We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I and our in-laws stayed here at the end of May. We booked a King Suite with an attached King room. We opened the doors and had a nice big space to share. Living room with couch and TV, a small dining room area with a dining table that we used for playing cards and dice during the rainy times, and a kitchen with a full sized fridge and a non working oven. We requested a coffee maker which was brought immediatley. A microwave would be a very nice addition. The rooms were fine; definitely could use a really good cleaning. Housekeeping was very accommodating, as we stayed in a couple rainy days and played cards. We had poboys delivered to the room! Staff was fine, except for the cranky waiter in the restaurant. Restaurant was convenient, but food was just okay. Location was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    446
    126
    41
    15
See reviews for
174
549
42
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Great location in the french quarter (where you want to stay if you're going to New Orleans) and reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful staff.

The breakfast is great and also the service that comes with.

The rooms need a little upgrade, they've seen better days. The wifi also comes up short. For us it only worked in the room's hallway.

Would recommend it for anyone visiting New Orleans despite a few minor shortcomings.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

It gives you the feel of New Orleans without the noise of Bourbon St. Its in a great spot for driving/parking which allows you to walk though out the quarters. (Parking at the hotel is $20/night) The staff was friendly and the rooms can get very cold which feels great after walking. Its an older hotel but has lots of character. Its located on the street that all of the ghost tours bring their tours. There are several "haunted" places nearby and you can listen for free as you slowly walk back to your hotel room. They have room service and a café at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowley848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is a renovated condo building, which explains why there is a medium-sized working refrigerator and stove (not connected) behind a sliding door.
King-sized bed was ample and firm yet comfortable. Small TV but clear picture. Room was cleaned very well daily. There is small pool with chairs and towels available. Owner of hotel was laying out by the pool one afternoon. Restaurant serves breakfast from 7 am to 2 pm. No dinner. Reception was a bit sketchy at check in but I think the personnel were new hires. Very friendly people are around - security, housemaids, maintenance, etc. Halls of hotel are filled with tasteful art.
Reception got us a taxi at 4 am to airport without delay. Hotel does have a parking lot for those that come by automobile. It is located about 5 blocks from Jackson Square and one block away from Decatur. You can easily walk to Frenchmen Street as well as to Bourbon St.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 116. Right outside the door of this unit is a doorway out to the pool and parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvingPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff are great, nothing was a problem. Location is excellent, in the French Quarter nice walk to Bouborn Street and just around the corner from Frenchmans road. Great to have a swim after a long hot day. Must go to the French Markets (if you love oysters) and visit "J's Seafood Dock" most amazing oysters, my favourite were the Char Grilled, around $20 a dozen. Right next door is the "Organic Banana" best Mango Daquaries for $7. We went everyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was such a great find they have my NOLA business forever. Every single staff person was super helpful and efficient, the price was terrific, the room was HUGE, the food was cheap and delicious, the bar was quaint and the pool was perfect. Private, gated, affordable parking was a plus. The hotel is in the French Quarter but not in a loud, bustling area. All that is only a 2-block walk though, without keeping you up all night. Even the nice security guard proved to be a dead-on restaurant finder. He was 2 for 2 with us. If you want a sleek chain, you might not love this hotel. If you want a big, comfy room at a fair price with excellent service, this is your place.

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite, it's well worth the extra price for the room and the fridge for all the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JFP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were very satisfied with this hotel. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful throughout our visit. We researched the hotel prior to staying so we knew it was going to be small and somewhat "dated" in certain areas, but that it really part of its charm. In talking with some of the wait staff and bartenders, we learned that many of the employees had been there 20+ years. Being small business owners ourselves, we found this to be a sign of a great owner who understood how to take care of good employees. We will most certainly stay here again...we felt safe and it was the perfect walking distance to many other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing