We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Irish fare, served with cheer and live music”
Review of The Irish House - CLOSED

The Irish House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Garden District
Cross street: Melpomene
Transit: On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

When you come to a place as good as this you have to test them on the basics...I ordered fish and chips and was very happy I did.

The servings are American sized, the food, good old fashioned Irish/British.

Finishing with a wicked creme brulée, I was truly full of some serious comfort food.

When the étouffée and jambalaya get too much for you, head straight here and relax with the good food, great music and lovely atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear ThePackedBag,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience, the fish & chips are my favorite as well. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We do plan to go back. We hung out at the bar on a Sunday afternoon. They were cooking crawfish outside which seemed to be a good deal. We opted to try the menu, the pork cheeks were fabulous and the truffled chicken and mushroom tart was my fav. We will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent a very pleasant evening here when in LA for Mardi Gras.
We were staying just around the corner and were looking for a spot to have a meal and watch the parade coming down St Charles.
This was perfect as we were able to come and go from our table to go outside to see the floats and return to our meal or beers.
The bonus was the food. Always like Irish Pub food and this was above par.
I had the Pork Cheeks braised in cider and my wife had the Lamb Shanks. Both were fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear 2kiwinomads,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had some excellent fish and chips with a Smithwicks draft. Rather noisy and crowded, but it is an Irish pub after all. That said, I can really go a long time without Irish music

Thank BrownDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear BrownDawg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I had the lamb shank dinner and the lamb was falling off the bone and cooked to perfection. The stone grits were beyond heavenly and the waitress was patient and helpful.

Thank Tawse R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cate C, Manager at The Irish House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Tawse R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Irish House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing