We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Michelle, the concierge, was the BEST!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Deming, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Michelle, the concierge, was the BEST!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Astor C.P. selected as location for a conference I attended last weekend. Hotel staff very helpful and room quite comfortable. But the absolute best part of my time there was all the "over the top" friendly, helpful advice received from concierge Michelle. Even with hordes of extremely noisy/rude Saints fans streaming in for Sunday's football game, Michelle kept her focus and her cool offering helpful tips on restaurants and places to visit. I sincerely hope that Management gives her the credit (and a RAISE) that she deserves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for you nice review. We agree Michelle is truly one of our finest assets! She is a wonderful ambassdor of our city and we thank you for acknowledging Michelle in your review. We hope to see you back at the Astor real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,115
    715
    339
    256
See reviews for
519
1,014
103
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice, old hotel in great location but if they try to put you on the 3rd floor by the pool, please run! We had an ant swarm in our room and in suit case (and other bugs during the night). Hotel staff claimed it was because of candy wrappers in our suitcase. We had no candy but they would accept no blame. This room was shabby compared to my friend's room which was identical except for the holes in wall near bed and of course the bugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are truly sorry about the ant issue. We have never denied the ants. What your review does not note is that we moved you to another room, offered to have your clothing cleaned, which you denied and complimentary breakfast was extended as well. After your departure, we recieved a call in reference to the incident and we responded to the voice mail but have had no return call. Again, we wish to apologize for this unfortunate incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here around Labor Day weekend and it was nice. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. While it is a little older, it has been maintained well. I did not eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. The location is really good and close to Bourbon street and the French Quarters. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avg_traveler_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our superb location. Thank you for your review and your patronage and we look forward to a return visit real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in New Orleans prior to a cruise. We picked this hotel because of its location, just on the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets. I understood the purpose of the earplugs that were on our beds when a small parade went down Canal Street in front of the hotel at 11:30 p.m. A lovely new experience for us.

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The lobby was quite crowded most of the time, which matched the rest of that area of the city at the time.
The front desk staff was particularly helpful to us by offering to call the cab company to locate an item we had left. We also asked for information, recommendations and directions a few times and were always met with a smile and a helpful response.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckndrfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
How kind of you to take the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and we were pleased to read that you found our front desk helpful and available for your request. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and we look forward to having you back as our guest at the Astor the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

hotel was good, but the service was very bad. we never got what we asked for. the food was even bad all frozen food. even the sea food was not fresh. Assuming new orleans is a seafood mecca the food was not good at all.

Room Tip: just that the hotel is on the main st so everything is walkable distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALok307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Ouch, not sure from your review where we failed with the exception of the food service. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations. It is always our goal to provide outstanding guest accommodations and superb service. I will share your comments with our restaurant. While the Bourbon House is a leased operation, never the less their culinary offerings are a reflection on the Astor. We hope you will give us another opportunity the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans. I am confident that your next visit will be quite different. Thank you for your review and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for Labor Day weekend. This hotel has seen a LOT of traffic, and it shows. It's within a few minutes walk of Bourbon street. THAT was very convenient. The valet and other staff were very nice and helpful with info, etc. It had a funky, old, dirty smell to it, mostly noticeable in our room. Originally, when we spoke to Reservations we requested a king room on a higher floor (8), with a view. But upon arrival, there was no record of it and we ended up with a room on the 3rd floor, double beds (ugh), and a view of an alley. We heard doors slam and people talking throughout the night. But it wasn't continuous or bothersome. I think the Mezzanine rooms are the ones to shoot for. We are IPG members, but had not accumulated many points. So I guess they weren't motivated to meet or even keep track of our requests... The room itself had two cinder block walls painted white, high ceilings, which give the illusion of a larger space, I kinda liked that. It helped with the small space. The room was stinky, probably the carpet. Bed linens were clean and fresh, beds were comfortable, Bathroom was dingy, old grout, BUT clean, plenty of towels, coffee pot (YAY! Didn't work. BOO!). Because it was Labor Day, there was no food service Monday morning(???). But, they set up a few tables in the Ballroom/Conference room next to the lobby. There was a guy with a cash box taking $2.00 for coffee or $15 for a continental breakfast. After $169 + tax for two nights, we were nearly up to $400. I think a free cup of coffee would've been nice!

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask for a mezzanine room on a high floor with a view. But, my request was lost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaInTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay here at the Astor. Please know we value all of our IHG Rewards members and we are truly sorry your requests were not followed through on. I will be sharing your comments with our general manger. It sounds like your rooms was located in the historic section of the hotel, our Alexa Wing. It does offer wonderful old world charm with high ceilings and some of the rooms are smaller in this wing. Truly sorry about the aroma not an issue we hear often, but we wish to apologize for this. We hope you will give us another opportunity the next time you are back in New Orleans. Again, thank you for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the french quarter as it is on the corner of burbon and canal. There is a side entrance of of burbon that you can use - however it is only unlocked until 11pm. The hotel has a pool and gym. The pool and seating area is limited. But it is neat because it over looks burbon. However i doubt the pool and the patio could hold more than 30 people. The staff were friendly and our stay was nice. They let us have an early check in (11am instead of 4pm), and provided us with a spare blowdryer since the one in our room did not work. My only complaints are that our room was not very clean and sometimes the smell from the streets outside could be smelled throughout the hotel (- which is very unpleasant since it smells like garbage and pee). Also the room next to us when we arrived which was a thursday had ordered room service and their plates had sat outside their room until saturday on the ground. On the saturday they were moved to the elevators and it was not until sunday that someone had come and got them finally.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra03M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your detailed review. I was apalled to hear about the room service tray. We have procedures in place to ensure this does not occur. Rest assured, I will be sharing this with our Room Service Manager....thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope this incident will not deter you from a return visit. We thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing