We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magazine Street Delight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Twice I have stayed at the Terrell House in New Orleans on Magazine Street and twice I have had a wonderful experience. The atmosphere, the food, the people are delightful. Linda O'Brien is gracious and helpful. I have stayed many places in NOLA and this is the best.
Shopping on Magazine is GREAT!! Go to Le Sucre for the most gorgeous pastries in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank julilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 531 of 531 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

We had a wonderful weekend in New Orleans while staying at the Terrell House. Linda was a wonderful host and the breakfasts were delicious. The main house was beautifully decorated. We stayed in the carriage house, and the room was great. The bed was very comfortable and the room was stocked with water, soda and coffee. The location is a little far away from the French Quarter to walk, but you can walk to the streetcar (3-4blocks) and take that there. There are also several places to eat within 10-15 min walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nkgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

This is my 2nd trip to N.O. I booked a B&B and a hotel for work due to limited availability during the week of Mar 25th. I found the Terrell Guest House online, read some good reviews, checked out some nice pictures, & made my reservation by phone. This is in the Garden District, ~3mi from downtown & French Quarters.

Getting there was not too easy at night (signs are missing). Linda, her husband (owners), and their little dog are very nice. Because I was arriving late & restaurants are closed at that time, Linda offer to make me a sandwich.

The house & courtyard look very quaint. The parlor was absolutely gorgeous! There are two sections: carriage house (Yellow rm, $144/nt, wireless-signal low) & main house (Gold rm, $185/nt, wireless-excellent, Linda upgraded me for free!). The rooms are nice with antique furnitures, cable TV, AC, ceiling fan, and water/sodas. Linda made delicious breakfast (Southern cooking). She also recommended a great crawfish place (Johnny & ??). It is fairly quiet neighborhood and there are restaurants a couple blocks away.

I had a WONDERFUL time staying at the Terrell House. The 2 things that I would recommend for people before arriving are -

1. Have the room aired out (room can be a little stuffy)
2. Bring shampoo/conditioner

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank like2travelWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2005

My husband & I just returned from a very short stay at the Terrell House. After a year long renovation, Linda, the owner has made this house into a very special place. It is spacious but cozy, formal but comfortable we could not have been happier. With her recommendations we saw New Orleans in a whole different light. She could not have been more accommodating & her breakfast was so delicious. We are already planning our return visit!

4  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2005

We enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon there. The service was excellent, our room was beautiful, and the on-site manager/concierge was a native. Breakfasts were a treat with silver service and complimentary sherry in the afternoons was also fun. We ate at Commander's Palace (phenomenal) and enjoyed a burlesque show at Marie LaVeau's on the manager's recommendation. All in all, perfect memories.

Thank IndDayBby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnk_vas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 165 in New Orleans
254 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 165 in New Orleans
346 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $125 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing