We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pictures are Deceiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Ranked #99 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pictures are Deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Overall we were pleased with our stay at the Crowne Plaza. The location was a bit nuts for us, but perfect if you want to be in the middle of the action. Traffic on Canal Street was awful, which made getting to the hotel difficult. However, valet staff was friendly and helpful. In fact, all staff was pleasant. My biggest complaint is the pool! The pictures are very deceiving. The pool looks big in the photos. But in reality, it was just an oversized hot tube! Not nice at all.
Room was clean and beds were comfortable.

The restaurant at the hotel was good. Decent service, but a bit pricey. We would recommend Mother's, Rum House, and Ignatius.

Room Tip: Canal Street is in the heart of Nola's action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Greetings Bonnie1607,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. I apologize that you felt our pool did not meet your expectations and you experienced some difficulty trying to get to the hotel. Our location on the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets can be a bit of challenge on the weekends and during busy times in the city. However, you are right in the heart of the French Quarter and right on the city transportation line, which is so convenient once you are here. I am so happy to hear that you thought our valet and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We hope that you choose to visit us again and let us provide you with some of our excellent customer service and local New Orleans charm. We would love to have you back.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    1,104
    708
    337
    256
See reviews for
517
1,005
102
801
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the hotel because the conference I was attending was there -- I usually stay elsewhere in New Orleans. I was nervous about the hotel being located on Bourbon Street and expected there to be a lot of noise at night. However, the hotel is actually at the far end of Bourbon and away from the majority of the chaos. Sure, I heard some noise but not much. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always ready to offer suggestions. The room was quite large and very comfortable. The conference rooms were freezing, but it made me appreciate the heat when I went outside. It is in a good location, within walking distance of about everything you would want to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfePierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place was awesome!!! We booked last minute hotel! and wow we could have not asked for more, walking distance from the superdome! The bed was soft....the room was nice and clean we stayed on the 12th floor nice view too!......The parking however was crazy, it took 35 minutes to park! but hey it was worth it! Because e never had to move the car again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Great location front desk staff very helpful although extremely busy loved our room except the lack of a view. Good breakfast and loved the bourbon bar bell staff were the best stored our luggage for the day no cost we will be back for sure

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked this hotel not knowing what it would be like, or where it was located really. Upon our arrival, we were a bit nervous as to noise, but the staff was very honest and told us pretty much what we were in for. Our first two nights were wonderful, but the last three, well , they were a bit nuts. We were on the 10th floor facing the back ally, the party may as well have been in our room. This is however the French Quarter on Bourbon street, So it was to be expected. The staff was amazing at all times during our stay, the front desk staff always happy, the chamber maids were always bubbly and funny and friendly( and the rooms clean!!) the bellmen were always willing to help you find anything you wanted in New Orleans, and the Concierge ( Frederico) was always worth visiting!! Over all, even though the French Quarter is more like Vegas , it was a worth while visit, and the hotel was fabulous ( mostly due to the staff).

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can to avoid noise from Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allieoop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited this hotel Sunday July 20, 2014 to meet up with a long lost relative. To get into the hotel, I had to walk thru quite a crowd - all seemed to be waiting for taxis or valeted cars as it was just past check out time (11:30am). Once inside, the place looked very nice, rather grand, but not too over the top. Called my relative and waited in the lobby for him to come down from his room and meet me. Comfortable chairs and fun people watching. He arrived and we left for a bit to get lunch. Luckily, there is a side door, out onto Bourbon Street so we didn't have to go thru the crowd at the front door on. Canal again. Upon returning, we went to the hotel bar. They have an oyster bar as well as stools at a drink bar and tables for food. Bartender was nice, but didn't know what a hiball is (7&7 basically), guess it's a old name for the drink. But he made it and tasted good along with a couple whiskey sours we ordered (as I said- family reunion - we were drinking old time drinks). Anyway, nice afternoon at the bar, sunny pleasant place. Later we moved to the lobby bar (it was closed earlier in the day) and sat at tables and talked. I did have the occasion to go up to his room and it was nice. He said it was good and seemed to be. Maid was nearby cleaning other rooms about 3pm. View wasn't great, but on the 10th floor, it seemed quiet enough. Beds he said were comfortable. Just before leaving the hotel, we saw a very long line for the desk - not certain if it was check in time or just a large group. But it seemed to move rather quickly. Overall, seemed to be a nice place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Probably a great hotel in its prime, but now in need of a major facelift. Outdated rooms, a tiny pool, no perks to make guests feel the luxury that the lobby inspires....My own room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke mixed with chemical cleaners. For the price, you could do much better in NOLA.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSnoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to post your comments. I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations and you felt our rooms were outdated or that you did not receive any "perks". We have a new line of hair and body amenities in the guestrooms and we recently changed the bed linens that includes the beautiful coverlets. Also, we are currently performing preventative maintenance in the guestrooms and around the hotel to address some of your concerns. Your comments and past guests’ comments have been shared with our new management company and they are going to be some changes throughout the hotel that will improve the hotel environment. We hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future and see how we have improved. We are very excited about what is to come.

Thank you,
Alicia Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing