one of his fancy schmancy bikes that was tiny enough to make her feel safe. He made sure we felt comfortable on the bikes, letting us ride around the shop and letting us make fools of ourselves while in the comfort of a closed off area. We told him we were deathly afraid of getting hit by a car and he sat us down to map out a safe route for us to follow.

While mapping out the different areas of NOLA to visit, he gave us a brief history of each neighborhood, pointing out the places we should avoid, places we should definitely visit and even where his great grandparents were buried. He even gave us his personal phone number just in case we got lost. Bless his heart.

The bikes themselves were pretty great too. My friend's bike was on the heavier side but it wasn't a normal rental bike anyway. They all come with bells, baskets, and locks. You also have the option of a helmet.

Overall, our experience with American Bicycle Rental was amazing...especially with Teddy (the best person in everdom). Rent from them! They're awesome...especially Teddy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Bicycle Rental Company also viewed

 

Been to The American Bicycle Rental Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing