We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at the Terrell house for 4 nights and all I can say is WOW. Great location, and accommondations. Above all, the staff are what makes this place great. Thank you so much to Terry for the great hospitality, Shannon for the amazing food and huge thanks to Annikia for her willingness to tend to our every need as well as the other guests. By this I mean I watched Annikia give a guest her own new running shoes to use as they had forgotten theirs. Thank you again so much for making our trip GREAT!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airline101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is our goal to go above and beyond in customer service and it sounds like we achieved that with your stay. I hope to see you back at the Terrell House on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
136
194
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent Thanksgiving at the Terrell House and had a lovely time. The location is not perfect but it was good to see a different part of New Orleans. Linda (and Stella, her adorable dog) could not have been more hospitable and kind. The home is gorgeous, the courtyard is beautiful and our stay in the carriage house was just perfect. We loved our delicious breakfast as we'll. We would absolutely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Laura! And thank you for the nice words about Stella as well :) I am happy to hear that y'all had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed exploring our neighborhood in the Lower Garden District. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in New Orleans for my birthday and it honestly could not have felt more special. We booked Terrel's House and loved every second. The breakfasts are not to be believed, it's close to some great antique shopping, close to the streetcar and was just a beautiful place to spend a few days. we got the chance to watch them prepare for a wedding and I know that the big events there must be beautiful. I'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Christine - thank you for your kind review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you had the opportunity to sample the breakfast, as I think it is one of our best assets! Please come see us again the next time you are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

If I could give Terrell House 10 stars I would!!

I don't even know where to begin with this review. I held my wedding there on 11/9/13. As an out of state bride (but lover of New Orleans), I was quite nervous prior to the wedding because there are so many small details that go into planning. However, Miss Linda and Miss Annikka were absolutely AMAZING!!! So incredibly patient, kind, responsive, professional, hospitable.... the list goes on. I spoke to Miss Linda mostly prior to our arrival and she is simply a joy to work with-- anytime I had a question about food, flowers, budget, etc., she was quick to answer. About two weeks before the wedding, her assistant Miss Annika got in touch with me and boy, she is a total Godsend-- almost like a second mom once we got there in New Orleans. Her presence just calms any nerves you have about the wedding. My family also noted how AMAZING Miss Annikka was to them-- always smiling, answering questions, finding cabs, helping with the rehearsal-- she is a total wonder woman (truly a gift to any bride about to get married)! Her and Miss Linda know how to execute a wedding! And Glenn, Miss Annikka's huband, was a great bartender to boot. I could literally write an essay on how amazing they all are.

And let me tell you about the food-- Miss Shannon has it going on! I think I am addicted to her grits and currently having withdrawals. The family that stayed at the Terrell House made it a point to come to breakfast everyday, which can be very hard when you are in New Orleans and there is great breakfast everywhere-- but you can't beat Miss Shannon's food. Even my aunt who is a chef was sincerely impressed. At the wedding, we got TONS of compliments on all of the food. FIVE STARS!!!

And then there is the actual premises of the Terrell House-- SO BEAUTIFUL!!!! Literally, Gone with the Wind beautiful. All of of guests couldn't believe we found this place. The courtyard where we had the wedding is just magical. And yet, it isn't overly ostentatious-- it simply feels like home, granted a home that is much better than your own, lol.

Since the wedding, many of our guests have remarked that this has been the best wedding they have ever attended. And in all honestly, I give the credit to the Terrell House and their amazing staff for making out special day so incredibly unforgettable.

We can't wait to go back for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your very very kind review! We know how important a wedding is to a person, and we do everything we can to ensure that it is executed seamlessly. I am delighted to hear that you got such positive feedback from your guests. It really is our goal to make each and every patron of the Terrell House satisfied and I hope that we accomplished that with your wedding! See you in November for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here on our honeymoon. The location was great, our accommodations were lovely, and we can't say enough about the hospitality. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room! If you're in New Orleans, stay at the Terrell House. You won't regret it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SexyScarlett13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Terrell House for your honeymoon! We were excited to be a part of your once in a lifetime vacation, and I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for reviewing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My daughter, Margarita just married at the Terrell House. This is the perfect place , the perfect staff, the perfect house, the perfect grits, the perfect everything. I will cherish every moment spent there with my family.

Thank you so much for everything !!

Maria and Luis Francisco Sarmiento

Room Tip: The Terrell House has the perfect room for everyone and for every ocassion. Just let them know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megomez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Maria - thank you so much for your glowing review of the Terrell House! Weddings are one of our favorite events to put on at the bed and breakfast, and I am so pleased that you and your family had the "perfect" experience with your daughters wedding! We hope to have you and your family back at the Terrell House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was such a lovely B&B with the most friendly talented staff . We came for my son's wedding to which they handled every detail with perfect precision and timing. The floral arrangements were outstanding! I want to give my personal thank-you to Chef Shannon who is not only an accomplished chef but made us feel so at home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review! I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with how we handled your sons wedding. It is our goal to ensure that each and every guest has the best possible experience at the Terrell House and I hope that's what you and your family had while staying with us! Please come and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,807 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing