We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully convenient location to the French Quarter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderfully convenient location to the French Quarter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Astor Crowne Plaza on New Orlean's Canal Street is certainly a hotel convenient to the storied French Quarter. The hotel is in easy walking distance of fine restaurants, bars, music venues, and the Mississippi River wharf. The New Orleans casino is only a few blocks from the hotel, and the city's trolly line runs right by the front door.

The Crowne Plaza is an older facility. It's beginning to look and feel a tiny bit worn and frayed. But, for a hotel of its age and one-time grandeur, the aging is occurring with grace and gentleness--at least that is the experience to this guest. We visited New Orleans to attend a national convention, and the hotel easily and well supported the needs of convention goers. The rooms were clean, and the staff was courteous and efficient. The meeting rooms were well maintained and supported. The hotel provided luncheon was a hotel provided luncheon. Our menu was not particularly a New Orleans culinary experience.

My "average" rating for the Astor Crowne Plaza is not because of any negative issue or problem. The rating is based on a comparison with other convention hotels in other cities as well as my previous experience in New Orleans. The Crowne Plaza, in my opinion, is certainly adequate, but it does not rise to a more exalted level—it's an old facility, with the air of an old but still lively dowager.

We enjoyed greatly the location of the Crowne Plaza. Its proximity to the Red Fish Grill, ACME Oyster Bar, Felix's Oyster Bar, Jimmy J's, The Court of the Two Sisters, and other notable dining establishments, plus being bordered on either side by Bourbon and Royal Streets, is truly a positive. The convenience of the New Orleans trolly is also a plus. The location of the hotel makes unnecessary an automobile.

Room Tip: Noise from Canal and Bourbon Streets can be an issue on the lower floors. I suppose that's the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElzeyHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your review is quite unique and reads as though it was written by a professional travel writer. I truly enjoyed the review. Thank you for your wonderful comments. I love the phrase "the aging is occurring with grace and gentleness". I wish to thank you for the elegant review....it is one I will remember for quite some time. Rest assured it will be shared with our entire team. We hope to see you back at the Astor because I can't wait to read your next review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    1,053
    685
    331
    247
See reviews for
485
961
100
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel in conveniently located on Canal at the corner of Bourbon. Upon arrival, the bell team arranged for our luggage to be brought to our room and delivered a second luggage rack and small fridge almost immediately after that. All the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieCH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the "Great Hotel" review. We think you are great and appreciate your time regarding this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to Bourbon St., central to the French Quarter the Hotel Astor is a first class place. Staff were accommodating and pleasant. Rooms were spacious and well done. Lobby area is gorgeous. Location close to lots of places to eat, drug stores and other shopping. Also only a few blocks from the casino. I'd stay here again. The hotel provides ear plugs--this is a good thing since the music from Bourbon St. could be heard in our room on the 12th floor--it wasn't too loud, but it could distract from a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Away from Bourbon St. side and up as high as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cogman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Can't ask for more in a review...THANK YOU! I couldn't have put it better myself and I am a little bais regarding the Astor. We hope to see you back in New Orleans and at the Astor Crowne Plaza real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

From my first call to the hotel, to the last day of our stay, we have only good things to say about the Astor Crowne Plaza. When we first pulled up, the valet team were friendly and helpful, the bell team was on the spot with our luggage, the front desk answered all our questions and our room was beautiful, thanks to the great housekeeping team. This was our first trip to NOLA and this location was perfect. We only planned to stay 3 days, but were having so much fun and enjoying the Crowne Plaza that we decided to stay another day. Again the front desk was helpful and more than willing to accomodate us. The location is great for walking around the French Quarter. We will stay with them again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor on the Bourbon Street side, but we did not hear any noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wow, you gave me goose bumps! Your experience is our goal for all of our guests. Please know that wonderful reviews such as yours is a huge boost to our team's moral in our continual strive for service excellence. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Crowne Plaza has been the best hotel I've stayed at in a long time! The location is one of the best parts! We are right next to Bourbon street which is amazing.! This being my first time, I can't ask for anything more.!
The service is also great! We had some mix ups with the reservations but the manager on duty was very helpful and understanding.!!
Overall this has been my top hotel experience.!! Highly recommended.!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
You should see the smile on my face after reading your great review...Thank you! We are honored in your selection of the Astor on your maiden voyage to New Orleans and delighted to read that you had an amazing time here in the Big Easy. Thank you for the wonderful compliment regarding the Astor being your top hotel experience. So when will we see you back in New Orleans and at your new home away from home, the Astor?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Corner of Bourbon and Canal. Just close enough to be east walk into french qtr, just far enough to be removed from the madness and get a good nights sleep. Very nice decor. Rooms are adequate. Acme Oyster bar is in the same building around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visit New Orleans around 6 to 8 times a year and we have stayed at alot of hotels there...Our first call is always to the Astor hoping we can get a room...I love the guys out front that park your vehicles..very friendly..Then you walk in to a Historic Lobby absolutly beautiful..My experience with the front desk has differed from trip to trip.Some girls are friendlier than others.The rooms are very clean and the bed is super comfortable...It is the best located hotel there.If I ever need extra assistance with reservations I have an awesome lady who works at the hotel that makes sure I get what I need.Also the Bourboin House restraunt that is located inside the hotel has the best food in New Orleans hands down..The managment and staff at the Bourboin House make your dining experience awesome..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the "Awesome" review. We love our loyal guests and there is no higher compliment a guest can give to the hotel but their repeat patronage. We thank you for your business and for your time regarding this great review. I will be sharing your comments with our entire team and we thank you for the boost in our strive for service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,639 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#23 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing