We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As an IHG Gold Elite member, I am used to nice upgrades at member hotels and truly appreciate it. Well it appears that the room I was originally given on the executive floor disappeared when I arrived, and was given a room in the historic wing. The room I was given looked over another window and had no ambient light. I appreciated the fact that I was still given access to the executive lounge for breakfast in the other wing. The breakfast was a bit unusual, it had eggs on one day and breakfast meat the next but never the two together.
Another issue with the room was that the thermostat controlling room temperature did not work. The room remained at 66 degrees no matter what I did. Also the room had a chair an ottoman that were stuck in the corner of the room and totally unusable.
During my stay, the front desk staff as well as the staff in the breakfast lounge were awesome. Extremely friendly and helpful.
While sounding negative, I give this Crowne Plaza 4 out of 5 stars. I am sure you could do much worse at many other hotels with this great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the canal wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    1,076
    698
    336
    249
See reviews for
511
983
101
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is located on the corner of Canal St and Bourbon Street. Great access to the many restaurants and buzz of Bourbon street.

Hotel was clean with some old world charm. Was given a room on the fourth floor (445) this is the club floor that was quite large and spacious. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Room 445 is very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff were wonderful, helpful, and friendly. In the morning, you get to meet Pamela Green, who is a delight at the Breakfast Lounge. She was nice, professional, and helpful. The entire staff make sure you have a great time and glad to help with anything. They were especially helpful to what places locally for food and fun. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Right at the corner of Canal and Bourbon which as you might know is a perfect place to be! It is a short walk to anywhere!! We even walked to the basketball game.The staff was very attentive and the gym was a nice plus. The room was wonderfully decorated with exposed brick and had a nice modern look to it.We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor facing Canal which meant you could hear people on the street, but we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy-R-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were staying one night in the quarter for my husband's 40th birthday, just two couples and no kids. The location can't be beat. Right near Bourbon but it's not noisy, and you're on Canal so you're not far from anything. The hotel lobby was busy, the front desk clerk did not say hello or anything. He waved me over and was helping another clerk with something. He took my ID from me and checked me in without saying anything until he gave me the room number and wifi info. That aside everything else was great.
The room had two queens, a nice bonus was the gift of ear plugs and sleep stuff (lotion, room spray and leg balm). The room was clean but the bathtub looked a little beat, I think just because it was showing it's age. Parking was reasonable for a FQ/Canal St hotel. And we got our car in less then 10 minutes, which is the fastest I've seen for any hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: 12th floor was quiet and had a great view from rooms on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bohemian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FW, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just wanted to give a shout out to Ms. Pamela Green at the Crowne Plaza in New Orleans. She was extremely personable and helpful to all guests. She happily engaged visitors and welcomed them to her city while eagerly chatting with all about theirs. And she was more than happy to accommodate special requests.
Wonderful service like that makes me willing to write a review over 3months after my visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vapoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to see the Bills-Saints game, which turned out to be the same weekend as the Halloween Parade. We can with two other couples who stayed in different hotels. I travel a lot for work and am a Platinum Level in Holiday Inn Group, so I have a lot to compare to.

First, the location is about as good as you can get. The other couples all met at our hotel before going out since it is within walking distance of most of the sites, directly on the bable cab line, but not engulfed in the noise and drunkedness that you come across in some places around there. I was on the 9th floor and didn't hear much noise, except sirens on one night.

Second, the rooms were nice. big, modern, clean. Better than our traveling partners, who stayed at the Holiday Inn Superdome and the others at the Hyatt. Premium members get access to the members lounge, which includes a hot breakfast and a free happy hour (1st alcohol drink free).

Lastly, what makes it so good, is the staff. I can say that the people at this place are nicer and more helpful than in any of the 100's of Hotels I have stayed in in the last 30 years. That is a pretty incredible claim, but it is true. You can't stand in the lobby (or anywhere in the Hotel) for 2 minutes without getting asked if they can help you. Evertone from the managers, bellhops, cleaning staff and cab-callers will engage you in conversation in a warm Southern way. I have seen this before in 5 star expensive hotels, but you can tell that the staff there are extensively trained in it. Here it is (or appears to be) genuine.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher up is better for more buffer from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 892 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing