We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Richelieu is the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Le Richelieu is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have stayed elsewhere in the Vieux Carre before, but none are equal to the experience at Le Richelieu. Salt water pool, excellent staff and the charm of a small independently owned hotel. We used to come to the bar just to see Herman and after visiting him we decided, on our last trip, to stay at the hotel. WHAT A TREAT! Going back next weekend and CANNOT WAIT!!! Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC0rum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    445
    126
    41
    15
See reviews for
174
548
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Found this hotel looking for a spot in the French quarter farther away from Canal Street, where I'd stayed before. This spot was perfect as it is close to the other end of Decatur St. by Frenchman St. where the crowds are a bit thinner, but eateries and drinkeries still abound. Older building, but very well maintained, which is a plus to me. You get a key for your room, that you return to the front desk each time you exit the hotel. AC in public areas and my room were great. This hotel seemed to have AC back when it was still a novelty, but it's still going strong and that's important to me. Small, plush bar stays open till midnight and small breakfast cafe stays open till 2 in the afternoon. Several locals seem to use it regularly for breakfast/brunch. My king bed room was huge with french windows that opened up to the pool. Pool was also old school. Solid construction and nine feet deep at one end. You can have meals served at poolside tables.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is adorable both inside AND outside - the decorations, the furniture, the building, everything! You can stay in a quiet area of NO, while at the same time, have easy access to all the big stuff at an affordable rate! This is a MUST! We will stay here again next time we visit! Oh, and did I mention there is FREE parking?! This is HUGE in NO!

My only complaint is a small one, and a common one with hotels, but the towels were too scratchy. Honestly, that is all I would complain about! We loved everything else!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at Le Richelieu from July 8/10-11/10. There were three couples looking for a break from the everyday grind...we got that and more. All three rooms were great and clean. The staff members were fabulous....Miss Mary who has been working as the hotel cook for 42 years!! Our pool side waiter, Don, who wanted us to email him when we arrived back to assure that we arrived home safely. To Stan our evening security guard who took the time to chat to Frank the owner, who gave us great history story about the hotel and a private tour of his office with many "Stars" pictures. They all made us feel special and like family. Thank You, The crew from Toronto

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torontocrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Point, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The location is great! The pool and courtyard is wonderful and private...it's like being in your own little world. We enjoyed breakfast each day. The staff is most helpful. We met a lot of interesting people staying there. We loved having our vehicle in the hotel parking lot with a guard. We were happy to have a refrigerator in our room. The rooms were clean. The bed was not comfortable and I will bring my egg carton mattress top when I return. We are coming back next week with our daughter and grandchildren. I had stayed here 26 years ago when my daughter was 10. We stayed a few days before Christmas. It was the first time it had snowed in New Orleans in 100 years!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Podsrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Some badly needed sprucing up could make Le Richelieu a pleasant hotel: it is on a human scale, the reception staff is very helpful, the bedding is comfortable, but the carpets are worn, the bedspeads dark and dull, the general decor gloomy with plastic flowers everywhere, the lights in the bathrooms depressing and amenities are limited to a bare minimum. There is a swimming pool but no bathrobes available nor pool towels. "Continental" Breakfast is not included in the price of the room and it is probably the worst we have ever had: tea or coffee, a glass of juice, the first day one had to choose between a croissant or toast; the second day, for some unknown reason, one could have both for the same charge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

There are so many great things about Le Richelieu, it's hard to decide where to begin. On the residential side of the Quarter, this hotel has everything a traveler could want: super reasonable rates that include parking, friendly staff, a pool in a charming courtyard, great location and clean rooms. For travelers who like to immerse themselves in a city/culture, this is one great place to lay your head or cool off mid-afternoon. The only thing I considered out of line was the price of breakfast (continental $11.50). But there are so many coffee houses and bakeries within a block or two, it was no big deal. I booked through Expedia and at check-in, saw that fact highlighted several times on my reservation form and they did give us the room right next to the kitchen, but if they meant to punish us, it didn't work. We're all ear-plug wearers! It certainly could have been a coincidence, but I did wonder. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livingcolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing