We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with three other couples from Sheffield. The location is perfect. It's towards the end of Chartres Street in the French Quarter - so quiet, with plenty of original character and very central. The hotel is very attractive with a pretty courtyard and small swimming pool. Our room was very large, beautifully furnished with period pieces, with a small kitchenette area and a nice large bathroom. The superking bed in our room was very comfortable but one of our party had a mattress that was shot.
The front of desk staff were very helpful and spent a long time finding a reservation for the eight of us on the Saturday of Easter weekend - a weekend that also saw thousands of visiting runners in town for the Crescent City Classic 10k.
My main criticism is the one I apply to all hotels: no spray for hair-washing - only a fixed overhead shower - and no small individual reading light.
Complimentary coffee was available from 7.00am in the small bar/dining area and, upon request, you can have a good coffee-maker in your room.
No breakfast is included but a cooked breakfast can be ordered and the pancakes, in particular, are very good.
New Orleans is a fantastic location for a holiday weekend and this hotel provided a great base.

Room Tip: Our king room overlooking the courtyard was bigger and more comfortable than the some other rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 578ElizabethP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a suite on the 4th floor. Room is dated but roomy and nice. Would have no complaints except that the temperature in the room was 86 upon arrival and through the night. The next morning I went to the front desk to report the heat. They said they would look at it. I reminded them at noon as no one had done anything about the heat. At 7:00 pm I went to the front desk again and asked if my heat could be turned down. It was still 84 in the room. Front desk said someone had been up to our room but sent the security guard up with us to check it out. The system being an old cold water chill unit does not allow for individual room settings but each room was to receive the cold AC air and ours was not because it had been cut off or unplugged. It took the gentleman 2 minutes to get it working correctly. The next 2 nights were nice to sleep in as the temp was 68.
This area is nice and quiet. I will return BUT will check out my heat/cooling first thing upon arrival. I give it average service because of the lack of response from the front desk. Everyone, especially the security guard, we're very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a very comfortable and pleasant week's stay at le Richelieu at the end of March. We booked direct with the hotel a few months ago, and took a gamble on the run of the house rate. This paid off, as we were allocated a suite on the fourth floor, with a separate large living room and bedroom, a kitchen with a huge fridge but no cooking facilities, a big walk in closet, a perfectly adequate bathroom, and air conditioning.

We didn't have access to a balcony on our floor, but this wasn't a problem as we could easliy use the courtyard or sit on a bench at the front if we wanted to relax outside. The location of the Richelieu is very good, as it's in a quiet residential area in easy walking distance to all French Quarter attractions and to nearby Frenchman's Street in the Marigny. Our favourite restaurant, Melange, is literally two minutes away and Irenes is just a block away.

We found the beds comfortable, the towels good and plentiful, housekeeping efficient and the front desk helpful. We had no problem leaving our key at the desk, but being older and from Europe we are used to this system. We were always asked our name if staff didn't recognise us when we picked up our key. We appreciated the free wifi which was strong in our room.

The bar and breakfast/lunch restaurant we felt were expensive and not good value, but there are good breakfast places very nearby so it wasn't a problem. Housekeeping arrived promptly each morning before 9.00a.m. - you do need to put out the "do not disturb" sign the night before to avoid them knocking at your door.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the rate we paid, and would return. It's a matter of luck what kind of room you get on the "run of the house" rate - we were prepared for the worst, but got much better than we had expected!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in November with a friends for a girls weekend. Overall this is a comfortable place to stay in a good location. The staff are great and are knowledgable and friendly. The signing in & out was new to me but it was not inconvenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany7774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here on a family recommendation. Not a fancy place but really clean. We live in the South so I can honestly say don't think I could stay here in the summer. Just ceiling fan which was fine for this time of year.Great location to get to Bourbon and Frenchmen. Staff was very helpful. If you are looking for fancy this is not for you. But if you want local charm give it a try.

Room Tip: Rm 200 had balcony overlooking Chartres Street. A little noisy with french doors open but fun to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tucked away in the North West corner of New Orlean's French Quarter, Le Richelieu provides a peaceful retreat from the crowds and noise of the Vieux Carre. You're still an easy walk to the attractions in the French Market and Bourbon Street. The location also puts you close to the Frenchman Street restaurants and clubs, an up and coming area.

Yes, the furnishings are a little worn and the bathrooms "dated" but the place is decidedly not rundown or unattractive. Like staying at the home of a dear, aging aunt.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. It says something when a number of the staff have over 25 years service to the property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCTrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I am giving the hotel a 3 star for the location and the ambience. Other than the locale the beds need to be replaced as they were very hard and creaky. Lack of air conditioning made the rooms very warm even at the time when we were there the city was in the midst of a cold snap. The rooms have a ceiling fan which did make it somewhat tolerable but did hear other guests complaining about it. The girls at the front desk were very helpful in arranging tours or any questions we might have had. One other important thing to note the walls in the rooms are very thin!! We heard people clearly talking in the other room as well as kids carrying on. All in all hotel very convenient to everything and restaurant at the hotel is quite expensive for what you get. There is a coffee shop around the corner which serves a better breakfast at a fraction of what the hotel charges.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,365 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#25 of 167 in New Orleans
2,423 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#12 of 167 in New Orleans
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 167 in New Orleans
1,805 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#114 of 167 in New Orleans
986 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $129 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing