We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazzfest done B&B style”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jazzfest done B&B style”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

What a phenomenal experience it was staying here. The accomodations were great, the staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and thoughtful and the breakfasts were absolutely out of this world. The area has some great restaurants and shops all within walking distance. Believe the reviews and do not hesitate to stay at this fantastic spot!

Helpful?
Thank Garageatrois
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of the Terrell House. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with us, and that you were able to explore our wonderful neighborhood. We look forward to hosting you and your friends and family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    30
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
150
209
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great location in Garden District. Mile from French Quarter and better yet, short drives to outstanding restaurants on Magazine Street in the Garden District. Entire staff very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is a great experience - something we looked forward to every morning. Will stay here next year for Jazz Fest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Doug -

I am so glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Terrell House hosted myself and 24 friends and family for the weekend of our wedding. Linda O'Brien, the inn keeper, went above and beyond before and during our stay. She ensured that all of my family members and friends got in okay, even at odd hours of the night after international flights. The property has so much charm and New Orleans appeal, with a tranquil courtyard filled with dappled shade and the sounds of birds and a fountain. We stayed in the Gold Suite which was ideal for our day of wedding preparations. The venue made for the perfect wedding day photos. Situated walking distance from shops, restaurants, and bars on Magazine St, I never had to worry about entertaining our guests. The most special memory will be having breakfast every morning with my entire family who traveled far and wide to be with us for our wedding. Terrell House offered us a much more intimate experience than a standard hotel, with us convening every morning in the dining room for coffee and breakfast that was freshly made every morning. The only reason why I rate this a 4 and not a 5 is because of the nightly rate, but it was during French Quarter Fest, so I don't know if rates go down during other times of the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MurelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a wonderful time. We were sad that our stay was only three nights. We loved the food, the guests, the staff, and the atmosphere. We will definately return. Terrell House is within walking distance of the Historical Garden District, St. Charles, the French Quarter and the Convention Center.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOMDforLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of the Terrell House. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you're headed for a conference at the New Orelans Convention Center, consider staying at Terrell House Inn, a lovely 18 minute walk from the Convention Center (down Magazine Street in a neighborhood 3 blocks from the lovely commercial blocks of the Garden District ). The interior of the house is impressive, rooms are gorgeous, and the breakfast is wonderful (homemade coffee cake, Creole eggs on toasted English muffin, egg tarte, and fresh fruit salad...) At the recommendation of Linda, the hostess, I had dinner one night at Juan's Flying Burrito - excellent shrimp enchiladas. Just down the street is a cozy coffee shop. Of course, it would be a romantic getaway destination, too, but I thoroughly enjoyed being there by myself and having such a haven to return to after a busy day at my conference!

Room Tip: Well, I was on the 3rd floor in the twin bed room. I was just a 'single' but if you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your experience at the Terrell House. It is our goal to exceed guest expectations and ensure that you stay is perfect. Glad to hear that you enjoyed my recommendation of Juan's as well. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

As a native New Orleanian and eternally homesick expat, I was thrilled to find the Terrell House a few years ago. The interiors epitomize New Orleans' elegance and its spaciousness allows privacy, which is rare in a B and B setting. Linda and her staff are incredibly gracious and accommodating and the delicious breakfast is like a Brennan's feast at the beginning of each day.

Room Tip: Let Linda advise you on what is the best match for your stay. Her focus is always the guest's ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us and that you have made it a little "home away from home" while you are living outside of New Orleans. Looking forward to hosting you at the Terrell House many more times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wonderful tranquillity in the most elegant of homes. The service and hospitality were of the highest order and the daily fresh cooked breakfasts simply delicious.

In terms of value for money it is simply incredible that you can get so much more here than in the numerous soulless hotels downtown, but still be just a short walk away from the French Quarter if you so choose to spend time there.

I will only ever return to Terrell house should I have opportunity to visit NOLA again.

Regards, Ben Hammant

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Ben,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Terrell House. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our home made breakfasts. We hope to have the opportunity to host you the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 164 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing