We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”

MRB Restaraunt and Bar
Ranked #490 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: mrb.grille@gmail.comnew couple working kitchen in MRB over the last year. Great bar grub that is affordable in the Quarter. A "Five Star Dive Bar"
Dallas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

MRB was being emptied by the landlord when we tried to visit on 4/1/12. They were taking out all of the kitchen equipment. The bar was open only until the equipment was removed. We sat and had a beer and tried to visit with the bartender who was visibly upset at the happenings.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Deal on Good Food”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

You could walk right past this joint - but I am glad we didn't - we had fresh boiled shrimp, broiled oysters, Shrimp Po Boy, and pork Po Boy.... all the food was really good and reasonably priced. Our waitress was hilarious and her rough edge made her all that much more lovable :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristyL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stumbled upon this place last night, an I've been here and working in the Quarter for almost a decade now. Great cheap drinks, great food that far exceeds bar food or Pub Grub! Mango Crab Quesadilla anyone? It's great food at good prices and you'll never see the bourbon street crowd in here... So come an try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaggyDaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It's a dive bar...but sometimes that just what you need”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

There is nothing amazing about this bar. It is a dive bar, plain and simple. But sometimes, that's a good thing.

I first visited this bar about 4 years ago when taking one of the French Quarter walking ghost tours. The tour guide told us about the supposedly haunted courtyard, and let us have about 15 minutes to use the restroom and grab a drink. But I found myself going back to this bar on each of my subsequent trips to NOLA. Every time, I manage to meet some real characters (I say that in a good way) at this bar, and pass some time with a few cheap drinks. It has never been overly-crowded or crazy, but always been affordable and relaxed...a good break from Bourbon Street!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MRB Restaraunt and Bar also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to MRB Restaraunt and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing