We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Nola pub!”
Review of The Irish House - CLOSED

The Irish House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Garden District
Cross street: Melpomene
Transit: On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're tired of the touristy French Quarter and want some great Irish fare, this is your place! HUGE beer selection, great food, and attentive staff. Cheese plate is my favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank duplechien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear duplechien,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit with us. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon, we are always changing out the beers so be sure to see what's new!

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 480 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

First thing we liked was that it was open at 9:00 p.m. We were staying at the nearby Creole Gardens Inn, and got in late. This is one block away, and we were HUNGRY! Then, there was a delightful lagniappe: on Monday nights, there is a Celtic pick-up band that plays until about 10:00 or so (I guess weekly). What a treat! We liked the food, the service and the atmosphere so much that we went back two more times during our NOLA visit. (No more bands, however). Prices are good, food is delicious, and the staff are welcoming and helpful. Can't go wrong here.

Thank Storyspinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Storyspinning,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your late night hunger fix during your visit! We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s experience here at the pub, especial their first! We hope to see you back again soon on your next NOLA visit.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

had roast beef with gravy sandwich and club sandwich - prices were good - food was very good. BEER was great, take the St. Charles trolley to the Irish House, it stops right outside, located in Garden District. Prices are $10 up range.

Thank rrcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear rrcer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! Be sure to stop by next time you're in town and try one of our new beers. We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The first thing I noticed when I met the delightful Alicia Murphy was that her toenails (and a little of her toes) were all painted a different color. Her explanation was simple, but quite exceptional. Her quadruplet girls....age five...decorated mommy for work and her four year old, also a girl probably helped them.

Matt Murphy, the chef, authentic Irishman and one-time winner of the TV show, "Chopped" came out of the kitchen to chat with us for a few minutes.

I have called this an authentic Irish Pub, but the food is actually much better than most of the Irish Pubs I experienced in Ireland or England. The breakfast was authentic Irish, but cooked to perfection. We were not lucky enough to be there on a Friday night but Matt informed us that every Friday they have impromptu and unrehearsed music fests...all musicians welcome.

This is actually quite a large but cozy restaurant. Many of the furnishings have been rescued and carefully restored from old churches, antique shops and a little e-bay memorbilia. There is even a little shop attached where you can buy authentic Irish candy, tea, cookies etc,

The upstairs area can accommodate large parties for weddings, birthdays, graduations or other family and friends celebrations.

This restaurant is definitely not gourmet.....it is just good....good food and good fun. In fact it is excellent food and lots of fun. Since it is located in the Garden District and right on the St. Charles streetcar route, it is definitely a place you should visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jasmyncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Jasmyncan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience when you came to visit. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! Especially when it involves meeting both Chef Matt & Alicia! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and her family regularly eat at this wonderful family restaurant owned by winner of the tv show, "Chopped". Our party of 6 was quickly seated and the food served hot and professionally by happy wait staff! I expected boring bangers and mash, boiled veggies and over cooked meat - what a terrific surprise with a varied menu and each of us enjoyed the meal. We would definitely come again when in New Orleans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear flsouri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish House also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing