We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location in the French Quater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Madera
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location in the French Quater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our stay was fabulous from Check in to check out! Friendly staff, clean room and great location. Its right on the corner of Bourbon st and Canal and has a balcony you can enjoy the view of Bourbon street on the 2nd floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefunredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Ok, now your review is what we like to hear...a perfect stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our team. Now I am a little biased...but we agree with your review. The Astor is the best hotel in town with a location that is unsurpassed. THANK YOU again for the wonderful acoulades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    1,045
    680
    329
    247
See reviews for
478
955
100
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

First off, the staff was just fine. However, the rooms were tired and dirty. There was/is a thick layer of dust on the carpet at the edges and corners. Obviously the vacuum won't get close enough to the wall. The floor in the bathroom had long dark hair on it upon check in. The shower rod was falling apart. The sealant in the shower had voids in it, allowing bacteria a place to hide. The lack of cleanliness in the room made the stay feel dirty.

The beds were most likely the hardest we have ever attempted to sleep on. They were simply too hard and did not provide a single night of restful sleep.

This property is obviously a cash cow for the company, with it's proximity to Bourbon St and its conference abilities. It is tired and needs a re-do. Your challenge is huge though. Traffic and volume vs room quality = continued investment, diligence of housekeeping and maintenance and high standards, while keeping the property affordable. Good luck.

Room Tip: For a late night snack, try the Crystal Burgers just outside the hotel on Bourbon St. And, Daisy Du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I was disappointed to read your review however please know your comments are valued. I am truly sorry we dropped the ball regarding your visit. We receive very few reviews regarding cleanliess issues and our Director of Houskeeping and Engineering will be informed of your comments to ensure that any future guests will not have to face these same issues. Thank you for your patronage and for your valued review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here for a few days over Southern Decadence and like the other party goers I was lucky to get here at all with the airport only opening on the Friday morning after the hurricane, just a couple of hours before my flight landed.

As for the htoel it is in central New Orleans by Bourbon Street, party central, so I was pleantly surpirsed that my 6th floor room at the back of the hotel had no street noise at all. However I had a room 6615 that had a connecting door to the next room. I could hear the occupants whole conversations as if they were in the same room there was so little sound proofing, This proved especially annoying when the young lads were having parties between 3am and and 5am each night. I don't blame them, this is New Orleans, but I do think the hotel should do something to decrease sound leakage, this started to ruin my stay knowing I would be awake a good portion of the night.

I thought it was a nice hotel overall, the rooms are very large and despite showing some wear in the carpets it is very comfortable. I saw the rooms at the Marriott next door and they were surpisingly so much smaller and less confortable. I did see a large cockroach on the wall by the front desk as I checked out but I didn't see any inside the rooms, the lady on reception jumped a mile when I pointed it out so its obviously not a regular problem, I guess in this hot and steamy climate it is hard to keep the occasional roach out. It was only the sound problem that meant that for me this wasn't a 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that are connecting, if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Great comments...thank you for your valued comments. Please accept our apologies regarding the noise disturbance. A quick call to our front desk may have resolved the partying room next store. Sleep is the most important service that a hotel must offer and I regret that yours was not restful. On another note....thank you for coming to Decadence, we had a lot of cancellations due to the Hurricane and we appreciate your persistence to come enjoy the festivities. Please give us another opportunity on your next visit to New Orleans. I am confident that we will not just meet your expectations, but exceed them. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to see you back for Decadence next year, but hopefully sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very nice! Comfortable and clean! Lots of pillows! Everything you'd want in a hotel. All the staff were VERY friendly ... not one exception. We used the valet and their parking ($32), again, super friendly and big truck was returned perfectly! They were all VERY busy and all of them had a smile and a "Go Saints" when they saw our shirts as we headed out for the game. The location is perfect is you are going to be walking to the SuperDome and the French Quarter ... its about half way between both on Bourbon and Canal St. If you eat at McDonald's staying there you ought to be smacked. There are so many WONDERFUL restaurants just within a couple of blocks. You can even catch a trolley car that will take you to the Aquarium of the Americas and/or the Quarter right across the street. There's no other city like this and this hotel is the perfect place after a long day!! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveheelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
What an awesome review!! THANK YOU!!! Reviews just don't get much better than yours. Thank you for the comments and the wonderful acoulades. I am especially pleased to hear your comments regarding our team. We truly believe it is our team that separates us from our competitors and your review offers great support on our journey for service excellence. Thank you for making my day so....when are you coming back to your home away from home here in the Big Easy?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans is a very nice hotel with a great location. The location of this hotel made sightseeing around the Big Easy, exactly that...Easy! Its central location at Canal and Bourbon also made late night ventures quite simple. The only drawbacks were the lack of free WiFi and the very limited channel selections on the TV (plus no HD). The beds were comfortable and the housekeeping did their job quite well. Would definitly stay there again when I make my way back to the Bayou.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We think you are awesome and yes we agree the location is one of the best the city has to offer. I was delighted to read that we met your expectations and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our team and the hotel. Next time you come back, please know the hotel does offer free wifi in the lobby as well as the business center. Thanks again for the nice review and we look forward to your next visit with much anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The convention I was attending picked this hotel as our main stay. Since this was my first time here, I just stayed where they recommended, since it was easy.
Very nice hotel, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The location is in walking distance to just about everything. Bourbon street is block over, and the streetcars are just in front of the hotel. There are lots of restaurants within a 5-10 min walk (some of the best in New Orleans).
I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice easy trip to New Orleans.
Just a note... on check-out day, there were a lot of people outside the hotel. We thought everyone was waiting for a cab, but it turned out, everyone was waiting for their vehicles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trock24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I was delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. That is the way it is suppose to be. Thank you for taking the time to review the Astor. We hope you will continue to return to New Orleans and make the Astor your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for labor day weekend and had a fantastic time. The location is unbeatable, right by the French quarter, loads of restaurants, bars, movie theater and the water in walking distance.
Rooms are alright, and access to wifi convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astordz, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Delighted that you had a fantastic time and that you enjoyed our superb location. A special thanks for not letting Hurricane Isaac deter you from the Labor Day weekend. The weather was great and so were the crowds. Hope to see you back at the Astor real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! Select from the renovated Astor Tower or historic Alexa Tower. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. Valet parking is available at $42 per day and oversized vehicles at $52 per day. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing