We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel and reasonable rates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and reasonable rates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Where to start? Room was large and laid out nicely. More than adequate space for clothes and any other items you may bring or buy. Problems include an odd smell and the need for updating. Although a lovely old building in the quarter, this property needs a facelift. The paint in the rooms and carpeting looked old and worn. The bath was out of the '60's composed of 1inch sky blue tiles, along with the toilet, tub and sink. The kitchen was the same. There was no coffee maker in our room, which I really like to have.
We really enjoyed the neighborhood this hotel is located in. Just inside the quarter, you have the ability to visit Marigny as well, with some great music clubs and restaurants easily within walking distance.
I would stay here again, although it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: The suites had a lot of room and on our floor (2nd) a nice balcony as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolagirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    417
    119
    38
    14
See reviews for
156
513
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is a good value. Nothing fancy. No luxury. Great location. The rooms are clean; beds comfortable; towels soft and fluffy. There's a bar downstairs. Black and white marble entry room graced by a Southern painting of man in a canoe with a black cat. The front desk helped us arrange walking tours, made restaurant recommendations, and checked dress codes. at places we made dinner reservations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Loved our room! We wanted an older hotel with charm and that's what we got. Location was perfect! Staff was great, as was the food from their in-house kitchen. Cute little bar in hotel as well. They have a swimming pool however it was too cold for swimming this time of year! We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this Hotel as we wanted to stay in the French Quarter and the driving instructions to get there were bang on, which is always a help if you are somewhere new.
After check in we drove around the back and parked the car in their secure car park.( $20 per night ) , We booked in for three nights and had a really nice room with a street view. We had done our homework with the location and because of this we walked everywhere (so the rental car had a rest) . Good Hotel choice for us in a really good location near areas we wanted to see and visit. The hotel staff were great as well.
p.s A bulb blew in the ceiling lights so we reported it to our chambermaid. Within 10 mins the maintenance man was there and the light was replaced. !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevbru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
399 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My first trip to New Orleans, my best friend and I stayed here. It was incredible affordable and nestled right in between the Bourbon St near the French Quarter. Just a few blocks walk and the debauchery and exuberance is in full force. Just a few blocks in the other direction to Frenchman St and you find a rich scene with amazing street and club performers serenading you with jazz and blues. The hotel was very clean, the pool was nice, and it was a peaceful escape to get some rest after all the partying.

I will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone on a budget (or not)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel very close to French Market. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Close walking distance to Bourbon Street most other attractions. Nice front desk staff that had no problem printing out my flight boarding passes before I left. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntawney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When i was unable to secure a reservation at my favorite hotels in the French Quarter we were ready to cancel our trip. Then I found this little boutique hotel and we were so pleased. We found it convenient to a section that we had never explored. It was close to the French Market and Jackson Sq.
We will be staying here on our next visit!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobycosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,410 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing