We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Beautiful B&B located in the Garden District in New Orleans! Great shopping and Restaurants on Magazine Street within walking distance. The Breakfast was delicious and beautifully served.
Rooms are comfortable with beautiful antiques . Perfect venue for wedding and meeting friends .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PKKendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the shopping on Magazine Street and our fabulous breakfast. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you back real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent location. We were on a college visit seeing Tulane and stayed in the suite with my daughter. Lovely accommodations. Would stay again. Easy parking on street and great local coffee shop on the corner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank corinne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Corinne - so glad that you all stayed with us while on a college trip for your daughter. Thank you for your kind words about the Terrell House. Please come and stay with us again the next time y'all are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Ideal place to stay if you want to avoid the noise and tourist crush of the French Quarter, but have a genuine New Orleans experience. Perfect place for walkers: we visited the French Quarter, the arts district, Cemetaries, explored neighborhoods, shopped and ate up and down Magazine St, all on foot. We used the street car and occasional taxis to explore further away.

The house is a beautiful example of the classic residential architecture, with a wonderful courtyard. Shannon served a unique and fabulous breakfast each morning in the formal dining room. Shannon also enhanced our visit in so many other ways: restaurant recommendations, tips for plans for our day, arranged a swamp tour pick up, called taxis.

Terrell House was in itself a highlight of our memories of our visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Terrell House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got to explore all that New Orleans has to offer. We hope to see you back at the Terrell House during your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I have found our new place to stay when visiting New Orleans. The Terrell House is a gem of a spot on a quiet part of Magazine Street with easy parking on nearby side street. Owner Linda O'Brien is a terrific hostess with ready answers to most questions tourists ask.
The rooms, while not large by hotel standards, are handsomely appointed with attractive attached bathrooms. Breakfasts by Shannon, the gifted chef, are outstanding, served at a beautifully dressed table. Fresh flowers abound in the relaxing main quarters. Our room was over the courtyard next to the main house.
We were there for a wedding and I would definitely suggest this as a spot for a wedding or small gathering of 75 or so. Again, Shannon prepared a delicious buffet dinner. Linda and her staff did all the flowers, arranged for music and helped with getting city permission for a "second line" around the block.
We were there for three hectic days and the entire staff was gracious throughout. One rainy day most of us spent our time in the main living area, visiting and drinking coffee and tea and we were made to feel most welcome. Bravo, Linda, for a lovely time all around. You will sure see us again.
Souzen Deavers Steelhammer

Room Tip: We saw and loved the rooms in the main house; we stayed in the Blue Room and would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SDS462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Souzen,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend. It was certainly a beautiful wedding and we enjoyed having you all stay with us. I am glad that you all enjoyed spending time in our beautiful living room and that you enjoyed the breakfasts as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Thank you to Shannon and Linda for a great time. We spent two nights at Terrell House and were not disappointed in our choice. Amazing breakfasts and they were so helpful in finding restaurants and had tips for getting around etc. Enjoyed visiting with the other people staying as well. We stayed in the red room and were very happy with it. It was a couple block walk to the street car and from there it was a short distance to get to the FQ. Terrell House is located on Magazine Street and had we had more time I would have loved have visited some of the shops along there. Look forward to visiting again next year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Terrell House! Shannon and I enjoyed having you all stay with us as well. So happy to hear that you had a pleasant and seamless time getting around the city from our convenient location. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were in New Orleans for 311 Day and wanted to stay a little bit away from Bourbon Street. (Wanted to have a great time during the day but have a quiet restful night.) We stayed at Terrell house with 3 other couples we knew and had a blast! The courtyard was the perfect place to gather in the early evening to relax before heading out to dinner and events. We enjoyed having breakfasts together as well. The breakfasts were amazing! Every morning something new and more delicious than the previous day!
It was really very special staying in a New Orleans mansion - definitely added to our NOLA experience. Would highly recommend Terrell House - we will definitely be staying here again for 311 Day 2016!

Room Tip: Blue Room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our Bed and Breakfast! I am pleased to hear that you got to enjoy our charming courtyard and that you enjoyed the breakfasts during your stay. We are always happy to accommodate any special dietary requests for our guests. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Terrell House in March 2014. The main house is amazing. I spent quite a bit of time exploring the common rooms on the bottom floor. We stayed in the yellow room which is adjacent to the courtyard. Though the room was lovely, there was significant noise from the upper floor and sometimes courtyard noise - so if you are a light sleeper book one of the upper floor rooms.

Shannon was very welcoming and helpful and we did enjoy her hot breakfasts each morning. We also enjoyed dining and sharing experiences with the other guests. We would not have gone to the WWII museum had it not been so highly recommended by two other guests.

The Terrell House is conveniently located in the garden district within walking distance of the streetcar. We did not have a car and were able to reach any destination in the city using public transportation. We simply bought a $3 day pass and we were off exploring this wonderful city. One night we did have to catch a taxi back from Frenchmen Street as it was simply too cold to wait for the streetcar. It was good to have this option.

Terrell House is large for a B & B. We felt the service was somewhat impersonal and the staff definitely had rules to follow - some which made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. For instance, when we were checking out we were told that staff were not "allowed" to call a taxi for us since we were transferring to another B & B. This seemed rather petty - and in the end the owner Linda did call us a taxi.

On our last day there Anika waited on us instead of Shannon. She made us feel uncomfortable. She was in the process of leaving employment with Terrell House so I am sure this had something to do with the way she behaved.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and I highly recommend Terrell House. It is more of a small boutique hotel with "staff" but it is absolutely beautiful and well located (though I personally like being on the other end of town closer to the music).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank OregonDallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Terrell House. It is always helpful to know what we are doing right and where there is room for improvement. New Orleans was bursting at the seams the weekend you were here with 30,000 visitors attending the orthopedic convention as well as the St. Patrick's Holiday crowd.

Magazine Street can get a bit rowdy over that weekend due to the parade on Magazine and visitors that may have slightly overindulged . I do apologize for the noise. You are correct in that the 2 upper level courtyard rooms are more quiet than the 2 ground level rooms. Occasionally guests in the courtyard do not realize how their voices can carry and possibly disturb guests that have retired to their rooms.

There is one concern that was mentioned in your review that I would like to try to clarify. Everyone here is more than willing to call a cab for guests at anytime no matter where the guests may be going. There is no house rule whatsoever that hinders us from calling cabs. The cab companies do have a rule that does not allow us to call and specify a time for a cab to arrive unless going to the airport or the train station. I think there may have been a misunderstanding in that whomever you asked to call a cab for you, thought you were requesting a cab for a specific time going to the other B & B and did not realize you needed a cab at that moment. Or you were asking to order a cab for a specific time to take you to the other B & B and the staff person did not explain that it is the cab companies that do not "allow" this, not the Terrell House. That weekend had been most difficult to get cabs due to the number of visitors in the city. I, as well as other Terrell House staff, had personally transported guests in our cars so they could get where they needed to be in a timely fashion.

As to other house rules….since you did not go into any specifics, I'm not sure what rules you might have been referring. We do show guests the entrances and exits they should use, which areas are the common areas, where guest refrigerators, ice machine, and microwaves are, when breakfast is served, etc. We try to do this in a hospitable, gracious manner. We were very, very busy that weekend but that is no excuse for not making you feel comfortable and welcomed.

I apologize for whatever Annikia said or did that made you uncomfortable. It was obviously very inappropriate.

My goal for the Terrell House, which is my home, is to try to provide all guests with a warm, inviting refuge while enjoying all the wonderful, unique things our historic city has to offer. I wish we had been able to do a better job of it during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 167 in New Orleans
264 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,251 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 142 in New Orleans
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $125 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing