We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minutes From Frenchmen Street - Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Minutes From Frenchmen Street - Great Location!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Echoing the sentiments of other reviewers, don't come to the Le Richelieu expecting goldplated fixtures, chandeliers, and plush new carpeting. But...if you want a place to stay that oozes funkiness with a 60's era vibe, this may be the place for you. Staff members are outstanding as mentioned in other reviews. They will gladly call for cabs, offer advice relative to streetcars, activities, food, and music. But honestly, it may be the location of Le Richelieu that is the real star here...the hotel is in a quiet section of the Quarter so you can leave the sights and sounds of the first five blocks of Bourbon Street to the fratboys and cover bands. Just six blocks from Jackson Square in one direction, Le Richelieu is just steps away from Frenchmen Street in the other direction - where you can hear real musicians play all sorts of outstanding original and old-school music at Three Muses, dba, The Spotted Cat, and Blue Nile. At this price and in this location, we can do without digitally-controlled thermostats, lightning-fast wifi, and cookie-cutter concierges who don't know Bloomingdales from Boudin Balls. We love Le Richelieu!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLJCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    450
    128
    42
    15
See reviews for
184
558
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Don't go to Le Richelieu if you like plastic, modern corporate hotel living. If you, like me, love the grand old aunt type of accommodation, you must book in at Le Richelieu.
Fabulous location, minutes walk to great bars, music, restaurants, shops and many of the great attractions of New Orleans.

Hotel is shabby chic. It has all the facilities but has a warm , homely, lived in feel about it. Bedroom was large, with really comfy bed (we had a queen size which was large enough for the two of us to sleep really well in) and a huge bathroom with lots of lovely white towels and plenty of toiletries.

Staff were brilliant. Extremely knowledgeable about almost everything that we asked and, when they didn't know (eg. what was on at the theatre and how to book), they found out and booked everything for us. Great examples of Southern charm at its best.

The pool area is delightful and the bar/breakfast areas full of character -great to chill out in with a cocktail before the tourist attractions of New Orleans take you onto the streets again.

Room Tip: First floor shares balcony. HIgher floor have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScotlandNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had stayed here many years ago and liked it, but I don't think they have redone the rooms in quite some time. The French Quarter is old. It reminds you of some European cities that are old and so the challenge for this and other old hotels like this is to keep it feeling clean and looking nice. New carpet, paint and bed spreads would do alot for the rooms. They weren't bad, just dated. The people are friendly and helpful, the parking is a snap and the location is wonderful. Its easy to walk the whole French quarter, but this hotel is away from the noise and mayhem of Burbon Street. The room was a little stuffy when we arrived, so we just opened the french doors onto the balcony to freshen it up. It was cold at night (for New Orleans), but temperature in the room was not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My adult son and I loved this place. It was recommended by a friend who is a frequent traveler to New Orleans. Great location near everything in the French Quarter but on a quiet and charming street. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool was lovely (good Mimosas!) The staff was very helpful, room had a lovely full length window that opened, and we were even fortunate enough to meet the charming owner. We highly recommend this for old world charm and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here two times in the last 4 years. We love the character of the place, the distance from everything, the wonderful pool, and the friendly staff. We will always try to stay here first!
Balcony rooms are a must for us, and ours was great. If we had any questions, the staff was knowledgeable and fun. The breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although the entire staff is friendly and competent, there is no way to adjust the heat and/or air in individual rooms....only on and off. Therefore, rooms become very stuffy and everything feels damp. The hotel staff was able to run off our boarding passes, but we could not prepay for our luggage online because there is no access to the internet any place in the hotel or any place nearby.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have individual controls other than "off" or "on" for heat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Room very good and clean. Hotel in very good shape and perfect location (5/10 minutes walking from the real life, in a safe and clean area). People kind and willing to share their knowledge of the city.

Breakfast 16$/person, parking 20$/night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuTheDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,252 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,251 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
801 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing