We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for New Orleans charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for New Orleans charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife booked a night here for my 43rd birthday. I loved the old New Orleans charm and architecture. Linda and her little dog were great hosts. We live just outside New Orleans and I don't like bourbon street but go one block over to royal street for beautiful art galleries and quaint shops. Our house was very nice with a small kitchen 2 bedrooms nice living room and flat screen tv's in all rooms. It was very clean and the king size bed and down pillows were perfect. We also had our own balcony overlooking Euterpe and magazine street. What a gem. Thanks Linda for making my 43rd birthday a memorable one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    17
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
109
168
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A beautifully restored historic home on Magazine St. in the Garden District, this inn is the perfect retreat after a day of experiencing the sites of New Orleans. Linda is a true southern lady, whose charm and attendance to detail make her Inn a place where guests want to return over and over again. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the luxurious mattresses, linens and pillows every detail is designed to make you feel pampered. Delores and all the staff are warm and friendly and add to the charm and ambiance of Terrell House. Linda and her staff prepare delicious breakfasts, and will cater to any special diet requests with dishes that tempt the palate. The Inn is conveniently located in the Garden District, includes free parking, and access to attractions are easily accessible via taxi, bus or by car. You can also walk to the French Quarter, but it is a mile plus. A one-day bus pass is only $3 per person. I have stayed in a number of Inns around the U.S., and this is one of the nicest! I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower floor room in the building across the street from the main house. It was ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prairie_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family had never been to NOLA and were already on the road traveling so I was searching like crazy to find a B&B. After reading many reviews, calling a few places, we decided on Terrell House. You never know if the photos and descriptions are accurate until you get there. We arrived after a very long day tired and hungry. Linda and her wonderful staff made us feel so welcome and directed us to a local eatery (which was Joey K's & wonderful). The house is beautiful, comfortable, and squeaky clean. Our whole family, including my teenage daughter, wanted to stay for days. We stayed in the Gold room which has a separate sitting room with a twin bed which is perfect for an additional person. The bed was comfortable, temperature perfectly cool, water and coffee items in the room, and the staff around if you needed something. I would stay here again if returning to NOLA. It is located down the road from the Magazine St shops, not walking distance, but easy drive. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieDsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Terrell House (red room) for the weekend celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Linda and staff were very gracious...especially appreciated since we arrived 3 hours earlier than planned. The parlors are gorgeous! 14 ft. high ceilings, antiques, draperies... floor length windows overlooking the street and courtyard. Breakfast was a delicious variety with egg casseroles, grits, french toast, fresh cut fruits, apple and orange juices, and coffee. We met other guests for breakfast and had great laughter filled conversations before going about town for the day. Our room was was very clean, fresh towels daily, soft comfortable bedding, and all the modern comforts (iron and board, blowdryer, hangers, shampoo, bath soap, drinks including bottled water, coke, diet coke, tea and the most important while in New Orleans--community coffee both caff and decaf.lol Friday night, we picked up our meal and ate in the courtyard which was quiet and peaceful after our long day of work. We spent the whole day Saturday on Magazine St. walking, shopping, eating. The bus stops one block from the house so we cheated a few times and rode back and forth. Plenty of charming shops along the street, delicious bbq at Saucy's BBQ and sushi at The Sake Cafe. New Orleans is our favorite place to "just get away". I am so happy to have found the Terrell House. We loved the character of the area and are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Beautiful place to stay in New Orleans, everything you need right there. Our room was so neat with an amazing shower. Really romantic and clean and historical. We bought a house in New Orleans in the same neighborhood, because it has so much to offer. If we need to recommend a place for people to stay in NOLA this is where we recommend.
Clean, beautiful and friendly. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at the Terrell house during Mardi Gras for four days and were very impressed. One of the few Bed and Breakfasts at the beginning of the Garden District, this 1860's historical home can boast of a charming courtyard with fountain and occasional feline companion, a home made-breakfast every morning, elegantly restored interiors, and a welcoming and knowledgable staff. It is a short walk to St. Charles Avenue and the parades, or to the heart of the garden district and the stores along magazine street. Much less agitated than the Quarter, we found this the perfect place from which to explore the city.
The rooms in the annex (we had the blue) are comfortable, albeit not too large, but all face the verdant brick courtyard and are quiet and shady-
Highly recommended for its charm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful B&B in our very own home as we went to New Orleans with another couple and lucky for us there was a cancellation at Miss Linda's home and she fit us in for 10 full days. This is a very elegant place both the small house we were in and the big beautiful home. All decorated in antiques and striking features. Miss Linda was very kind to us and her main helper Anika went out of her way to make us traditional Southern cooked breakfasts daily. I tried food I had never had before and loved everything she served us especially her sweets she served with breakfast oh my god they were tasty. The location is perfect right on the main road for the #11 bus to take you to the French Quarter in no time and very easy to get anywhere. The place was spotless with the cleaning staff in everyday to give us clean towels and new water, coke, coffee whatever we needed. I highly recommend this B&B as I own one myself and this is how it is done!!!! Thank you so much Miss Linda, special thank you to Anika for all her hard work and delicious food, thank you to the cleaning staff who even went out of their way and did my laundry when I said I would do it. We loved New Orleans because of this special Southern Hospitality we will be back!

Room Tip: If your travelling with more than 2 people get the carriage house its great! Its like your own home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totwanows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,069 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,856 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Terrell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing