We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Best of Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #31 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For the Best of Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Because some of the best music in NOLA happens on Frenchmen Street in the Faubourg Marigny, Le Richelieu is the perfect place to stay. Just one block from Esplanade Avenue, which separates the Faubourg Marginy from the French Quarter, this hotel is also in a quieter area yet still in the middle of it all. A lovely pool makes it ideal for families with children (go see the sights in the morning; hang out poolside in the sweltering hot afternoons). An on-premise restaurant and bar has a wide screen tv, which allowed our group to watch the World Cup without squeezing into one room. (All bars in New Orleans prohibit anyone under 21, and few restaurants could be found with tv's that would allow us to watch the games with our children in tow.) All rooms have refrigerators, which allows the budget-conscious to shave some dining costs by eating the other half of that muffaletta sandwich you ordered from Central Grocery or breakfast in your room (get your food supplies at the Verti Marte on Royal). And, speaking of breakfast, whatever you do, skip the option offered by the hotel and head to Cafe Envie instead (one block away). We will definitely stay again at Le Richelieu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClanIveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    452
    131
    43
    15
See reviews for
186
568
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for five days. Walking distance to the French Quarter. We could go have a nice dinner. Walk a little further and listen to grow alive music, have a drink and walk back. Awesome way to experience NOLA.

It was great to have parking on site although we rarely used our rental car. One evening we had the pleasure of meeting the owner.

Place is very old and quirky in a good way. A bit of a pain to alway's have to leave our room key at the old fashioned front desk. But we'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliAngel619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Such a cute little hotel! My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was wonderful & very helpful. The bed was comfy & the room was clean! The location was great, it's on the quieter end of the Quarter yet close enough to walk to all of our favorite places such as, Bourbon St, The French Market, Jackson Square & Cafe du Monde. I would definitely stay at Le Richelieu my next visit to New Orleans!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great stay at Le Richelieu. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the edge of the French quarter only a few blocks from Jackson Square. The hotel is older, but has a lot of charm. We had the king suite which is essentially a one-bedroom apartment. It was very spacious and comfortable. Self-parking is on-site and is only $20/day. You can come and go as much as you want, although a car is not needed if staying in French Quarter.
A minor complaint for no coffee in the room, but there is a great coffee shop 100 feet from the hotel. Wi-Fi was poor in our room, but we had good 4G cell phone coverage, so not a big deal. Since it an older buidling, it doesn't have enough outlets for all the tech goodies, recommend bringing a power strip.
Overall, we had a great stay and would choose this hotel again. Great value for a hotel in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Get a suite if available. Rooms in the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati - USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a great weekend in New Orleans. Hotel at edge of French Quarter several blocks from Bourbon Street which was a good thing. Away from all the noise and late night partying. Walkable to all sites in quarter and to tram. Room was decent size but needed bathroom updates. Very clean and comfortable. Very well priced for French Qtr.

Room Tip: Our room was on street side which was quiet. Our friends were on pool side and heard people partying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickOhio_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Le Richelieu is a great place to stay in New Orleans. Right next to the French Quarter, it's very quiet but has all the hot spots in walking distance.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and all the staff was very friendly. The pool area is small but lay out nicely.

Breakfast is not included, and I'm sure you'll find better places but the hotel restaurant.

Café Amelie is a beautiful place for dinner and just a couple minutes away. Be there early, because after 7pm you might have to wait more than an hour to get a table.

Parking at the hotel costs extra, but in return the parking space is locked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here in June with my husband. We booked a king room. We arrived early for check in and I told the front desk agent that I understood if our room wasn't ready yet. She was not at all friendly and then on checking us in, did NOT ask for ID which she should have, and then said she would give us an 'upgrade to a suite' as she did't have a king room ready. I was so grateful and my husband and I went to the room. What a great disappointment! The building was once an apartment building and they haven't quiet made the transformation over to a hotel. Our 'suite' was awful. It was very dull and dreary. It hasn't come out of the '90's. There were water marks and repaired marks on the wall with paint cracking. It looks like years since the rooms have had a paint job. Flowery bed spreads really added to the outdated look. Difficult to find an electric outlet in which to plug a phone charger or hair drier. We chose this hotel because it was historic, but historic does not equate to old, dull, outdated. Although the tv's are flat screens, they are sitting in big old armoires which also adds to the 90's look. We did ask to be moved to another room and another front desks gent was very nice and moved us. This was a king room and although it didn't have the cracked paint, it wasn't a very attractive, welcoming room. The AC unit was very noisy and I found it difficult to sleep. Our restaurant servers on the other hand (breakfast) were wonderful, warm and friendly. They were extremely accommodating and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before they check you in. Ask for a street or swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,588 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,306 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#50 of 164 in New Orleans
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 164 in New Orleans
2,275 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#110 of 164 in New Orleans
843 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing